mobile photography technology, culture and community
www.dpreview.com

Image Quality Compared: Landscape

 

The iPhone 5 has done really well here, and exposure and white balance are accurate and attractive. Edge to edge sharpness is very high and details are faithfully recorded without being over sharpened. Very close examination shows that at a pixel level, the iPhone 5 is applying slightly more aggressive sharpening than the Nokia 808, which means that images from the latter have more scope for post-capture sharpening, if that's part of your workflow. We prefer the iPhone's warmer rendering though - the Nokia 808 has delivered a fairly cool - although not unnatural - color balance. Dynamic range is clearly superior from the Nokia 808 though, thanks to its unique PureView oversampling. The iPHone 5 (and the other cameras in this comparison) show a marked tendency to clip highlights in some areas of this scene, but the 808 preserves bright detail more faithfully. 

The poorest camera here is the Samsung Galaxy SIII, which has delivered a slightly 'crunchy' image that lacks the natural sharpness of the iPhone and Nokia 808. Both it and the HTC One X display noticeable haloing when viewed at 100%, caused by over sharpening. The HTC phone has also delivered an extremely highly saturated, very contrasty scene, with large areas of the foreground almost black. There is detail in these shadow areas but it'll take a pretty extreme brightness adjustment to see it. 

Comments

Total comments: 15
sjkro
By sjkro (Apr 25, 2013)

Why are so many pictures up-side-down?

2 upvotes
vsk_suresh
By vsk_suresh (Nov 2, 2012)

There is a Fix for the Purple Haze, Just rotate the phone upside down and shoot it as normal, the purple haze is gone. :-) I tried it and and wanted to let all of you know...

0 upvotes
cph71
By cph71 (Oct 14, 2012)

a little tip I read somewhere, is that you can use the control on the headphones to trigger the shoot, thus minimizing camera shake.

1 upvote
keeponkeepingon
By keeponkeepingon (Oct 11, 2012)

"For all DxOMark Mobile data presented on connect.dpreview.com we're showing only the '8MP equivalent' values, which gives us a level playing field for comparison between phone cameras with different megapixel values"

Wow. Just wow.

If you did that for normal cameras imagine the uproar......

Why not just report the best each camera can do?

0 upvotes
reeds
By reeds (Oct 11, 2012)

Excellent review. It's great to see serious attention on the cameras that most of us use most of the time.

The Nokia Pureview comparison is fair but for the future I'm more interested in comparisons to phones that are closer in size and weight.

The Nokia 808 is more than twice the volume of the iPhone 5 and about 2 oz/57g heavier than the iPhone 5. (Illustrated here: http://www.sizeall.com/compare/Apple-iPhone-5-Nokia-808-PureView-US-quarter-25-cents-coin/314 )

That's like carrying a second phone and 10 US quarters to get the better camera.

What's the best camera phone in same size and weight class?

0 upvotes
keeponkeepingon
By keeponkeepingon (Oct 11, 2012)

"The Nokia 808 is more than twice the volume". No it's not. Your link does not work but I plugged the two phones in. Height and width are the exact same shape, it's a bit thicker with a bump for the camera sticking out that is a lot thicker. To get twice the volume you must be calculating the volume of a box it would fit in. But it's not a box, It's like a slightly thicker iphone with a bump sticking out and given the variation in phone shapes I would consider it in the same class.

1 upvote
reeds
By reeds (Oct 16, 2012)

You're right, my first rough estimate was overzealous. Here are the exact values:

The Nokia 808 is 73.2% larger and 50.8% heavier than an Apple iPhone 5 based on both company's published specs. (The 808 is 95.50cc vs iPhone 5's 55.12cc. The 808 is 169g vs iPhone 5's 112g.)

That seems like a big difference to me based on my experience with other devices. However, I have not held them in my hands so I value your opinion. Do you think these specs suggest they are in a somewhat different category? That is, the 808 comparison is interesting but other devices closer in size/weight should be included in the future?

Comment edited 4 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Hector1980
By Hector1980 (Oct 11, 2012)

I've always been a big fan of dpreview, so it's great that now you decided to start testing smartphones.

Are you going to test apps, too? I'm a big fan of this one:

http://jag.gr/645pro/

And it would be great to have a dpreview-caliber review about it.

0 upvotes
vlad0
By vlad0 (Oct 10, 2012)

I've been taking pics with my iPhone 5 for the past week.. it does very well for it's sensor size, but when I put it up against my Nokia 808.. things don't look so good, especially at night..

Here is my little test from couple of days ago:

skydrive gallery: http://sdrv.ms/QOzrHB

4 upvotes
Reg Natarajan
By Reg Natarajan (Oct 10, 2012)

Great gallery. Nothing beats seeing back to back comparison results, and you're right, the Nokia is vastly better.

0 upvotes
cluening
By cluening (Oct 10, 2012)

Thanks for the samples. The 808 sure bests the other 2 cams. But the N8 also does quite well, it can be PP'd still very well. Just the contrasts are a bit low, thats it.

0 upvotes
reeds
By reeds (Oct 11, 2012)

Great gallery! The last two images really drive home the difference.

1 upvote
Biggus
By Biggus (Oct 10, 2012)

hmm, I don't see that the iPhone 5 image is that much better than the One X or the S3. It may just about have slightly better resolution, but not in the parts where it's overly bright in the highlights in comparison, indeed in some places, it's the worst of the 4. I'd also say the colour is as much on the warm side as the others are on the cool.

Looks to be a rather biased review tbh.

In my own order of preference, looking at the overall image, I'd choose in the following order...

S3 - most balanced, but less cool than the iPhone is warm
iPhone5 - too warm
808 - soft/suffering from haze
One X - very warm, too dark in the shadows

0 upvotes
Barney Britton
By Barney Britton (Oct 10, 2012)

We also incorporate DXO's test data when drawing our conclusions. And we'll have an S3 review online very soon so you can take a more detailed look at how both cameras compare.

1 upvote
cluening
By cluening (Oct 10, 2012)

What you consider as haze and softness on the 808 is just the very defensive approach on in-camera tweaking. As I found out with the N8, this haze and softness can easily give perfect pictures in PP.
A lot of headroom.
Cant do with Apple phone cams, as I tried.
Might be the same with the S3, already showing lots of sharpening artifacts, so dead end.

1 upvote
Total comments: 15
About us
Sitemap
Connect