mobile photography technology, culture and community
www.dpreview.com

Image Quality Compared (Flash Portrait)

 

The Nokia 808's flash is a proper xenon unit of the sort found on most conventional cameras - the extra power is obvious from its far superior evenness of coverage, and balanced, neutral color rendition compared to the LED flashes of the other cameras here. 

We set this basic portrait shot up in low artificial light, provided by a single tungsten bulb - roughly equivalent to low indoor lighting. The Nokia 808 has delivered the most accurate color, and you can see for yourself how artificially warm the iPhone 5's rendering is. We greatly prefer it to the refrigerated blue color cast of the Samsung Galaxy SIII though. 

Comments

Total comments: 27
Henrikas
By Henrikas (Apr 10, 2013)

For such price it is amazing camera, + you can make phone calls on it

0 upvotes
mehran langari
By mehran langari (Nov 27, 2012)

its like dslrlike camera but no zoom effectiv flash ofcours so expensiv ....

0 upvotes
vv50
By vv50 (Dec 5, 2012)

the Nokia 808 PureView's effective flash range is virtually maintained at all zoom levels, rather than being significantly reduced as the zoom increases.

http://press.nokia.com/wp-content/uploads/mediaplugin/doc/nokia-808-pureview-whitepaper.pdf

1 upvote
Pedrocas
By Pedrocas (Nov 17, 2012)

Here is the issue I have with this. You don't need 38MP on a mobile phone, zoom or not. As you can see from the images above. You could walk a few meters and stand on the river bed to take the 3.6 x zoom photo. The high resolution has completely taken full focus of the communications when it should be about extending the capabilities of the phone lens, image processing and the great work on the sensor size.

0 upvotes
vv50
By vv50 (Dec 5, 2012)

it's also a videocam with a fixed f/2.4, 12x lossless zoom at 360p

Comment edited 13 seconds after posting
1 upvote
Max Thunder
By Max Thunder (Oct 16, 2012)

@h2k - There is a powerful led light too, used for video. You can also use it as a torchlight via dedicated apps... :)

0 upvotes
vlad0
By vlad0 (Oct 18, 2012)

Or just by holding the lock slider down for a few seconds ;)

Comment edited 12 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
h2k
By h2k (Oct 16, 2012)

I'd wish to have an Android phone with this kind of camera.

Reading there is a Xenon flash, i figure there is no torchlight on the phone (an LED flash instead of Xenon could be used as a torchlight). That's a pity, i find the torchlight on my phone highly useful. (Or is there a permanent light source on the 808 to be used for video? Then it would be usable as torch.)

I think you should mention the screen resolution and dpi or pixels per cm or something like that in the specs. It is not exactly about photographic quality, but of high interest to photographers anyway. You also discuss resolution in your tablet reviews.

0 upvotes
keeponkeepingon
By keeponkeepingon (Oct 12, 2012)

Nice review but.....

where are the full res test scenes?

Early in the review you state that the large mp pixel count is "no gimmick". If that's true, then where are the test scene samples shot at the full no gimmick resolution?

You are comparing a 40mp camera against 8mp cameras and you gimp the 40mp camera by making it shoot in 8mp?

What the heck? How's this help us decide between an iphone 5 and a pureview if you only provide the pureview samples at iphone resolution?

Comment edited 21 seconds after posting
1 upvote
zodiacfml
By zodiacfml (Oct 13, 2012)

Crap, they removed the Pureview in the Studio Comparison tool in the dpreview site. In summary, there's no compact camera can come close in terms of detail and ISO performance of the 808. So, Canon s100 or Panasonic's LX5 doesn't stand a chance and any phone should be miles away from the 38MP mode.

1 upvote
Charles Laigo
By Charles Laigo (Oct 13, 2012)

In your opinion zodiacfml, what camera (enthusiast, DSLR, etc.) comes closest to the image quality of the Pureview?

Comment edited 43 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
zodiacfml
By zodiacfml (Oct 14, 2012)

It's hard to tell since I haven't tried to reduce the image size to match some cameras but it's like a Nikon D800 then blur it by an amount to match it. IMHO though, it's not relevant as long it beats carrying a compact camera. Now, I just want this with a modern operating system.

0 upvotes
vlad0
By vlad0 (Oct 15, 2012)

The problem is.. most "modern" operating systems can't support the 808 tech, they need to be further modernized in order to do so. So in a sense.. the modern ones are still catching up to the old.. outdated one.

Comment edited 14 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
vlad0
By vlad0 (Oct 15, 2012)

I don't see the point in shooting in full resolution mode.. the whole point of the projects was to provide zooming (cropping in real time from the full res image) and also combining pixels, in order to get more detail and less noise.

The system works very well overall.

You might want to take a look at this:

http://www.mediafire.com/view/?s7rlaa88o263oz2

it helps a lot.

0 upvotes
Anepo
By Anepo (Nov 28, 2012)

NO it is NOT like a nikon d800, only a retard or an utter moron would claim so, you have dropped the IQ of everyone here down by 50% with your ignorant statement.

0 upvotes
vlad0
By vlad0 (Oct 11, 2012)

Great review! DxO's report is impressive ..

0 upvotes
cesaregal
By cesaregal (Oct 11, 2012)

Excellent detailed review. Very good integration with DxO data.
Good black test on white background.

0 upvotes
GuySonic
By GuySonic (Oct 11, 2012)

This new 'camera' is kinda cool having full HD video features. NOT so clear if the stereo minijack serves as Stereo mic input as it should, but no mention so far and no labeling can be seen in the photo galery on the NOKIA site. As always, devices of this complexity would only last a few hours working as a camcorder, but external power remain an option for longer continuous or or extra batteries for non-continuous video recording run times. I usually custom fabricate external battery solutions for many different recording device models when required. While the internal stereo mic is very clean sounding to say the least, it lacks consistant stereo imaging. Very interested to see how this camera/phone works with a special stereo-surround mic I've custom made for personal an industry pro projects. That is, if it works at all with external audio input. See what has been possible with other cameras having external audio input at sonic studios . com / videomic . htm

0 upvotes
EasycapExpertti
By EasycapExpertti (Oct 11, 2012)

What! Nokia 808 doesn't need any kind of special stereo-surround mics, because it has 2pcs HAAC mics and it support 5.1 surround sound recording. Here is TOP +200 Nokia 808 PureView Music Concert Videos. Enjoy distortion free sound & low bass: http://nokia808recordings.blogspot.fi

Comment edited 30 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
Lan
By Lan (Oct 10, 2012)

Did you also take the test chart at full resolution? I can only the 8MP Pureview mode, and that doesn't (quite) capture all the detail that comes from the full resolution shots. At least not in good light.

My #1 criticism is that it doesn't have optical image stabilization. Although, I'd say #2 is the lack of dynamic range.

For the price, I'd have liked the lens cover case thrown in too...

Just, at long last, finally been offered the firmware update. Time will tell whether it can fix the occasional dark images with manual ISO.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 4 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
TKYSP
By TKYSP (Oct 10, 2012)

The range of ISO should be 50-1600 instead of 80-1600...

0 upvotes
EasycapExpertti
By EasycapExpertti (Oct 10, 2012)

Excellent review - thank You.

I got a new firmware update FP2 last week to my Nokia 808 and it improves and fixes many things on this operating system and now I feel this is a real allover competitor against iPhone 5, Samsung S3 and HTC One X or soon coming new Nokia Lumia, Samsung and HTC WP8 phones. You tested Nokia 808 with its old Nokia Belle FP1 OS - right?

I agree that Nokia 808 blows its competition out of the water at photos and videos because its huge image sensor, oversampling technology and lossless zoom. Besides that 808's quality of the recorded audio is unbeatable - thanks for its HAAC (High Amplitude Audio Capture) microphones (2pcs) the audio is never distorted even at the loudest heavy metal concerts. Its rivals (also iPhone 5) have nonHAAC mics and so the audio is many times distorted. 808's Rich Recording technology can also produce very naturally the low bass sound which these rivals can't do.

1 upvote
S a m i
By S a m i (Oct 10, 2012)

Was there some particular reason to use different shutter speeds? There's also a huge difference (1/3-2/3 stops) in exposure.

0 upvotes
mattleech
By mattleech (Oct 10, 2012)

Also using 808 as primary smartphone and primary camera.

She's a tough little thing too :)

Could do with auto-HDR (mentioned in review), panorama (other than the one in the Camera Lover Pack app which isn't very good) and still image stabilisation (also mentioned in review). Other than that, it's brill!

Thanks Nokia, Symbian and DD's team!

0 upvotes
Rage Joe
By Rage Joe (Oct 10, 2012)

" findings for the iPHONE 5 were" !!!!!!!! / You have left a typo in your text :

"Noise & Detail Perceptual scoring

DxOMark engineers don't just point camera phones at charts, they also take and analyse scores of real-world shots and score them accordingly. Their findings for the iPhone 5 were:"

0 upvotes
Barney Britton
By Barney Britton (Oct 10, 2012)

Sorry about that, fixed now. Just a copy-paste error.

0 upvotes
vlad0
By vlad0 (Oct 10, 2012)

I've been using an 808 as my primary smartphone, and my primary camera for over two months now.. its great, I don't think I will ever go back to buying a dedicated P&S camera again.

3 upvotes
Total comments: 27
About us
Sitemap
Connect