mobile photography technology, culture and community
www.dpreview.com

LG launches LG G Pro 2 phablet with 4k video

27

LG has launched the LG G Pro 2 in Korea and the new device's global launch is expected at the Mobile World Congress in Barcelona next week. With its 5.9-inch 1080p IPS screen the new model falls firmly into the phablet category and follows last year's Optimus G Pro in the LG lineup.

With its super-slim bezel and controls on the back, the G Pro 2 follows the design language of LG's current top-of-the-line model, the G2, but offers another option for those users who prefer a larger screen than the G2's 5.2-inch variant. The new model also comes with an evolved version of LG's KnockON feature that we first saw on the G2.  It allows you to power on and unlock the device by tapping the screen using one of 86,367 knock combinations. This works with the display on or off. 

With 3GB RAM and a Qualcomm Snapdragon 800 processor the G Pro 2 offers plenty of power for running even demanding apps, but what LG has to say about the camera module sounds interesting, too. Like the G2 and Optimus G Pro the G Pro 2 captures 13MP images - but according to the press release, the sensors of both rear and front cameras have increased in size. Unfortunately the size increase has not been quantified, but we will update this story as soon as we get further information.

With its thin bezel and controls on the back, the G Pro 2 follows a very similar design language to the LG G2.

Apart from the larger sensors, the new optical image stabilization system sounds promising. OIS+ combines optical IS with digital IS to achieve even more stable handheld shooting and smoother video. Other new camera features include the following:

  • 120fps HD slow motion video
  • 4K video recording 
  • Magic Focus allows you to select the focus point in an image after it has been taken, similar to Nokia's Refocus app or the Lytro lightfield camera
  • Natural Flash aims for a more natural white balance when taking flash pictures
  • Flash for Selfie reduces the size of the preview screen and uses most of the screen as a soft white light to illuminate your self-portrait
  • Burst Shot takes up to 20 shots in a burst and automatically edits them to create a video of the captured images
  • Gallery Collage lets you create collages from images you select in your gallery

We are hoping to get an LG G Pro 2 into our hands soon to test the new camera features and give it our full review treatment. 

Key Specifications:

  • Qualcomm Snapdragon 800 (2.26 GHz Quad-Core)
  • Qualcomm Technologies’ Adreno 330 GPU
  • 5.9-inch Full HD IPS (1920 x 1080) screen
  • 3GB DDR3 RAM
  • 16GB/32GB storage and microSD slot
  • 13.0MP rear camera with OIS+
  • 2.1MP front camera
  • 3,200mAh removable battery
  • Android 4.4 KitKat

 

Comments

Total comments: 27
Martin_PTA
By Martin_PTA (2 months ago)

Even the G2 I is a very cool handset!

Unfortunately that ultra-narrow bezel on the east/west borders of the display is the downfall of the device. Without added rubber/gel case protection, the first time G2-user can budget an extra $200 for a new screen/glass. The LG warranty also doesn't match that of Samsung (in South Africa at least).

0 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (2 months ago)

" The LG warranty also doesn't match that of Samsung (in South Africa at least)."

Nowhere else either. The premium Samsung warranty offered for their high-end models is pretty much unmatched.

0 upvotes
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (2 months ago)

I've been using a G2 for a while now, no problem with the glass...have you dropped yours?

0 upvotes
Martin_PTA
By Martin_PTA (2 months ago)

A friend dropped his (apparently from no higher than 3-4 inches) and got this unpleasant surprise. The rest of the plastic on the handset doesn't show the slightest evidence of the drop, indicating that it couldn't have been from a significant height.

He's never used a protective cover on any of his prior handsets though, but after the recent costly experience he has little choice.

0 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (2 months ago)

Using bump cases has always been recommended with all kinds of phones, not only the G2.

I've always used very strong cases with my high-end phones; for example, a thick Otterbox with the iPhone 5. Just to be on the safe side.

0 upvotes
dapplschamp
By dapplschamp (2 months ago)

That's why they sell insurance and the otterbox here in America. Samsung is behind and will remain behind LG as far as tech and features.

1 upvote
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (2 months ago)

"Samsung is behind and will remain behind LG as far as tech and features."

Wrong. It's probably only the OIS that is really missing from Samsung's handsets compared to those of LG, nothing else. Actually, nowadays it's LG that is copying Samsung's features; for example, in the Pro 2,

- making the screen smaller
- two-pane multitasking

Both were used in the Note 3.

0 upvotes
Abacus3
By Abacus3 (2 months ago)

Samsung Note3 makes 4K "since long time" :-)))

Of course you can use a simple class10 micro sdhc card.
UHSII is nonsens and not necessary. No snapdragon makes 4K/60fps!

0 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (2 months ago)

Hopefully the Pro 2's implementation will be better. After all, it has OIS, unlike the Note 3.

0 upvotes
Abacus3
By Abacus3 (2 months ago)

>>> •13.0MP rear camera with OIS+
I think this is not for 4K videos :-(

0 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (2 months ago)

"I think this is not for 4K videos :-("

How come? The Note 3 also has a 13 Mpixel sensor and shoots excellent 4K video.

0 upvotes
trungthu
By trungthu (2 months ago)

Very impressive. They all will bring 4K video to daily life users.
From Panasonic GH4, to LG G Pro 2... I like it.

0 upvotes
Joe Ogiba
By Joe Ogiba (2 months ago)

I wonder if it has the new UHS-II Micro SDXC ( up to 312MB/s) support . 4K @ 60fps would be fantastic.
http://www.photographybay.com/2014/02/12/sandisks-new-extreme-pro-sd-uhs-ii-cards-are-worlds-fastest-sd-cards/

0 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (2 months ago)

It surely won't support 4K @ 60fps.

0 upvotes
Glen Barrington
By Glen Barrington (2 months ago)

I'm seriously considering a phablet, not for the camera, but to be better able to have a good portable ereader without having to carry an additional device (I don't mind carrying a camera, though I'm not opposed to a GOOD phone camera, I just haven't seen one!).
However, if this device is available for Verizon in May of this year, I will seriously consider it.

0 upvotes
tunitowen
By tunitowen (2 months ago)

Here's hoping LG can get close to Apple with this one. Not much is getting close to the iPhones for picture quality (Maybe Xperia / Lumia are getting there).

0 upvotes
vv50
By vv50 (2 months ago)

as someone once said - Time to take the tin foil hat off my friend

2 upvotes
jorg14
By jorg14 (2 months ago)

According to DXO, Nokia 880, Sony Experia, and LG G2 beat the iPhone on picture quality by a hair.

0 upvotes
wudyi
By wudyi (2 months ago)

Exciting times we live in!

0 upvotes
SergioMO
By SergioMO (2 months ago)

Note 3 cames first ! I love it !

0 upvotes
webrunner5
By webrunner5 (2 months ago)

It would seem Canon, Nikon, etc. really need to start building Smartphones or they are going to miss out on a LOT of buyers.

Think down the road 4 or 5 years what Smartphones will do.

2 upvotes
thx1138
By thx1138 (2 months ago)

Canon at worst should be trying to get its sensors into phones, and tablets. Nikon doesn't even make sensors so it's going to find it very tough. But Nikon have Andorid and will offer a camera with it soon. Canon needs to say get a partnership with the struggling HTC and leverage their camera smart with HTC phones smarts. Could get a good deal.

0 upvotes
SergioMO
By SergioMO (2 months ago)

Smartphones are going deeper ... http://www.phonearena.com/news/Underwater-photographer-takes-the-Sony-Xperia-Z1S-for-a-dive-among-manatees_id52609#10- ... no more underwater cameras in the future (???)

0 upvotes
rpm40
By rpm40 (2 months ago)

If they just crammed something like the Canon S120 onto the back of a phone body, I would have bought it by now. I'm ok with a slightly thicker phone.

1 upvote
Alphoid
By Alphoid (2 months ago)

It's funny. The cell phone cameras are getting better and better as main cameras for photographers, while point-and-shoots are getting worse and worse.

Cell phones offer growing sensors, wider apertures, increasingly more programmability and control, and better review. In the meantime, Sony announces a 63x zoom point-and-shoot with an f/3-5.9 lens, and Canon, a D30 with horrible folded optics.

I don't get why someone doesn't make a point-and-shoot with a fixed f/0.95 lens, make it sturdy, and beyond that, make the sensor as large as possible while maintaining form factor.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
2 upvotes
Impulses
By Impulses (2 months ago)

Because of physics... But there's a lot of P&S with fast lenses, from your S110 to LX7... Or larger sensor compacts like the RX100, the new G1X MkII (which has one of the more impressive P&S lens in a while, at least on paper), etc. f0.95 on a 1"+ sensor wouldn't be compact anymore (or have much of a zoom factor).

Advanced P&S still have lenses way more advanced than any phone. It's the budget/bottom of the barrel P&S that get worse all the time, but then, cameras on non-flagship phones aren't much to write about either. I do think three introductory price of cameras like the S120, LF1, RX100, etc is too high tho...

Street prices always end up falling by a hundred bucks or two within months, if such advanced compacts were just a little more affordable and didn't share the limelight with so much crap, the P&S market would probably be doing better (also if they had started introducing connected models much earlier).

Still, pictures from our One X, One, or Nexus 5 still look like smartphone pics more often than not... /shrug

1 upvote
littlebitstrouds
By littlebitstrouds (2 months ago)

It has nothing to do with physics, it has to do with companies not wanting to poach on their own products/lenses.

0 upvotes
Total comments: 27
About us
Sitemap
Connect