mobile photography technology, culture and community
www.dpreview.com

iOS 7: What Apple's new mobile operating system offers photographers

71
Apple's latest mobile operating system, iOS 7, was released today.

While early reviews of the iPhone 5c and 5s may have mobile tech fans talking hardware today, the bigger news is actually Apple's free software update for iPhones (iPhone 4 and later), iPads (iPad 2 and later) and iPod touch (fifth generation).

We've just downloaded the software on our iPhone 5 and can't wait to start playing with some of the features aimed specifically at mobile photography enthusiasts. 

Camera app

The camera app has been updated for our Instagram-obsessed culture. In addition to a new square format setting, nine live filters may be applied in camera, letting you see the effect before you snap. We're already loving the brightly colored Chrome and the muted but defined look of Transfer. You can also choose to apply a filter post-capture within the Photos app, with the ability to remove the filter at any time.

The camera's user interface feels more intuitive. All your options for shooting, including video, standard still photo, square format still photo or panoramic photo, are easily accessible from the bottom of the screen. All phones eligible for the update will also see some sort of burst mode, but only iPhone 5s users can shoot at 10 frames per second and see suggestions for which shot is best. Additionally, iPhone 5s owners will see a slow motion video mode and quicker auto focus and capture speeds.

Note that some of these features are dependent upon your hardware. For instance, only iPhone 5 or later and fifth-generation iPod touch users will see the live in-camera filters. MacWorld has an extensive list of which iOS 7 features are compatible with various hardware, as well as instructions for how to update your device.

On iOS 7 photos are organized into "Moments" and "Collections", automatically sorted by location and date, with the ability to view at the Year level.
Updates to the camera app allow for Insta-ready square format photos, as well as filter effects.

Photos app

The new organizational structure of the Photos app instantly feels more structured. Instead of a sea of images to scroll through, photos are organized into "Moments" and "Collections", automatically sorted by location and date, with the ability to view at the Year level. You can also view your images in a photo map format.

The update allows users to send photos to other iOS users on the same network with a single tap via AirDrop. We can't wait to use this feature at our next social event. A new shared photo album feature for iCloud should also make photo sharing easier.

Third-party app updates

While third-party app developers are just starting to announce their own iOS 7 updates, we can look forward to some interesting improvements to our favorite photocentric iOS apps that utilize the new software (and hardware for new iPhone 5s owners). For instance, Hipstamatic has just updated its app with a new user interface and new cases meant to match iOS 7's new design.

There are plenty more exciting changes in iOS 7 overall, with sites like TechCrunch and The New York Times offering comprehensive looks. We'll have plenty more to say about iOS 7 as we start to share our impressions, and then full review, of the new iPhone 5s. Stay tuned.

Comments

Total comments: 71
MikeFairbanks
By MikeFairbanks (11 months ago)

I like many of the new features of ios 7, but what really bums me out is the graphics. Why the flat, 1990s graphics? Everyone is onboard this trend for some reason. Adobe Photoshop, Windows 8, ios7, and even this very webpage DPreview connect.

What happened to textures? Iphone's compass used to look like an actual compass, but now it looks like a spedometer from a 1989 Nissan Maxima.

Is this a dumbing-down of graphics? Are they easier and cheaper, or is it really what the public wants?

I just don't get it.

2 upvotes
CameraLabTester
By CameraLabTester (11 months ago)

The FREE Compass app is a great and super cool feature.

There is a cross hair in the middle of the compass to indicate plumb point.

0° to 360° indicated in large number display.

The nice surprise is the carpenter's leveling tool.

Swipe the compass to the left and the leveling tool appears.

Great for setting your camera flat or your brickwork leveled properly.

When the level at both axis points hit 0°... the whole screen turns bright green!

.

Comment edited 177 days after shave lotion

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 2 minutes after posting
1 upvote
Light Pilgrim
By Light Pilgrim (11 months ago)

I have been a massive applefan and alwaysloved it for aesthetics. I have to say that this time around iOS7 looks like android in beta version. Cannot scale wallpapers, iPad 4 became slower.....the whole thing looks half cooked.

1 upvote
Photato
By Photato (11 months ago)

Went back to iOS6.
There are good things about 7 but didnt like the drawbacks.
Maybe I upgrade 1 year down the road. happy with iOS6 so far.

2 upvotes
makofoto
By makofoto (11 months ago)

What drawbacks?!

1 upvote
El Cajun
By El Cajun (11 months ago)

Upgrade in a year? How many of your apps do you suppose will be working on IOS 6 in a year?

0 upvotes
Francis Carver
By Francis Carver (11 months ago)

Just what the world needs -- yet another "mobile operating system," he-he-he.

0 upvotes
TitusXIII
By TitusXIII (11 months ago)

Maybe these tips and tricks will help some users:

http://www.theverge.com/2013/9/18/4741412/the-best-hidden-features-in-ios-7

2 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (11 months ago)

Too bad there are no camera-specific tips there.

BTW, when it comes to the camera, an indeed VERY important feature of iOS7 is lossless video zooming in (at least) third-party apps up to 1.4545x. This doesn't seem to be mentioned almost anywhere.

Dunno if the final iOS7 fixes the bug of beta2 (the one I tested in this respect) where the stock Camera app didn't make use of this feature. Will report back as soon as I have tested it.

Another feature of the 5s, varying exposure during pano shooting, isn't supported by the 5, unfortunately. The latter uses fixed exposure locked to the first frame, which is plain insufficient in a lot of situations.

0 upvotes
Houseqatz
By Houseqatz (11 months ago)

hrm.. i have a 4s, and i have live in camera filters..

0 upvotes
Photato
By Photato (11 months ago)

Things I don't like so far:
iOS7, now blocking third party lighting cables.
Kitcam photo app now crashes, no longer compatible
Overall experience feels slower with the new OS animations.
Battery life seems shorter.
Shoot button do burst when hold it, I preferred the old way, release to shoot, and all other volume buttons do the same.
Background for Photos is now blown up highlights (white) grrrr
Calendar is harder to read in Month screen.

Things i like:
Control Panel to quickly change settings.
Facetime Audio.

Hmmm thinking in going back to iOS6, but there seems to be no way to do that.

Comment edited 24 seconds after posting
1 upvote
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (11 months ago)

"Kitcam photo app now crashes, no longer compatible"

Note that

1, this doesn't apply to iPhone 5 - on mine, it (the latest version) works just fine.

2, KitCam, while a decent app, doesn't have any functionality NOT present in some other 3rd party AppStore app. Exposure compensation (a "unique feature") is a post-processor gimmick and should be avoided. (See my acomplete writeup of it at http://www.iphonelife.com/blog/87/exposure-compensation-and-bracketing-bible , in section "4. What about KitCam?" of my Exposure Compensation and Bracketing bible)

0 upvotes
Photato
By Photato (11 months ago)

Kitcam has a very useful and fun timelapse movie mode and it doesn't neglect video as other more popular photo apps do.
The app still runs though.

Comment edited 23 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (11 months ago)

Timelapse video creation is supported by several (dedicated) apps in the AppStore. I've tested the free version of some of them (let me know if you need more info and, then, I dig up the titles - can't remember right now) and was, basically, satisfied with their quality.

0 upvotes
Bruce McL
By Bruce McL (11 months ago)

"Overall experience feels slower with the new OS animations."
I agree with you. Settings: General: Accessibility: Reduce Motion helps a lot with this.

1 upvote
Ccoll
By Ccoll (10 months ago)

I too find the calendar incredibly unfriendly. The month view is difficult to read and too much white space. Bring back day views. If I want the month I will go looking for this. Easy to wake up look at the calendar and plan the day.....and outfit.

0 upvotes
Peter Viccari
By Peter Viccari (11 months ago)

Apple have done a great job updating IOS. Pretty much all the functionality is improved and the whole thing feels more snappy on my iPhone 5. Camera App. is excellent - and I think the new look is great too. Well done from me.

Remember this is a phone (with a camera in it) - which is very useful at times, and fun... No one should expect more than that from a smart phone.

0 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (11 months ago)

"Remember this is a phone (with a camera in it) - which is very useful at times, and fun... No one should expect more than that from a smart phone."

Let me disagree. All competing mobile operating systems (and even the dead Symbian) have (had) much more manual settings out of the box, in their stock camera client (manual WB, proper exposure compensation, manual ISO for start; with third-party apps like Nokia's Pro Camera for WP, EVERYTHING manual, including shutter speed and focus).

This is one of the major problems with iOS7. Unfortunately, iOS7 hasn't brought almost anything new for us photo / video geeks; this is why we're pretty disappointed. (Also with the lack of essential features like OIS etc. and the IQ of the 5s, which, according to Engadget's review, is only a little bit better than that of the 5 in good light and still lags behind the 1020.)

2 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (11 months ago)

BTW, here's Engadget's comparison of the 5s' IQ to that of the 1020:

"First, let's tackle the camera's low-light performance. The shots we took with the 5s were consistently better than what we took with the 5: they were sharper, with finer details, more natural colors and far less noise. As you might expect, our daylight shots were roughly on par, though there were a few times when the 5s won out by a slight margin, offering just a little more detail. All told, the 5s plays in the same league as all those other flagships with a bigger emphasis on imaging. Even so, our sample shots still showed more noise and less detail than the same images taken with the Nokia Lumia 1020. "

Review at http://www.engadget.com/2013/09/17/iphone-5s-review/

0 upvotes
Tom May
By Tom May (11 months ago)

I'm cool with the 1020 and its capabilities, but there are many compromises that had to be made in the package and in performance.

So the 1020 is a great niche camera, but the bulk of flagship camera sales are Samsung and Apple. Any improvements made by them resonate through ultimately 100's of millions of users.

Enjoy your Nokia 1020 and its offspring, but you might want to tone down your rhetoric WRT OIS, et al, to the reality of a 7.6 mm thick iPhone.

0 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (11 months ago)

"Enjoy your Nokia 1020 and its offspring, but you might want to tone down your rhetoric WRT OIS, et al, to the reality of a 7.6 mm thick iPhone."

1, I don't have the 1020 - I won't purchase it until the now-compulsory & tie-consuming 5 Mpixel downsampling is removed.

2, the LG G2 / HTC One aren't much thicker than the iPhone; still, they too have OIS.

1 upvote
fishycomics
By fishycomics (11 months ago)

1. who can see when the start a siver on white typing
2. who the hell made a gry background for the icons. while BLACK was BEST
3 who the hell enlarged the icons by a smudge.
4 who the hell too the left side keyboard search away.
5 who the hell took away the COLOR of the SWIPE
6 WHo the hell took away the icons second page , all has now been moved one'
7 WH THE HELL MADE THE WHOLE SCREEN A SWIPE TO TURN ON, after the push button.

8. is great a face time Icon Whipty doo

9. Keyboard is Silver on white background YUK

guess I will get used to it till I can find a downgrade.

0 upvotes
fishycomics
By fishycomics (11 months ago)

Loaded up an running, the rest is history. IOS 8 is in the works to replace IO7...

0 upvotes
caerphoto
By caerphoto (11 months ago)

Quick note: live filters work on the 4S too, not just 5 and up.

(I have a 4S)

3 upvotes
Fred K
By Fred K (11 months ago)

Oh dear, after taking one picture with Kitcam on IOS7 on a 4s phone, it now crashes. Force closing it doesn't help. Looks like this is the end of Kitcam for me on my 4s.

1 upvote
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (11 months ago)

Which version of KitCam do you have? I have the latest one (released back in April IIRC) and it works just fine on my iOS7 + GSM iPhone 5.

BTW, did you know the exposure compensation feature in KitCam is just post-processing and, consequently, shouldn't be used for, say, HDR bracketing?

0 upvotes
Photato
By Photato (11 months ago)

Kitcam was working yesterday but today it crashed.
Damn Yahoo!

0 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (11 months ago)

Do the two of you have the in-app purchases? I don't. Prolly this is why mine doesn't crash on the iPhone 5?

0 upvotes
Fred K
By Fred K (11 months ago)

Luckily KitCam (no longer available), Camera+ and VSCOcam haven't changed how the shutter works. Unfortunately, Procamera now uses the burst function.

0 upvotes
Fred K
By Fred K (11 months ago)

The old (IOS6) shutter button would take the picture when you released the button. This was very useful for composing pictures, particularly at awkward angles. The new shutter button has a burst function - it would be nice to be able to turn this off, as it's very sensitive and you can take 5 pictures before you realise what is happening.

5 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (11 months ago)

"The old (IOS6) shutter button would take the picture when you released the button. "

You could consider using the volume buttons for shooting. Works just fine. (Of course, they shoot bursts too when continuously pressed. A single press, even if you don't see the screen, works just fine, tho)

0 upvotes
Sam Carriere
By Sam Carriere (11 months ago)

This is all pretty irrelevant. Photographers use cameras, not phones.
And to everyone who wants to show me a superb picture taken with a phone, all I can say is "Just think what that person might have done with a real camera."

2 upvotes
BaldCol
By BaldCol (11 months ago)

I'm glad I'm not alone.

0 upvotes
jfelbab
By jfelbab (11 months ago)

You mean like Ansel Adams. He had such a superb cameras, oh,wait, a iPhone is several times more advanced than anything Ansel could imagine..

Great photographers and great photos are not made great by their equipment but rather by the eye behind the equipment.

Every device that records an image is a camera. Every rich kid with a bag of expensive camera gear is not a great photographer.

3 upvotes
JadedGamer
By JadedGamer (11 months ago)

That's like believing that an indian tandoori chef could make better food with a modern induction stove than his old stone oven... i.e. missing the point.

Photography is composition and exposure, no matter what you use to get it.

2 upvotes
unknown member
By (unknown member) (11 months ago)

jfelbab, you think the iPhone is more advanced that anything Ansel Adams used? The camera in the iPhone is well behind what Ansel could have imagined in terms of image quality. If you really think the iPhone images are stunning then I'm sure his 8X10 (that's an 8" by 10" negative) view camera would produce prints that would make your eyes bleed out all of that weaksauce filling them up.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
Ferling
By Ferling (11 months ago)

Unfortunately, this is what the a large chunk of society wants, and that's where the market is heading. I've run into several potential jobs that have now been replaced by employees who've been "volunteered" to use their iPhone or a supplied PS for company snaps, newsletters and even the school year book.

It's also amusing to see all the excitement over Instagram, coming from a time when much of what that app does would have resulted in a lot of rejected work. (Funny, auto-correct thinks that "Instragram" should be spelled "Instamatic").

However, I think all this is cool to see such an enthusiastic rise in photography itself. Of course there's a right tool for doing the job, and while I'll never warm up to an iPhone, there are times when the "job" involves nothing more than simple shot, with a canned effect to share on a website. You can still earn kudo's for a nice capture and good composition, and to many, that's rewarding enough.

This will be my last post on the subject.

0 upvotes
speculatrix
By speculatrix (11 months ago)

Ansel Adams might have used a mechanical camera but his cameras took medium or large format film and so his "sensor" was 80 square inches, just a wee bit bigger than that in any phone's camera, even Nokia's.

0 upvotes
Mrrowe8
By Mrrowe8 (11 months ago)

Damn thats just flat out an ignorant statement as I have heard in long time .. That thinking is why photography is still the red headed step child in the art world ...Your job as photographer is to make images that match up with proper device .. Depends on the concept of the body of work .. And the other side of that lame Ansel Adams argument is bet Man Ray or walker Evens or Harry Callahan ,Diane Arbus , Dorothea Lange all would of used a camera in a phone & and all who where 1000x's better then AA

0 upvotes
WellyNZ
By WellyNZ (11 months ago)

The iPhone clearly IS more advanced than the cameras Ansel Adams used in the same way that Adobe Illustrator is more advanced than a pencil.

My primary cameras are 4x5 and 8x10 large format cameras. They're nothing more than a black box with a lens on the front and my iPhone is significantly more advanced as a camera than my film cameras.

That doesn't mean it can create better images.

Every photograph I've made with my large format cameras are by far more impressive, more beautiful and more meaningful than anything I've captured with my iPhone. But not every photograph needs to be a piece of art and that's where my iPhone comes in.

Some artists can create amazing work with a pen and ink, others need something more than that. Horses for courses.

0 upvotes
black pearl
By black pearl (11 months ago)

http://thattree.net

All iPhone

0 upvotes
CyberAngel
By CyberAngel (11 months ago)

Every release is more demanding on an older hardware.
This time I was expecting FHD screen, but nope.
Have to wait another year for iPhone 6+
I don't now if mono-CPU Android phones are Lagdroids,
but Apple is seriously lagging on features.
no OIS
no NFC
no FHD screen
no wireless charging, but does have a finger-off reader

0 upvotes
JadedGamer
By JadedGamer (11 months ago)

OIS: The 5S has sensor-shift stabilisation
NFC: Irrelevant, they use BTLE instead - check iBeacon
Wireless charging: Gimmick, there is a wire going to the slab you put your phone on

Might as well ask for 3D screen, not realizing there is a reason it was only present in that one LG model...

1 upvote
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (11 months ago)

"OIS: The 5S has sensor-shift stabilisation"

No, it doesn't. It has a multi-frame (software-only) gimmick, which is in no way as effective as a decent OIS module.

"Wireless charging: Gimmick"

Lolz... you definitley haven't ever tried any Qi chargers - otherwise, you wouldn't state such nonsense. It makes life so MUCH easier if you frequently pick up your device and want it to have full charge all the time...

2 upvotes
speculatrix
By speculatrix (11 months ago)

I implanted a Qi coil into my Samsung and have a Nokia charging plate at my desk at work. I can top up my phone if I've been using it a lot, and never need worry about wearing out the phone's socket again, or snagging the cable. Total cost about £28, or equiv US$42

1 upvote
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (11 months ago)

"I can top up my phone if I've been using it a lot, and never need worry about wearing out the phone's socket again, or snagging the cable."

Apple fanboys will still continue to state Qi is an useless gimmick... until their beloved Apple introduces Qi too. Then, it'll become indispensable for them ;-)

1 upvote
jcmarfilph
By jcmarfilph (11 months ago)

If it is just plain OS-crap updates and not hardware for camera such as big sensor( not a hair-size update from previous one), OIS, optical zoom and ergonomics then it is still not a decent device for photography.

7 upvotes
Tlipp
By Tlipp (11 months ago)

Right on! New interface, same old s--t.

3 upvotes
makofoto
By makofoto (11 months ago)

? You've apparently missed the pro work being done with iPhones. It's not the camera ... it's the photographer

4 upvotes
unknown member
By (unknown member) (11 months ago)

The iPhone 5S camera hardware has been updated. OIS and optical zoom takes up a lot space. The later ridiculous to expect on a phone that wants to remain looking like a phone. Ergonomics? What kind of camera ergonomics are your expecting in a phone?

0 upvotes
jcmarfilph
By jcmarfilph (11 months ago)

"? You've apparently missed the pro work being done with iPhones. It's not the camera ... it's the photographer"

Any Pontius Pilate photographer can shoot and try his best from this crappy phone, the composition will be good but the IQ is still a crap.

''The iPhone 5S camera hardware has been updated. OIS and optical zoom takes up a lot space. The later ridiculous to expect on a phone that wants to remain looking like a phone. Ergonomics? What kind of camera ergonomics are your expecting in a phone?"

Yes the hardware has been updated and that is good for the phone/browsing features. But for photography, this phone still has mediocre hardware (not even close) compared to Nokia Pureview phones. But if I want to be serious in my photography, I won't force myself into using this crap and just buy a travelzoom or any premium compact with much better features.

Comment edited 34 seconds after posting
1 upvote
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (11 months ago)

"But for photography, this phone still has mediocre hardware (not even close) compared to Nokia Pureview phones"

Yup, unfortunately (for Apple and their fans), this still is the case, even with the 5s - at least according to Engadget's test:

"First, let's tackle the camera's low-light performance. The shots we took with the 5s were consistently better than what we took with the 5: they were sharper, with finer details, more natural colors and far less noise. As you might expect, our daylight shots were roughly on par, though there were a few times when the 5s won out by a slight margin, offering just a little more detail. All told, the 5s plays in the same league as all those other flagships with a bigger emphasis on imaging. Even so, our sample shots still showed more noise and less detail than the same images taken with the Nokia Lumia 1020. "

Review at http://www.engadget.com/2013/09/17/iphone-5s-review/

1 upvote
alaskaman1919
By alaskaman1919 (11 months ago)

OK Photato...do you work for Apple? I didn't realize the IOS 7 was released...sure can't get it through ITunes or my settings.

0 upvotes
Photato
By Photato (11 months ago)

Apples servers are overloaded with download request. You either need to keep trying or wait until tomorrow.

0 upvotes
graybalanced
By graybalanced (11 months ago)

The iOS 7 rollout was staggered across time zones to distribute the load. Many users, including myself, got it this morning. I had to try a couple of times because of errors, and my iPhone saw it long before iTunes did.

But if you're patient, it will show up and you will get it. The only real problems are happening to people who for some reason need to have it very first thing and fight it out with millions of others doing the same thing. Anyone who can wait a few hours for a much better download experience, should.

0 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (11 months ago)

"Apples servers are overloaded with download request. You either need to keep trying or wait until tomorrow."

Downloaded - via desktop itpTunes - and installed in about half an hour on my iP5. No problem here.

0 upvotes
krmuir
By krmuir (11 months ago)

I look forward to similar articles when the next android, windows phone and blackberry operating system updates are released

2 upvotes
Optimal Prime
By Optimal Prime (11 months ago)

Keep dreaming.

1 upvote
Boissez
By Boissez (11 months ago)

The iPhones are the most popular devices on flickr and instagram. Thus it's not surprising that they get more coverage than less popular devices.

0 upvotes
unknown member
By (unknown member) (11 months ago)

What Android products in particular are you expecting to have similar articles for? Android serves far too many different manufacturers and model phones to expect that. Not a valid expectation.

Blackberry? Is that a joke?

0 upvotes
Impulses
By Impulses (11 months ago)

Well, Nexus devices usually usher in a new version of the core OS that other manufacturers then build upon... So sheer variety of choice isn't really an argument IMO... But Android's stock camera UI has never been anything special so there's not much reason to focus on it (no pun intended), and Android in general is far more open and organic as far as sharing or replacing core functionality thru third party apps, so it's kind of a different dynamic.

I'd usually be all for the "iOS news gets more page clicks" but I don't think this deserves that criticism... As far as WP, they're still working off a tiny share of the market and if you really care about photography and WP you'd be more interested in new Lumias (which Connect has covered a lot) than general OS updates.

0 upvotes
Photato
By Photato (11 months ago)

Just installed iOS 7.
Absolutely HATE! that the background for looking at pictures in the "Photos" app is RGB to the max, aka White!
This is bad to perceive contrast of content and also draws more power from battery.

A good thing though is that the KitCam app still works even though it was discontinued by Yahoo before the release of iOS7.

In general i feel the performance has slowed down. iOS6 felt faster.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
3 upvotes
graybalanced
By graybalanced (11 months ago)

White may not be ideal, but I don't think that judging content by contrast is really something that is vitally important for pictures taken on a smartphone.

Also many of us judged photos for years on the white backgrounds of normal photo printing paper.

Finally, there is NO cost in battery power for having an all white background. Maybe there would have been if the iPhone screen was OLED, but it isn't: The iPhone 5 screen is LCD. That means the backlight is the same power level whether you are viewing all white or all black.

4 upvotes
graybalanced
By graybalanced (11 months ago)

Also, if you are looking at a single photo and you tap it to go full screen, the background is black. So you can evaluate it on an all-black background if you like.

1 upvote
Mark Alan Thomas
By Mark Alan Thomas (11 months ago)

A neutral gray is better than black or white for gauging contrast and color.

2 upvotes
unknown member
By (unknown member) (11 months ago)

"That means the backlight is the same power level whether you are viewing all white or all black."

Actually it takes a bit more power to display black than white on an LCD.

1 upvote
Photato
By Photato (11 months ago)

@Graybaleanced. As long as is a shade of gray is fine as background to perceive color more accurately but this is no PAPER, is a SCREEN with black as its default color. iOS7 user interface is not skeuomorphic as previous iOS were, so no papers analogy is needed if they want to be consistent. White is harsh on the eyes with displays, white is blown highlights, the Sun at noon, a flash light aim at your eyes, etc. it is RGB at their maximum levels.
Given that iOS7 is a mobile OS power consumption is a key concern and the OS is and will be used in many other devices, not just iPhone5s that might use LED, OLED, etc

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (11 months ago)

1, IMHO, it was very silly of them to put the square setting in the main mode selector. Now, it takes a lot more time to switch between pano and video/photo modes. With iOS6, it was far faster. They should have put it in filters - at least on filter-capable handsets.

2, I'll re-run the very thorough video lossless zoom / 60 fps tests I've run during the beta and report back on whether the bugs have been ironed out in the final version of the 7.0.

1 upvote
Photato
By Photato (11 months ago)

Agree 100%. The Square format should have gone somewhere else.

1 upvote
caerphoto
By caerphoto (11 months ago)

"a lot more time" – do you switch between the two often enough for that to be an issue? And really, it's like half a second or less – you don't have to stop at each thing on the way; you can keep swiping to go from Video to Pano in one go. Sure, some of the animations in the rest of the OS could probably do with being faster (the wake from lock, for instance), since they're used much more often.

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (11 months ago)

"you don't have to stop at each thing on the way; you can keep swiping to go from Video to Pano in one go."

You're right - in the final version of iOS7 (just tested this on my iPhone 5), there's a pretty high area where you can swipe and, now, it indeed can be done quickly. In early iOS7 betas (the ones I based my initial remark on), it was really cumbersome to switch.

0 upvotes
Total comments: 71
About us
Sitemap
Connect