mobile photography technology, culture and community
www.dpreview.com

Leaked photos rumored to be new 41-megapixel Nokia smartphone

37
A purple Nokia Pro Cam tile hints at more sophisticated camera controls on the rumored handset.
Nokia has been using Zeiss lenses on its high end smartphones since 2005. But this leaked shot of the rear panel has a different design than the PureView 808 and lacks the Zeiss tag.

Rumors of a new 41-megapixel Nokia smartphone have been circulating for a while, but images of both the front and rear panels of what look to be Nokia's next device have been newly shared via @evleaks on Twitter.  While initially thought to bear the Lumia 1020 tag, @evleaks (which has a good track record for accuracy), tweeted that the latest information indicates the new "EOS" phone will  be called the Nokia 909 and not the Lumia 1020. The leaked photos are said to be the AT&T version of the handset.

The front panel of the leaked image shows a Pro Cam tile, suggesting more a sophisticated camera app. The rear is equipped with a large, round  large lens bump, but no Zeiss label appears.

Since press invites were sent for Nokia's July 11 press event, there's also been much speculation about extended zoom capabilities of the rumored new phone.  We'll be there to get our hands on whatever Nokia has coming next week.

This press invitation and teaser hints at extended zoom capabilities.

Nokia's official blog, Conversations, will stream the press conference live on July 11, beginning at 11 a.m. EDT.

Comments

Total comments: 37
madeinlisboa
By madeinlisboa (9 months ago)

I don't get it. Why doesn't people buy a real camera and stop buying toys every 6 months? All money wasted on these smartphones should be more than enough to buy a decent dslr.

1 upvote
Rage Joe
By Rage Joe (9 months ago)

The older 41MP Nokia 808 vs. Nikon D300

http://www.dpreview.com/forums/thread/3255954

me tarzan. you jane
:rj

1 upvote
SergioMO
By SergioMO (9 months ago)

I prefer a great phone (like S4 etc) than a great camera in phone. Buy a DSLR and be happy, don´t waste your money ! By the way, post something "really new" int this blog.

1 upvote
SergioMO
By SergioMO (9 months ago)

There´s photos samples from this WP .. .http://www.gsmarena.com/camera_samples_for_nokia_lumia_1020_eos_surface-news-6337.php

0 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (9 months ago)

For the second summer in a row , the 41mp camera cell phone strikes again, it is becoming a tradition !!!!!!
What's next year 100mp ?

1 upvote
Zlik
By Zlik (9 months ago)

Every review/test has shown that the Nokia 808 Pureview has the best camera in any smartphone by a large margin. Its huge sensor size is to thank, and those 41MP just offer more options while shooting (zooming without interpolation, downsampling for lower noise, ...). What is wrong with using/improving that sensor ?

2 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (9 months ago)

Those 41mp is only barking to sell, there is nothing wrong with "using/ improving " anything , but those 41mp won't get you any better image quality than any other 8 to 13 mp phone camera, all the rest is just empty words

1 upvote
vetsmelter
By vetsmelter (9 months ago)

For the 2nd summer in a row Petrogel strikes on a firm mission to downplay the advantages of pixel oversampling.
Petrogel, please don't return before you understand the principle and have compared in person the picture quality of 808 vs Generic 8MP camera's sold to you as standard no-one-will-ever-need-anything-better-in-a-camera-phone-and-besides-it-would-bring-our-profit-margin-down . If you care to check the 2nd hand market, there should be no reason even you can own the 808 one day to form a fact based opinion about it.

For those really interested; this summer we might look out for improvement in dynamic range, a weaker point of the the 808 PV but frankly I expect only a Windows port of last years tech with less hardcore camera controls.
Summer 2014 maybe?

1 upvote
Zlik
By Zlik (9 months ago)

Have a look at this set and tell me if you could get the same photos with the other smartphones (hint: it's not about the resolution, it's about the sensor size and the optics):

http://www.flickr.com/photos/adriangramunt/sets/72157634521190996/with/9232457749/

0 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (9 months ago)

@vetsmelter
Thank you very much for your concern (me_finaly_owning_an_808_even_a_used_one)
but no i'll pass.
Waste of money is ..... waste of money, (even if it is for a second hand .... something ).
Good luck with your HDR improvements !!!!!

1 upvote
vetsmelter
By vetsmelter (9 months ago)

@Petrogel , thanks for pointing out that a slightly better than average and fun to use camera is a waste of money. I get it now.
That still doesn't mean the pixels are not used for some purpose other than marketing boost.
Here is a demo of true pixel zoom with 808 on 360p.
note: -Vimeo conversion took some sharpness (patches on back of dudes no longer readable)
With your iPhone you would just have to walk forward and run back.
https://vimeo.com/69872412

0 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (9 months ago)

@Vetsmelter
I'm afraid that you're misreading my posts, -waste of money- (as "I" understand and avoid) is spending, let's say for example , 650€ to buy a phone just because it is equipped with a 41mp "sensored" camera. As a photographer (not professional) i'd rather spent the same amount of money on buying a DSLR APS-C ( and have a lot better per image quality).
I don't own an iPhone and not planning to buy one, as i consider investing money in such technology is also waste of money.
Recently i've bought a Nikon D5100 for 350€ (used) and i only use it for time-lapses, i've also attached my AF-S 17-55mm f2,8 -and believe me- you can not imagine the quality of the videos i've created, phones like those you're referring to -just can't- .

0 upvotes
vv50
By vv50 (9 months ago)

Petrogel simply loves to talk about his dslr equipment on a MOBILE photography site. the next thing he'll bring up is the Pentax 645d which has about the same resolution as the nokia.

0 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (9 months ago)

@vv50
Is the least i can do, after the prolonged, projection of the predecessor of 1020, the 808, on the PHOTOGRAPHY site, and the inclusion of the in depth review of the specific phone among DSLR's and compact cameras !!!!

0 upvotes
vv50
By vv50 (9 months ago)

you seem to fail to understand why this belongs on a photography gear site. nokia is one of the largest digital camera makers in the world, bigger than nikon, canon and olympus. the only company that makes more cameras than nokia is samsung.
http://conversations.nokia.com/2011/02/15/7-nokia-world-records-that-will-blow-your-mind/

0 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (9 months ago)

@vv50
You seem to fail to understand what is written above your comment, but to be honest those attachments are really funny, you want to prove me that nokia is the biggest of all photo gear manufacturer, by posting a URL of a nokia forum , mate you are really a knock out !!!

0 upvotes
Teila Day
By Teila Day (9 months ago)

Well now isn't that grand. A 41mp-ratty quality cell phone camera of all things. I should just fall all over myself. What I want to know is what will most people do with a ratty 41mp cell phone photograph?

Let me know when there's a 10mp cell phone camera that produces photographs on par with a Nikon D3s or Canon 5DII, all the way up to say, 52,000 ISO.

... at least that would have me raising my brow as opposed to yawning.

1 upvote
Zlik
By Zlik (9 months ago)

Check out the Nokia 808 Pureview, which has a 41mp sensor as well.
A 41mp sensor with the same pixel pitch as every other 8mp smartphone (iphone, galaxy, etc) is actually a great idea. Its sensor is 5 times as big as its competition, and it outputs downsampled 5mp photos (by default) which allows you to "zoom in" the sensor (crop) without having to interpolate. Nobody is pretending it will have SLR quality (wtf!?), but hey, it's 2013, and we know that for a given sensor size, the amount of pixels doesn't influence the low light performance as much as it did any more (D800 vs D600 vs D4, same sensor, different pixel size, almost the same high ISO performance).
ISO performance is essentially related to sensor size (at a given technology). For a mobile phone, this has a huge sensor, and dividing it into 41 or 10mp probably wouldn't change its low light performance, which nobody expects to be D3s like.
You can't blame nokia for trying to make the best out of a camera phone.

Comment edited 10 minutes after posting
1 upvote
Zlik
By Zlik (9 months ago)

Here is a set I just uploaded with some photos that I took with the 41mp Nokia 808 Pureview:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/adriangramunt/sets/72157634521190996/

Yes, we know that the D3s and the 5DmkIII can do better, but do you think there is any other smarphone that can do better ?

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 2 minutes after posting
2 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (9 months ago)

@ Teila Day
Of course and there is no comparison between those two (D3 or 5DII with that .. phone), BUT with this amount of money you can buy Nikon D7000 and costs more or less the same !!!!

Comment edited 4 minutes after posting
2 upvotes
vv50
By vv50 (9 months ago)

good luck taking pictures with a d7000 without any lens.

0 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (9 months ago)

@vv50
LOL AF-S 18------------------------55mm is in the price.
What is the range of the lens of your camera MUAHAHA !!!

0 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (9 months ago)

@vv50
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Nikon-D7000-16-2-MP-SLR-Camera-Black-w-18-55mm-and-55-200-mm-lenses-/141010363230?pt=Digital_Cameras&hash=item20d4df635e

0 upvotes
vv50
By vv50 (9 months ago)

you just applied the texas sharpshooter fallacy, selecting only a used camera to fit your argument. https://yourlogicalfallacyis.com/the-texas-sharpshooter

0 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (9 months ago)

@vv50
I'd like to share something with you, i'm not from texas, i'm neither a snapshooter but worst of all i do not care what these "fallacophers" "apply" .

0 upvotes
DamianS
By DamianS (9 months ago)

So... no sdcard and now no Zeiss lens?
Think I'll pass.

1 upvote
Zlik
By Zlik (9 months ago)

Yes, you are right, basing your decision on rumors is extremely intelligent.

1 upvote
fuego6
By fuego6 (9 months ago)

except - the rumors tend to be about 95% accurate - especially as we start to get later in the game towards release data. I too think this info is legit!

1 upvote
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (9 months ago)

"So... no sdcard and now no Zeiss lens?"

All previous leaks published spy shots of back covers also containing "Zeiss". A 29/Jun example of them is at http://mynokiablog.com/2013/06/29/carl-zeiss-becomes-zeiss-already-branded-pureview-zeiss-on-nokia-eoslumia-1020/#comments

In addition, it's, ATM, not knonw whether the phone has a memory card slot or not.

1 upvote
sir_bazz
By sir_bazz (9 months ago)

I've stuck with Symbian phones, up until now, only for the better cameras. Might finally be time to try leave that ship for a modern mobile phone OS.

0 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (9 months ago)

You should have done this a long time ago, (last year)!! ;-)
anyhow better late than never.
I've would advise you (if i may) the Samsung S4 ZOOM (just for the better camera)

1 upvote
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (9 months ago)

"I've would advise you (if i may) the Samsung S4 ZOOM (just for the better camera)"

Is that a joke? It's highly unlikely the S4 Zoom will have at least half of the IQ of the 808. I'm afraid even the iPhone 5 will prove to be better.

If you want an Android-based camera, check out the new Samsung NX. That is pretty promising, albeit lacks some features (like 1080p60 recording also available in the NX300).

2 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (9 months ago)

Frankly i don't give a damn for a phone that costs more than 150 euros, and especially a Nokia !!!
Now what "you'd advise" to Sir_bazz" it's between you and him !!

2 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (9 months ago)

"Frankly i don't give a damn for a phone that costs more than 150 euros, and especially a Nokia !!!"

Well, you can't expect high-end cameras in a phone costing no more than 150e... If you want decent cameras, you end up having to pay around 600 for the current top-end model (and about half of that for the previous one, particularly when second-hand - at least here in Finland used 808's run for around 250e's.)

0 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (9 months ago)

@Menneisyys
It's not that i don't expect high end camera attached on cellphone, as there isn't any.
"Around 600" ,as you say, can buy you a great DSLR with an APS-C sensor and perfect image quality, or a Sony RX100
As for the 808 , waste of money is a waste of money even if it's for a second hand ...... anything !!!

0 upvotes
vv50
By vv50 (9 months ago)

yes, no one wants you to waste your greek money

0 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (9 months ago)

At least we agree on something, no one wants to waste money !!!!
you see how easy life can be ?

0 upvotes
Total comments: 37
About us
Sitemap
Connect