mobile photography technology, culture and community
www.dpreview.com

Google+ introduces topic-focused Communities feature

17

We know that Google+ has become a home for photographers to share ideas and images, and now photography enthusiasts have another way to engage each other with Google+ Communities.

Google announced the service yesterday, explaining that Google+ Communities will allow users to join a group either privately or publicly and encourage discussion divided by topical categories. Whereas Google+ Circles showcase posts according to whom users have determined belong to that Circle, Communities aim to organize interests and conversation by subject. The service is widely being compared to Facebook Groups.

Photo-centric Google+ Communities have already attracted members numbering into the thousands, such as the The Photo Community with more than 12,000 members. Smaller but growing groups like Street Photography and Photo Tips are also springing up and starting forum-type discussions around pertinent issues to members.

Google shared this video to introduce Google+ Communities:  

You can read the full press release on the official Google blog.

Have you joined a Google+ Community yet?

Comments

Total comments: 17
sean000
By sean000 (Dec 11, 2012)

I'm actually going to suggest this for our local photography club. We have been looking for ways to interact more outside of monthly meetings. I was leaning towards just using more conventional Google Groups, but Google+ Communities look much more useful for a photography club. I can create a private community that ties in with Google Pages, where members can post photos that allow both EXIF data and a histogram to be displayed. I also much prefer browsing photos through Google + than through Facebook or Flickr.

I have had a Google+ membership since it started, but I've barely used it since all my family and friends are on Facebook. But I would use Google+ for something like this.

0 upvotes
tiberiousgracchus
By tiberiousgracchus (Dec 10, 2012)

I just not have used it at all. Im sure it has potential but i just feel google was a little late on the scene and people got comfortable with FB if you into all that.

0 upvotes
camera4me
By camera4me (Dec 9, 2012)

Google has become another Microsoft!! not good:(

0 upvotes
plasnu
By plasnu (Dec 9, 2012)

The number of the post for this article indicates that Google + is a completely failure.

1 upvote
cjyphoto
By cjyphoto (Dec 9, 2012)

Google+ hasn't displayed properly for me in weeks. Unusable.

0 upvotes
wjholtjr
By wjholtjr (Dec 9, 2012)

Google+ is just like FaceBook only without all the people.

0 upvotes
Dvlee
By Dvlee (Dec 9, 2012)

As with anything, each individuals experience is different. No harm in trying.

0 upvotes
Royi Avital
By Royi Avital (Dec 8, 2012)

Google+ has really become the paradise for photographers.

The Photo community is amazing.

5 upvotes
Jonne Ollakka
By Jonne Ollakka (Dec 8, 2012)

Before I would even consider anything plus, Youtube needs to be fixed and center aligned again. The recommendations are so retarded it's just sad. Why old episodes of things I already watched? State variable filter doesn't mean I like to watch state senate hearings.

1 upvote
marioaguila
By marioaguila (Dec 8, 2012)

Phothographers are the principal users of Google+ and I miss this feature from the begining.
But now I miss a thread system in Communities.

0 upvotes
vista77
By vista77 (Dec 8, 2012)

PhotoRotterdam same feeling...sponsored campaign

0 upvotes
King Penguin
By King Penguin (Dec 8, 2012)

Wish they would pay tax on their profits in the UK , their actions show no social responsibity.......only greed

4 upvotes
Gerard Hoffnung
By Gerard Hoffnung (Dec 9, 2012)

So by your reasoning, individual tax payers should not take advantage of any legal tax reduction programs available to them but should pay more taxes than they need to, correct?

0 upvotes
tric3imagery
By tric3imagery (Dec 10, 2012)

Wow those that are onthe pay your high taxs band wagon is a sign of a populace that is stuck on mothers tit I'm just saying , get the monkey off my back, Thats Government run wild.

0 upvotes
King Penguin
By King Penguin (Dec 12, 2012)

It's a big story here, google, amazon, Starbucks using international jiggery pokery to avoid paying proper tax levels like most UK operating businesses......

0 upvotes
PhotoRotterdam
By PhotoRotterdam (Dec 8, 2012)

Why do I get the feeling from the way the posts about Google+ are written, that these articles are in fact advertorials?

Somehow, there's a neutrality and balance lacking that most of the time is in every other review or article.

If these are 'sponsored articles', please state so with an article so we all know.

0 upvotes
Simon Joinson
By Simon Joinson (Dec 8, 2012)

They are not. We don't run sponsored articles, and if we did we would be legally obliged to tell you.

7 upvotes
Total comments: 17
About us
Sitemap
Connect