mobile photography technology, culture and community
www.dpreview.com

Lumia 1020's Pro Camera app coming to other PureView devices

9

One of the most exciting parts about the Lumia 1020 launch last week was the reveal of Nokia's new Pro Camera application. The app, native to the Lumia 1020, offers manual control of zoom, ISO and shutter speed. Once it's officially released, Pro Camera will also be available for the PureView-branded Lumia 920, Lumia 925 and Lumia 928. Nokia is expected to release the app in September.

Read more from SlashGear.

Comments

Total comments: 9
vetsmelter
By vetsmelter (9 months ago)

@Zilk: Whereas my former Nokia N9 (same design as the lumia series) and my brother's lumia 920 got/get a ton of praise for their design.
Strange that, nobody ever praised me for my N9 during the 3 months I have used it.
At least some people demanded to know what model I am using when they spot the 808, but maybe that has to do with my shooting style, climbing or hanging over :)
Beauty of it is not my point, usability is more important imo.
I guess Nokia also realizes that and while riding the current wave of thin-thinnest, they are now offering "the BulgeTM" sold separately for those who are more into action and would hate to see their Lumia tumbling down a cliff, into a sewer, under a car, into the wild waves or from a castle dungeon during including all holiday pictures. Here is the huge bulge you have to attach to a Lumia to get a firm grip on it:
http://www.anandtech.com/show/7142/some-thoughts-about-the-lumia-1020-camera-system

other than that, the Lumia camera interface , OK!!

0 upvotes
Zlik
By Zlik (9 months ago)

This user interface looks promising. You even have a dial for manual focus, that's something no other stock camera app has. Same thing for shutter speed. And the switch between full auto and manual is fast and simple. Perfect !

1 upvote
vetsmelter
By vetsmelter (9 months ago)

"Lumia 1020's Pro Camera app coming to other PureView devices" -> but not the greatest, largest sensor Pureview device, the Nokia Pureview 808, oh no let's just forget it ever existed. Thanks Microsoft for keeping this MS Pureview.

Comment edited 20 seconds after posting
1 upvote
Zlik
By Zlik (9 months ago)

??
The 808 is a niche product, the huge bulge is not for the mass market.

1 upvote
vetsmelter
By vetsmelter (9 months ago)

Have you ever held one? This 808 is as thin as aesthetics and ergonomics allow. I can assure you the Lumia style phones are not as nice to hold and look ridiculously anorexic, not like a tool made for human operation.
Once people are marketed tired of this thinification over usability we will see the return of the bulges in the street view.
Meanwhile Leica's and 808 should receive their niche market firmware updates as we may expect from serious European manufacturers. MS, stay out of this, this is between me and Nokia.

1 upvote
Zlik
By Zlik (9 months ago)

I own and have been using a Nokia 808 for the last 8 months, thank you very much. Here are some photos I did with it:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/adriangramunt/sets/72157634521190996/

I can assure you that nobody I showed it to ever said it looks great, quite the contrary. Yes, it feels great in your hand but that's not the point. Whereas my former Nokia N9 (same design as the lumia series) and my brother's lumia 920 got/get a ton of praise for their design.

First time I hear somebody saying the 1020'design is "anorexic". I guess opinions/tastes are subjective, but the general impression is clearly not the one you have.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
brdeveloper
By brdeveloper (9 months ago)

Devices as thin as Lumias or Galaxies are not ergonomic for photo-enthusiasts. I hate my Galaxy Note for photography. I can't hold it for preventing shaking. My old N8 were far better on this respect.

1 upvote
Dapple 101
By Dapple 101 (9 months ago)

People knew full well that the 808 wasn't going to be supported, even before it was launched.

0 upvotes
vetsmelter
By vetsmelter (9 months ago)

"People knew full well that the 808 wasn't going to be supported, even before it was launched." Actually it is supported by continuous OS updates and updates to camera essential applications such as the galery and picture sharing mechanics.
I am just annoyed by reading 808 left out in the row of "other ¨Pureview devices" , but that is not Nokia's title is it, so there is still hope for the shutter priority control to be coming to the 808.

0 upvotes
Total comments: 9
About us
Sitemap
Connect