mobile photography technology, culture and community
www.dpreview.com

Homepage archive for March 2013

Archive for:
Service lets you order prints of any Facebook photo
115

“Photos At My Door “allows anyone to browse their friends’ albums and create photo products.

Friday, March 29, 2013
We put the HTC One's ultrapixels to the test
172
FEATURED

We are having a closer look at the HTC One's ultrapixel claims.

Friday, March 29, 2013
Facebook may launch its own Android OS on HTC
1

Facebook invites press to “Come See Our New Home On Android" on April 4.

Friday, March 29, 2013
10 majorly mini mobile phones
0

These tiny devices buck the 5-inch smartphone trend. 

Friday, March 29, 2013
Exposure: Christian J. Sweet
4
FEATURED

Sweet’s photo illustrations have caught the attention of mobile photographers and celebrities.

Friday, March 29, 2013
iFixit scores HTC One dead last in repairability
5

HTC's latest flagship phone tough to tear apart and hard to fix.

Friday, March 29, 2013
I always feel like somebody's watching me: The effect of wearable cameras
127
FEATURED

How will Google Glass and new 'lifeblogging' cameras change our society?

Thursday, March 28, 2013
Deadline nears for iPhone Photography Awards
1

Think you have what it takes to win the 6th annual contest?

Thursday, March 28, 2013
Picfari wants to help you take the best vacation photos possible
18

The iOS app tells you when and where to take photos of iconic landmarks using detailed EXIF data.

Wednesday, March 27, 2013
App roundup: Capture apps for Android
5
FEATURED

Our five favorite Android apps for taking pictures.

Wednesday, March 27, 2013
Another attempt at mobile 'raw': Digital Negative app is interesting but needs work
24

New app claims it works "like the negatives from a film camera."

Tuesday, March 26, 2013
Sony, HTC and T-Mobile make smartphone announcements
0

Xperia ZL price listed in U.S., T-Mobile gets the iPhone, 'ultrapixels' slow HTC's production.

Tuesday, March 26, 2013
Google+ app integrates Snapseed
12

Updates out for Android and iPhone; iOS version incorporates Snapseed. 

Monday, March 25, 2013
From Russia with #Instalove
0

Instagramer @shams2517 gives an intimate look at the life of a Russian sodier.

Monday, March 25, 2013
Pocket spotlight illuminates your smartphone scene
5

Accessory uses LED lights as an alternative to smartphone's unattractive flash.

Monday, March 25, 2013
BlackBerry Z10 repairable, not droppable
0

iFixit finds flagship phone easily fixable, unless you drop it on its ultra-thin display.

Monday, March 25, 2013
Google to offer all of Nik’s software plugins for $149
218

The Nik Collection by Google includes every single one of Nik’s desktop plugins in a single bundle.

Monday, March 25, 2013
Samsung Galaxy Note II camera review
82
FEATURED

Bigger than a phone, smaller than a tablet, the Note II fills a specialized gap, but does it work for mobile photographers?

Friday, March 22, 2013
Exposure: Luis Rodriguez
35
FEATURED

An architect living in Madrid sees the world through the lens of his iPhone 4S.

Friday, March 22, 2013
BlackBerry 10 reaches 100,000 apps
4

Developers add 30,000 more apps since the launch of the new OS.

Thursday, March 21, 2013
App update roundup: Fhotoroom, Hipstamatic, Perfectly Clear
2

Some of our favorite apps are rolling out major updates.

Thursday, March 21, 2013
Our 5 favorite iPhone apps
10

iPhoneographers have a lot to choose from in the App Store; here's a few of our current favs.

Thursday, March 21, 2013
Camera phones seem to be on a health kick
0

Mobile technology is increasingly focused on health, with unique camera phone applications.

Thursday, March 21, 2013
Samsung shows off Galaxy S4 camera features with videos
4

Watch the Dual Camera and Sound & Shot features in action.

Wednesday, March 20, 2013
Handy Photo app offers editing 'magic'
12

New app for iOS and Android includes impressive editing features.

Wednesday, March 20, 2013
Accessory review: Hitcase Pro for the iPhone
1

Our reviewer subjects the case to rugged outdoor conditions; learn how his iPhone fared.

Wednesday, March 20, 2013
DxOMark Mobile Report: Blackberry Z10
16
FEATURED

DxOMark tests the Blackberry Z10 camera and ranks it on the lower end of its smartphone scale.

Tuesday, March 19, 2013
KitCam for iOS now has 'Night Snap' and live histogram
3

App update includes features to please manual photographers.

Tuesday, March 19, 2013
Photographer's Instagram images catch Nike's eye
4
FEATURED

Tim Landis is helping brands connect to customers with his trademark landscape photography. 

Tuesday, March 19, 2013
Aviary photo editing tools come to Windows 8
0

Popular iOS and Android editing software comes to Windows 8 platform.

Monday, March 18, 2013
5 pre-digital photo tricks and the apps to make them today
9
FEATURED

Photographers have always manipulated photos. Today it’s just a little easier.

 
Monday, March 18, 2013
Sony announces mid-range Xperia L and SP smartphones
0

Both phones stay focused on imaging with 8MP cameras.

 
Monday, March 18, 2013
App promises to change your mobile photography perspective
6

Perspective Correct app offers live perspective correction for iPhone.

Monday, March 18, 2013
Repix app offers filter fun with brushstroke control
1

New iOS app lets you selectively apply artistic effects. 

Friday, March 15, 2013
Hands-on with the Samsung Galaxy S4
135
FEATURED

We've had a closer look at Samsung's new superphone and its camera features at the launch event in New York.

 

Friday, March 15, 2013
Movie montage gives new perspective to your still images
11

Photographer Star Rush finds sequencing images into movie format useful for thinking through photo essays or exhibitions.

Friday, March 15, 2013
Samsung launches Galaxy S4 superphone
108
FEATURED

Samsung's latest flagship phone offers photographers a 13MP camera.

Friday, March 15, 2013
iPhone camera helps scientists detect infections in rural Tanzania
4

Scientists use iPhone camera to diagnose intestinal worm infections in children.

Thursday, March 14, 2013
Confessions of a camera snob
90
FEATURED

Longtime camera users often scoff at the many  limitations of smartphones. Staff writer Amadou Diallo finds that approach may be missing the point.

Thursday, March 14, 2013
5 apps for the Windows Phone 8 photographer
7

Check out these apps to get the most out of your Windows Phone 8 camera.

Wednesday, March 13, 2013
Actual Pixels - the pixel peeping app for iOS
33
FEATURED

Actual Pixels is a new free iOS app that allows you to view images at a 100% magnification.

Tuesday, March 12, 2013
Roundup: Tumblr app update, Imgur for iOS and Afterglow name change
0

We give you an overview of today's imaging app updates and news.

Tuesday, March 12, 2013
Seattle dive bar bans Google Glass
9

The 5 Point Cafe in Seattle bans Google Glass before it's even on sale

Monday, March 11, 2013
BlackBerry Z10 to be available in the US on March 22nd from AT&T
0

BlackBerry's latest device will cost $199.99 with a 2-year contract. 

Monday, March 11, 2013
Dblcam app captures both sides of the story
17

The free iOS app takes simultaneous shots from both cameras to create one image.

Monday, March 11, 2013
Optrix iPhone 5 case and wide-angle lens for sale
0

Photojojo is now selling the ruggedized, waterproof case which was first shown at CES.

Monday, March 11, 2013
Five fresh photo app updates this week
6

Fast Camera, Cinemagraph, and more! We round up the top app updates of the week. 

Friday, March 8, 2013
Can you tell the difference between an iPhone and DSLR photo?
54

Camera Showdown compares images from different cameras to see what gear comes out on top.

Friday, March 8, 2013
5 must-have apps for the Android photographer
13

Android photographers should pack their virtual camera bag with these apps.

Friday, March 8, 2013
DxOMark Mobile Report added to our Nokia Lumia 920 review
0
FEATURED

We have added DxOMark's Mobile Report to our review of the Nokia Lumia 920.

Friday, March 8, 2013
Nokia Lumia 920 Camera Review
65
FEATURED

Our review of the Nokia Lumia 920's camera.

Thursday, March 7, 2013
Nokia app seeks momentum for Instagram support
4

After months of flirting, Nokia is formally asking the social networking site to develop an app for Windows Phone 8.

Thursday, March 7, 2013
Picasa web is now redirecting to Google+
42

The future looks bleak for Google’s photo service.

Thursday, March 7, 2013
The three silliest best-selling photo-apps
0

We downloaded and played with the photo apps that serious mobile photographers won’t touch.

Wednesday, March 6, 2013
SmartBot will turn your smartphone into a camera robot
1

An app for SmartBot uses facial recognition to take photos.

Tuesday, March 5, 2013
JackPod will put a tripod mount on any smartphone
9

JackPod fits into the headphone output of any smartphone and attaches to a standard tripod screw.

Tuesday, March 5, 2013
Which mobile platform is best for photographers?
16

We take a look at what the Google Play store, Apple App Store and Windows Store offer photographers.

Tuesday, March 5, 2013
New Galaxy S4 will use front-facing camera for hands-free "eye scroll"
4

New York Times source claims Samsung's latest phone release is more software-focused.

Monday, March 4, 2013
10 fascinating Instagram photos from North Korea
29

Photographers reveal life inside the notoriously secretive country. 

Monday, March 4, 2013
L.A. Times photographer describes his Oscars GoPro "fail"
4

Jay L. Clendenin's attempt to make a red carpet feature turned into a lesson on time-lapse photography. 

Monday, March 4, 2013
5 apps for better baby photos
1

Are you catching the best mobile baby shots you can? 

Monday, March 4, 2013
Hands-on with Photosynth for Windows Phone 8
34
FEATURED

Last week Microsoft released the Windows Phone 8 version of its Photosynth app. We've tried it out for you.

Sunday, March 3, 2013
Polaroid Socialmatic Camera could be reality by next year
16

Instagram concept camera gets closer to materializing in the marketplace.

Friday, March 1, 2013
Muku Labs introduces smartphone lens set
2

Accessory maker showcases its case/lens combo at Mobile World Congress.

Friday, March 1, 2013
Panasonic says 20-inch, 4K tablet is perfect for photographers
19

Video released by the electronics manufacturer shows how high-resolution device might benefit photographers. 

Friday, March 1, 2013
About us
Sitemap
Connect