mobile photography technology, culture and community
www.dpreview.com

Image Quality and Performance

In terms of camera specification the Lumia 1520 is not quite on the same level as Nokia's current flasgship smartphone, the Lumia 1020. However, with its quad-core Snapdragon 800 processor the 1520 trumps the 1020 in terms of processing power. So it's no surprise the Nokia phablet feels very fast and responsive in general use, with the Windows tiles smoothly scrolling on the large screen. 

When it comes to camera operation though, the 1520 is a little more sluggish than some of the competitors. It takes around three seconds for the camera to open and be ready for a shot. At 1.5 seconds shot-to-shot times are significantly faster than on the Lumia 1020 but not as fast as on some of the Android competition or the latest iPhone.

Once you’ve got the Nokia Camera app fired up, focus acquisition is competitive but not as snappy as the best. As usual, it slows down in low light, but accuracy is maintained and focus errors are very rare. 

Daylight, Low ISO

Similar to the Lumia 1020 with its massive 38MP files and downsampled 5MP images it's not quite clear how to judge image quality from the 1520's camera. Should we look at the sensor's native resolution 20MP files or the downsampled 5MP versions? For many users both image sizes can make sense.

In a typical mobile photography scenario, where the image is edited and shared online, the smaller image will be large enough for pretty much any conceivable use case. However, occasionally you might want to print an image you've taken with the 1520. In that case having a 20MP file up your sleeve is definitely a good thing.  So, it really make sense to have a closer look at both versions of the 1520 images. 

ISO 100, 1/1404 sec, 5MP
ISO 100, 1/1404 sec, 20MP
100% crop
100% crop

It’s indisputable that the 1520 captures a very good amount of detail in good light. You'll find a lot of fine detail in the 20MP files when viewing them at a 100%, even in the corners of the frame. Only a slight softness becomes visible as you near the edges of the image. Some low-contrast detail is being smudged by noise reduction but the 1520 compares very well to its competitors in this respect. Some shadow noise is visible in the darker portions of the frame but it's not any worse than the competition.

ISO 100, 1/1060 sec, 5MP
ISO 100, 1/1060 sec, 20MP
100% crop
100% crop

In the 5MP file this noise is largely averaged out, creating a very clean image. Compared to the large version the loss in detail is not as significant as you would expect. Nokia appears to be applying some clever low-radius sharpening in the downsampling process and the end result looks detailed and crisp but not oversharpened. It's fair to say that there is more detail in the 1520's 5MP files than in some 8MP or even higher resolution images we have seen on other devices.

As it is common to most smartphones color and contrast are on the "punchy" side and there are no saturation or contrast controls to create a slightly more natural result. However, on the Lumia 1520 you can of process the DNG Raw files and adjust color and contrast to your taste, as we explain further down the page. Automatic white balance usually does an accurate job in most outdoor light situations.  

ISO 100, 1/50 sec, 5MP
ISO 100, 1/50 sec, 20MP
100% crop
100% crop

As in almost any smartphone camera dynamic range is limited and in high-contrast scenes blown highlights are a familiar sight. It's not any worse than on the competition though and, as we demonstrate further down the page, a small amount of highlight detail can be recovered when shooting and converting Raw files.

ISO 100, 1/235 sec, 5MP
ISO 100, 1/235 sec, 20MP
100% crop
100% crop

Low Light, High ISO

The Nokia Lumia 1520's very efficient image stabilization system means in low light you can capture images at lower sensitivities than some of the competition.  The stabilized lens corrects for camera shake to make 1/6 sec routinely usable and speeds as low as a 1/2 sec give good results with a solid shooting position, at least when shooting static scenes. 

ISO 400, 1/20 sec, 5MP
ISO 400, 1/20 sec, 20MP
100% crop
100% crop

However, even when the light conditions do require increased ISO levels the 1520 performs very well. The ISO range spans from 100 to 4000 although in Auto ISO mode you'll hardly ever see the camera go any higher than ISO 1600. This makes sense as up to this setting the Nokia produces very decent output. 

ISO 1000, 1/6 sec, 5MP
ISO 1000, 1/6 sec, 20MP
100% crop
100% crop

Color noise is very well under control across the ISO range and luminance noise reduction is less intrusive than what we've seen on other devices. It allows some grain in the full-scale image in return for some fine detail, even at higher settings. Overall, the 1520's noise reduction is one of the best balanced we've seen on a smartphone.

ISO 1600, 1/4 sec, 5MP
ISO 1600, 1/4 sec, 20MP
100% crop
100% crop

To get to the very highest settings you would typically have to switch to manual ISO. There is a lot of noise in those images and would probably only want to use them as a last resort. That said, it's great to at least have the option to shoot at such high sensitivities and while you would probably not use the 1520's ISO 3200 and 4000 files to produce a large-scale fine-art print they are more than usable for social sharing or simply capturing a memory. 

ISO 3200, 1/17th sec, 5MP
ISO 3200, 1/17th sec, 20MP
100% crop
100% crop

Flash

Unfortunately the Lumia 1520 does not come with the powerful Xenon flash of its sister model, the 1020. That said, the new model features a dual-LED flash which is one more LED than almost all competing devices. The 1520 still has to crank up the ISO for flash photography but the unit is powerful enough to illuminate even small groups more or less evenly. This cannot be said about most smartphone flashes. Color rendition is pretty natural, too and overall the Lumia 1520 offers one of the best flash modes we have seen on a smartphone.   

ISO 500, 1/15 sec
ISO 400, 1/14 sec

Raw Capture and Processing

The Nokia Lumia 1520 is the first smartphone to offer Raw capture as a standard feature. Just recently the function was also made available on the Lumia 1020 through the Nokia "Black" firmware update. Recording and processing Raw files allows you to adjust a number of shooting parameters, such as sharpening, saturation or contrast, post-capture. It's also possible (within limits) to modify exposure and adjust shadows and highlights. The 1520 records Raw files in Adobe's DNG format which can be processed by most Raw converters in the market.

The JPEG sample below had large clipped highlight areas in the sky. In Raw conversion with Adobe ACR 8.2 we tried to recover some of the lost highlight detail and also added some very fine sharpening for optimal detail. As you can see we partly succeeded in recovering some highlight detail but, not a surprise for a small sensor camera, the 1520 does not offer an awful lot of Raw "headroom". So don't expect to create HDR-like images out of one Raw file. There is also a tiny amount of extra detail in the converted image but you pay for it with more noise and grain. 

Overall you should not expect DSLR-like flexibility from shooting and processing the 1520's Raw files but the feature allows you to easily adjust the white balance and make minor exposure corrections on your favorite images after you have taken them. 

Out-of-camera JPEG, 20MP
Adobe ACR 8.2 DNG conversion, detail sharpening +35, highlights -53, all other settings default
100% crop
100% crop

Comments

Total comments: 95
JohnMcL7
By JohnMcL7 (2 months ago)

The Samsung Galaxy Note 3 has a 5.7 in screen rather than 5.5in which was the screen size of the Note 2.

I did consider the Nokia 1520 as the camera on the Z Ultra is very poor even for a phone camera but after trying out WP8 for a bit on the 925 I decided not to. There is a lot WP8 does well but the problem for me is the bits it doesn't do so well or you want to do differently, you largely cannot so some elements like the poor keyboard (compared to Swiftkey) you can't change.

0 upvotes
Sam_Oslo
By Sam_Oslo (2 months ago)

I have been having a lot fun with Lumia 1520's camera.

It works fine as long as you don't need fast focus, long lens and print quality.

I have been using it for landscape with good results. The 20Mp camera provides a good quality and high enough resolution for all kind of digital media, including 4k screens.

0 upvotes
Ben O Connor
By Ben O Connor (2 months ago)

What about windows 8.1 ?

I have a 1520 since last Xmas, and its an amazing piece of tech. Its really un-seperable piece o my daily life.

Will it be possible to update it to 8.1. ? There is no info on Finnish web page of Nokia yet...

0 upvotes
Sam_Oslo
By Sam_Oslo (2 months ago)

Yes, but WP 8.1 is not released yet.

Right now you can get the WP 8.1 Developer Preview and update your Lumia 1520, But you need a Developer Account for that. Otherwise you have to wait until the release WP 8.1.

0 upvotes
mykelhussy
By mykelhussy (4 months ago)

I have used Nokia Lumia 1520. Its a window Smart phone and its camera is not good and bad result. I don't like this phone. I have sell my Nokia Lumia 1520 to last week...

0 upvotes
Durri
By Durri (4 months ago)

Is rear camera glass on this phone scratsch proff? Thanks to info ;)

0 upvotes
Eidi
By Eidi (5 months ago)

I've this lumia 1520 last month. After 5 day.. It's got problem with the camera. I send to Nokia care..after 2 week my phone not return back. For me Nokia phone is very very bad..and also the after sales service is not competence to solve this problem fast. If I compare with iphone n Samsung..NOKIA arena bad.

1 upvote
silambu
By silambu (5 months ago)

Great device. I came across the comparison article from http://www.gadgetride.com/review/nokia-lumia-1520-vs-galaxy-note-3.html, the lumia 1520 has nice features and look.

0 upvotes
Interface Customization Soutions

Wireless charging?

0 upvotes
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (5 months ago)

yes, but only with an additional charging cover

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
JaccoW
By JaccoW (5 months ago)

Only in the U.S. you will need an additional cover. It's because At&t chose the PMA standard.
The version for the rest of the world has Qi wireless charging. It works really well on my Nokia Lumia 720 albeit with a charging cover. Red on Cyan baby!

0 upvotes
The Customer
By The Customer (5 months ago)

Pretty phone. Nice review. Good pictures. ^_^

4 upvotes
HappyVan
By HappyVan (5 months ago)

To be honest, I wouldn't depend on the phone for photos.

I would slip the Nikon AW110 into my other pocket. Its footprint is even smaller than my Sony Esperia S. It's rain and freeze proof, and comes with wifi.

You can even take semi-submerged shots of a flood. Of course, it has an optical zoom.

On a budget, there is the Nikon S32 $129.

Willing to carry a chunkier camera? There's the Nikon One cameras with PDAF and able to print a clean 18x12. The J1 kit is available for $249

0 upvotes
3DSimmon
By 3DSimmon (5 months ago)

I say why buy a compact camera when I have an awesome camera on my mobile phone.

6 upvotes
AndreSJ
By AndreSJ (5 months ago)

Because its not an 'awesome' camera its a below average quality but certainly capable one. you can get better quality by getting a compact camera but its up to the user if the benefits outweigh the disadvantages

Id always say get a small wifi camera

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
3 upvotes
TrojMacReady
By TrojMacReady (5 months ago)

But if you do't need the zoom, the Nokia is able to pull a lot more detail out of a scene than the AW110, which also lacks RAW. Plus saves you from filling up another pocket and/or switching between devices.

Comment edited 46 seconds after posting
3 upvotes
HappyVan
By HappyVan (5 months ago)

True. How often do you use the zoom in your MFT?

0 upvotes
halc
By halc (4 months ago)

@HappyVan

Nikon this, Nikon that. Just like a sub-par result producing cameras or are you paid to astroturf?

I have had tons of cameras, and shoot most of my "accidental" photos now on my main "always with me camera."

What's always with me? A smart phone.

What's not always with my? My pocket cams.

I could also start spamming this thread with Sony pocket cam information, but that would be digressing.

This is about smartphone photo performance, which has gotten respectable enough to be of use for the most of us.

You can go to the Nikon pocket cam forums to advertise....

0 upvotes
tom43
By tom43 (4 months ago)

I have two DSLRs and my Nokia Lumia 1520. If I need image quality, then I will take the D800E. For snapshots my Lumia is most time with me. There is no need for another P&S camera.

0 upvotes
white tea
By white tea (5 months ago)

I wonder why Nokia hasn't released standalone compact camera yet. With good sensors, oversampling technology and handy software for settings, it would be interesting camera, I suppose.
Especially if equipped with fast lens.
Hey Nokia what are you waiting for? You sold your smartfone department to MS, switch now to cameras!

1 upvote
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (5 months ago)

Probably because it wouldn't be a very smart business move :)

3 upvotes
halc
By halc (4 months ago)

They sold all the related people, tech & know how to MS along with the phone unit.

All they have left on the imaging side is some tech patents, and they'd rather just license those.

You may not have noted, but Nokia got it's bum handed to them by the markets. They are still licking their wounds.

Don't expect a re-entry to cam or phone business any time soon. They are now in B2B business.

Comment edited 30 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
Sergey Borachev
By Sergey Borachev (5 months ago)

No Android, no apps, no buy.

1 upvote
greenarcher02
By greenarcher02 (5 months ago)

Lol dumb. Do you need thousands of app half of which have malware? Every essential app on Android and iOS is practically on WP right now.

1 upvote
Misterio
By Misterio (5 months ago)

Half of essential apps and more of them are beta's

0 upvotes
BarnET
By BarnET (5 months ago)

And who wants Windows 8 on any device.
The camera of this phone is nice the OS is not.

3 upvotes
halc
By halc (4 months ago)

Unfortunately, I agree.

WP is an ecosystem wasteland. It's not a smartphone system, it's a feature phone system, almost as good as Symbian was at it's best.

A good camera does not a smartphone make.

Maybe with WP9 in 2015...

0 upvotes
vegastriguy
By vegastriguy (5 months ago)

I had this phone for about a week over Christmas....I like larger phones, was sort of bored with Android and decided to try this out....I was pretty satisfied with the general results but the phone was just to big to handle in quick situations. Ultimately, the Windows appstore is so limited I scurried back and got a Note 3 that I have been very happy with.

1 upvote
halc
By halc (4 months ago)

Yes, this is a huge phone! The screen is nice, but the size for a fully grown man like myself (6') is still too big to be lugged around daily.

0 upvotes
Misterio
By Misterio (5 months ago)

What is wrong with all lumia's video record? Why their video so shaky?

0 upvotes
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (5 months ago)

I actually think Nokia's IS is one of the best. Look at the last video on the video page, it was taken handheld. Looks pretty stable to me.

7 upvotes
Misterio
By Misterio (5 months ago)

Video from page 7 shaking around (like Parkinson's disease). No match for 5s and Z1 steady videos.

0 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (5 months ago)

Misterio, you mean the first one? (The other two are steady; the third may have been shot from a tripod, it's so steady.) While it indeed shows some annoying shaking, I bet it's still much better than the 5s or the Z1 footage would have been under exactly the same setup.

After all, Connect's own iPhone 5s review has concluded the electronic-only IS of the 5s, while certainly better than that of the iPhone 5, is in no way as efficient as the OIS of the Nokia 920. And I bet the 1520 has at least as efficient OIS as the 920.

2 upvotes
Misterio
By Misterio (5 months ago)

Video from 5s and Z1 shake-free. After them I can't watch video from lumia. Too shaky.

0 upvotes
Kaelis
By Kaelis (5 months ago)

Troll.

3 upvotes
MistyFog
By MistyFog (5 months ago)

@misterio
Are you sure you are not the one suffering from Parkinson's?

0 upvotes
Bervilat
By Bervilat (5 months ago)

No words on macro?

0 upvotes
HappyVan
By HappyVan (5 months ago)

Each system has its strengths and weaknesses. Play to its strength and avoid stressing its weaknesses.

A camera phone is mobile. FF may be the best for art pictures. Birding is best done with long telephoto lenses.

My experience is that macro is easiest done with lenses with nice manual focus control.

Each system has its natural strengths.

0 upvotes
Bervilat
By Bervilat (5 months ago)

Yes, one of the greatest strenghts of a phone's camera is that it can fit into places where no big camera (not even small point and shoots) can fit.
Having a close focus distance on the phone is a big plus for me and many more people.

0 upvotes
HappyVan
By HappyVan (5 months ago)

For Bervilat,

The Nikon AW110 has a smaller footprint than the Sony Experia S. And, the AW110 macro distance is according to B&H only Macro: 0.39" (1 cm) - Infinity .

Comment edited 4 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
TrojMacReady
By TrojMacReady (5 months ago)

But not many are leaving their phones at home when they bring the Nikon, which means that the AW110 just adds size to the existing phone.

1 upvote
HappyVan
By HappyVan (5 months ago)

Just put it in your other pocket. Balances out the phone.

0 upvotes
Noogy
By Noogy (5 months ago)

I own a Nokia 1520. It is an amazing smartphone, for its camera and for watching videos during my travels. I own three DSLRs (one FF, two cropped), one mirrorless camera and a Galaxy Note 3 - that I eventually gave my wife. All criticisms hurled at DPR for doing this and towards the device itself - I had to personally use the phone for a few hours before I decided to buy one. It fits my usage model (60-70% business which means lots of emails, editing native MS Office files and web surfing). It is great for instant photo opportunities with friends when I don't have my DSLR with me. It takes HD videos like a number of other smartphones. It excels at everything I want it to do. I will never be rich enough for a smartphone to be custom-built for me :) But after using the Nokia 1520 for a month now, it's the closest smartphone that ever came to that! Thanks DPR for this review!

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
8 upvotes
HappyVan
By HappyVan (5 months ago)

Don't take offence. No one said that the Nokia is a bad instrument. The issue I raised was whether DPR needs a separate mobility site, and to do 11 page reviews of just the camera.

0 upvotes
udris
By udris (5 months ago)

DPR has and did so why did you bother to read and participate against your own better judgement.

7 upvotes
Ben O Connor
By Ben O Connor (5 months ago)

For over 3years I used an android 2.3 media device ( Sony Walkman Z.) and a year ago, upgraded it to android 4... It was alright thing for music media games etc. And internet where WiFi available.

January 2 I got my first smartphone and its a black Lumia 1520. It is freaking fast, while my one cored android Walkman just loading things 1520 has already open them. Camera is enough to defeat my Sony cyber shot W150 (from 2008) and Olympus Xz-1 in daylight. It get very close to my e-pm1 (for landscapes and portraits). Camera interface is very well specified. Its physical shutter button can take two shots sometime, but its only adjusting issue I believe.

after all, since 2014 there is a category called phablet and it is REAL. You don't carry your tablet everytime, and your phone is not read friendly if its screen smaller than 5". Nokia has made a great device I can recommend it to all, who can afford.

last word; dear Nokia, check optional accessories what Sony and Samsung offers for their phablets, and produce similar/better stuff. I'll buy them.

5 upvotes
SergioMO
By SergioMO (5 months ago)

Note 3 with 4k video and Spen is a monster ! No WP

0 upvotes
Ben O Connor
By Ben O Connor (5 months ago)

So you got a 4k tv/screen to enjoy that footage to enjoy (else than your phone) otherwise Full HD is way enough above 400Hz for my taste on my 40" tv.

0 upvotes
TSGames
By TSGames (5 months ago)

I like the idea of 4K video since you can use a single frame of the footage as a whole image! You can also zoom in and have way more editing capabilities. I still don't get it why Canon/Nikon don't implement it into their DSLR, probably because they want to keep the market for "professional" videocams.

1 upvote
Juandante
By Juandante (5 months ago)

It is a bit more complicated, actual cameras don't have a DSP enough powerfull or power efficient to reccord high bitrate 4K videos. It was the same story for last 1080.

Time end of this year, even September, you will start to have mass 4K DSLR on the shelves.

Comment edited 37 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
Digital Suicide
By Digital Suicide (5 months ago)

It's just way too big. That repels many potential buyers, I think. Else is great.

0 upvotes
Alexis D
By Alexis D (5 months ago)

Who cares? It's still not an Android phone, and it definitely is not an iPhone. So?

5 upvotes
vladimir vanek
By vladimir vanek (4 months ago)

Yes, that's exactly why people care. It's NOT Android (thanks God) and it's NOT iPhone. ;)

0 upvotes
HappyVan
By HappyVan (5 months ago)

Cor Blimey!

All this effort to review a camera phone? Really?

Congratulations! You have just established which camera phone is best. But, are you buying a phone just for the camera?

Get real.

3 upvotes
MistyFog
By MistyFog (5 months ago)

Yes, I bought my phone for its camera. Do you have a problem with that?

17 upvotes
HappyVan
By HappyVan (5 months ago)

For Misty,

The problem is not why you bought the phone. The issue is why DPR is spending scarce resources on these camera phone reviews.

It's cool to be trendy. But will these reviews build readership? Are there not countless technical and mobility sites already doing full reviews (communications, apps and photographic)?

1 upvote
dougster1979
By dougster1979 (5 months ago)

90% of people who take photos use camera phones, silly DPR for trying to attract new readers!!

8 upvotes
Infms
By Infms (5 months ago)

DPReview is owned by Amazon.com so resources aren't exactly scarce.

And besides, this is the mobile photography section of DPReview so what else did you expect to find here?

4 upvotes
HappyVan
By HappyVan (5 months ago)

For dougster,

Actually, there was a hysterical thread in Open Talk Forum. Said that Canikon should make camera phones because that's where the customers were.

For Infrms,

I question whether DPR should have a Connect site. They are not experts on handphones. Don't offer a comprehensive analysis of handphones.

0 upvotes
udris
By udris (5 months ago)

happyvan texts while walking

3 upvotes
dougster1979
By dougster1979 (5 months ago)

"....Actually, there was a hysterical thread in Open Talk Forum. Said that Canikon should make camera phones because that's where the customers were."

Whats your point?

2 upvotes
vv50
By vv50 (5 months ago)

"I question whether DPR should have a Connect site. They are not experts on handphones. Don't offer a comprehensive analysis of handphones." - your statement, while true, is irrelevant. DPR reviews cameras in phones only, no one said they look at all "handphones". show us another website that provides an 11-page comprehensive analysis of a phone's camera, and then tell us if you still question Connect's existence.

2 upvotes
HappyVan
By HappyVan (5 months ago)

For dougster

Read this...

http://www.dpreview.com/forums/post/53052309

For w50,

Thing is that a short review with useful comments is enough for me.

http://www.techradar.com/us/reviews/phones/mobile-phones/nokia-lumia-1520-1191346/review/6#articleContent

http://reviews.cnet.com/smartphones/nokia-lumia-1520/4505-6452_7-35829228-2.html

0 upvotes
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (5 months ago)

Well, you get general info about phones from all those other sites, and a detailed analysis of the camera capabilities from us. What's bad about that? And what's a handphone? :)

6 upvotes
udris
By udris (5 months ago)

happyvan seems to have his knickers in a knot ..........

2 upvotes
HappyVan
By HappyVan (5 months ago)

Lars,

The other sites look pretty detailed and knowledgeable.

Here's the important thing. DPR has good access to the camera brands and a network of contacts in the camera industry. Does Connect have the same with the phone manufactures, apps developers and mobility pundits?

IMO, the exciting longer term development is large sensor compacts. Once the price comes down, it's going to be hot. You could be networking and reviewing Sony A7 and Nikon A. There's upward mobility there?

0 upvotes
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (5 months ago)

give me one site that looks at the camera in as much detail as we do, I'd be very interested to have a look at it. Of course our reviews are targeted at the consumers who have a special interest in the camera, everyone else is probably satisfied with what they read on the the phone sites.

And yes, we have good access to phone manufacturers and contacts within this sector. I have personally been working hard on that over the past couple of years and I'd like to think I did a good job :)

3 upvotes
HappyVan
By HappyVan (5 months ago)

Lars,

I like the insights offered by the CNET guy. Short and to the point.

http://reviews.cnet.com/smartphones/nokia-lumia-1520/4505-6452_7-35829228-2.html

"Nokia's deep investment in outrageous optics continues in the Lumia 1520. Like other Nokia phones, the 1520 uses Carl Zeiss Optics and the PureView technology that Nokia is associating with its brand. There are ball bearings for effective optical image stabilization, and a dual-LED flash instead of the Xenon flash found in both Verizon's Lumia 928 and in the Lumia 1020.

You'll also find a backside-illuminated sensor and a f/2.4 aperture, 16:9 default aspect ratio, and 26mm focal length."

0 upvotes
vv50
By vv50 (5 months ago)

"I like the insights offered by the CNET guy" - then people like you are grateful that there are sites that cater to your specific intellectual needs. the rest of the world should consider themselves lucky to receive your deep wisdom on how DPR is doing things wrong.

1 upvote
HappyVan
By HappyVan (5 months ago)

For W50,

There must be a minority who think that DPR can do no wrong! Hail Mary!

0 upvotes
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (5 months ago)

that quote could very well be from the press release. It's a list of specs, nothing else. If you buy your cameras based on specs only, then no, there's no need to read any reviews. If you want to know how the specs and PR blurb translate into real life camera performance, then I am confident our reviews are the best you can find.

3 upvotes
vv50
By vv50 (5 months ago)

"There must be a minority who think that DPR can do no wrong!" - way to go making another irrelevant assertion in an attempt to sidetrack people from watching how your unwarranted criticism gets easily dismantled

1 upvote
HappyVan
By HappyVan (5 months ago)

Lars,

I hope that you are right.

Anyway, I started a discussion at Open Talk Forum. Do join in and give us the DPR perspective.

I'm pleased that the discussion has proceeded in a civil manner so far.

0 upvotes
MistyFog
By MistyFog (5 months ago)

@HappyVan

There's far more people taking pictures with their phones than with their dedicated cameras. By an overwhelming margin. And that gap is only going to get bigger and wider. So I'd say dpreview has made a very astute business move to cover mobile photography and establishing itself in a growing market.

Who knows, perhaps one day the dedicated camera industry might even collapse to the point of being an extreme hobbyist market. When that happens perhaps I might comment at dpreview questioning why is it still wasting precious resources to cater for people like you? ;)

Oh that cnet article. I'd much rather trust DPReview on camera review. Not that they could do no wrong, but just reading both review articles you should know which one is more comprehensive and which one is superficial. Although cnet is fond of taking pictures of cute chicks, this is something dpreview really needs to work on.

0 upvotes
Horshack
By Horshack (5 months ago)

Raw support in a camera phone? The bell tolls for thee, P&S manufacturers.

2 upvotes
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (5 months ago)

Well, that bell tolled some time ago!

8 upvotes
jnd
By jnd (5 months ago)

What's the point of RAW from 1/2.5 sensor?

2 upvotes
TrojMacReady
By TrojMacReady (5 months ago)

The point is more control. It's like wondering what the benefit of RAW is on an APS-C camera shooting at say ISO 1600 to ISO 6400. Noise/detail control, access to fully custom curves, WB, etc.

Without RAW access (had to wait for LR support back then) on my 1/2.5" sensor FZ18, output was so much worse and more limited. Like a different camera.

And before the usual mantra enters, it can be rewarding/worth it for a phone camera too, because it's often the only camera that is always with you. Not every shot might need RAW or extra processing (time). Choice is good.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 12 minutes after posting
8 upvotes
Juandante
By Juandante (5 months ago)

Non sense.

If you go out and you find yourself having your phone as the only camera with you I don't thing you basically wanted to shoot in RAW, or you would have simply manage to bring your DSLR or dedicated camera.

Most of the time you take pictures with a phone is for unexpected moments, in wich case the picture will always be bad, RAW or not.

The only reason to shoot in RAW is when you are relax and want to take an artistic images, and any good photographer will prefer a real camera.

0 upvotes
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (5 months ago)

well, let's say you did not bring your SLR and come across the incredibly, unexpected photo opportunity. I'd love to have Raw on my phone then and be able to optimize the image at home.

11 upvotes
Sonyshine
By Sonyshine (5 months ago)

It would be an utterly brilliant phone if it ran Android....maybe it will now Microsoft has a new leader?

2 upvotes
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (5 months ago)

Any MS CEO putting a Google OS on their smartphone seems pretty wild thinking :)

6 upvotes
Sonyshine
By Sonyshine (5 months ago)

Maybe what Nokia needs to make a breakthrough is some wild thinking?

0 upvotes
halc
By halc (4 months ago)

@Lars Rehm

The deal is almost finished and MS mobile phone unit (ex-Nokia) _IS_ shipping 3 Android phones in Asia.

So...

0 upvotes
Alphoid
By Alphoid (5 months ago)

I wish the Nokia phones would dual-boot Android and Windows Phone. I'd totally buy one of these models if I wasn't taking a risk on Windows but had a choice.

Alternatively, I wish some Android manufacturer would release a reasonable competitor.

It's funny. It seems like Nokia is hampered by Windows (since otherwise, almost all photographers would buy Nokia), and Windows is hampered by Nokia (who doesn't make the best hardware otherwise). If Microsoft had a strategy of choice on all handsets, it would work better for all involved.

Heck, if I got an Android+Windows phone, I'd at least try Windows. If Windows was better (and I've never used it, so aside from knowing how badly Windows sucks elsewhere, I have no idea), I'd switch to Windows.

3 upvotes
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (5 months ago)

I actually think the Windows Phone OS works really well and the tile design is quite nice once you get used to it. It works especially well on the large screen of the 1520. It's really only the app availability that needs some improvement.

13 upvotes
YiannisPP
By YiannisPP (5 months ago)

It's sooooooo tiring listening the same thing over and over again "it's no Android, so we don't want it". Like listening to 10 yr old kids. At some point you might realise that the WP8 OS is just as good as any out there and actually feels more modern than the rest.

9 upvotes
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (5 months ago)

well, yeah it's not bad as an OS but no Snapseed, Pixlr, EyeEm not supported anymore, Instagram in beta etc etc just means that it's not as usueful a tool to mobile photographers, despite arguably the better hardware...which is a real shame.

0 upvotes
Ben O Connor
By Ben O Connor (5 months ago)

Fotor is a great and free app. Not a LR alternative maybe, but does many shinny/baby stuff as instagram does.

2 upvotes
Juandante
By Juandante (5 months ago)

It's sooooooo tiring listening the same thing over and over again "it is Windows Phone, why don't you try it". Like listening to 10 yr old kids. At some point you might realise that the Android OS is the most complete system out there and actually is more customizable than the rest.

Comment edited 42 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
BrunoH
By BrunoH (5 months ago)

"Android OS is the most complete system out there and actually is more customizable than the rest."

Really???

Do you really understand the difference between widgets and Live Tiles?

A family member wanted a smartphone and asked for the simplest one. She basically just wanted to speed dial her friends to start with...

On Windows Phone it was just a matter of uninstalling all the apps from the mobile operator (do that on Android!), then removing all live tiles from the start screen. Then we pinned her 10 favorite contacts to the start screen and finanlly added a manual Phone tile at the top. Presto, speed dial with built in functionality in seconds without downloading any apps.
She quickly learned then that the "magical" pinning button in all apps could create livet tiles from any info you have on your screen. Now she pins map locations, favorite songs and friends instagram feeds to her start screen. Again without need for downloading any extra widget apps...

0 upvotes
halc
By halc (4 months ago)

Tried WP8.1. Horrible lack of basic functionality starting from basic copy/paste functions down to having a usable browser on the device (no, IE sucks for power users). And MS is not going to change that, they are not even exposing the full API to 3rd party users to make a decent browser on it.

The bluetooth stack, don't get me started...

3rd party device support - zilch, zero, zippo.

And MS has stated that WP8 device will not be compatible (fully) with WP9 and that WP8.x phones mostly will not get an upgrade to WP9.

WP9 is in 2015.

MS already broke most the compatibility with WP7->WP8 transition.

It's not the lack of apps, or bad quality apps, it's the lack of direction, trustworthiness and support of WP as whole.

If MS doesn't change that, they have no chance of succeeding.

0 upvotes
michael2011
By michael2011 (5 months ago)

Surprised it performs noticeably better than other phones including iPhone 5S which has a similarly sized sensor. My wife wants this phone and I now have no reservation recommending this.

Looking forward to your review on 1020's RAW capability...

BTW, your link to "Page 8: Image Quality Comparison (Bright Light" (and subsequent ones) takes me to a wrong page.

4 upvotes
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (5 months ago)

thanks, fixed it.

You must be one of the three people following me on twitter :)

3 upvotes
Bilgy_no1
By Bilgy_no1 (3 months ago)

Actually, the sensor in the iPhone is not the same size as in the Nokia: 1/3" vs 1/2.5". Not a huge difference, but still the Nokia is capturing more light with its bigger sensor.

0 upvotes
Total comments: 95
About us
Sitemap
Connect