mobile photography technology, culture and community
www.dpreview.com

Nokia sends National Geographic photog into the American West with a Lumia 1020

145
Stephen Alvarez used a Lumia 1020 to take photos from Utah to Arizona.

Sometimes, a PR stunt can be pretty cool. Nokia sent National Geographic photographer Stephen Alvarez into the American West to take photos with its latest flagship phone, the Lumia 1020. With a 41MP camera outputting maximum file sizes of 34MP to 38MP (depending on aspect ratio), the Lumia 1020 captured canyons in grand style.

Check out more of Alvarez's shots below and click on the photos to open them in their massive full-resolution.

Comments

Total comments: 145
12
billybones1918
By billybones1918 (8 months ago)

aaaaaaawesome!!!!!

0 upvotes
stevo23
By stevo23 (8 months ago)

Certainly a novel thing. But I'm not sure all those pixels are actually doing much on such a tiny sensor other than broadcasting noise.

3 upvotes
howardroark
By howardroark (8 months ago)

If Mario Andretti drove somewhere in a Civic would there have been an article about it?

10 upvotes
Jim Radcliffe
By Jim Radcliffe (8 months ago)

Of course the best car to drive is the one you have the keys to.

3 upvotes
Rad Encarnacion
By Rad Encarnacion (8 months ago)

Not sure about Andretti, but back in 2007 there were a handful of articles about Michael Schumacher driving a taxi.

2 upvotes
DVT80111
By DVT80111 (8 months ago)

How many pictures can they take with the camera before running out memory? Duh

2 upvotes
ConanFuji
By ConanFuji (8 months ago)

The Micro SD cards comes in a capacity of 8Gb, 16Gb, 32Gb and 64Gb. What's the problem?

0 upvotes
CyberAngel
By CyberAngel (8 months ago)

There is no uSD card...

5 upvotes
LarH
By LarH (8 months ago)

Yes, the lack of a micro SD card is a deal killer on that phone.

1 upvote
VisualFX
By VisualFX (8 months ago)

Very noisy and blurry when pixel peeping. Lacks a lot of detail.

9 upvotes
sportyaccordy
By sportyaccordy (8 months ago)

Yea I was going to say... I'm no pixel peeper, but blowing these up to 100% begs the question "was it really worth it"

I'd rather trade 30-35 million of those pixels for 4-5 stops of speed.

1 upvote
RichRMA
By RichRMA (8 months ago)

Honestly? It looks like they uprezed an 8-12MP image to get those results.

5 upvotes
rrccad
By rrccad (8 months ago)

pretty sweet .. you could easily get some printable 12x18's out of that .. which from a camera phone is pretty remarkable.

certianly elevates a camera phone above the facebook / instamatic shots into a tool that could be useful in the right hands.

4 upvotes
CameraCarl
By CameraCarl (8 months ago)

Remarkable... somehow he got sensor dust on the cycle jumping photo and there was so much camera shake in the nighttime photo that I would have deleted it had I taken it myself.

2 upvotes
CameraLabTester
By CameraLabTester (8 months ago)

All of these "using this gadget, to get this assignment" thing is just plain PROPAGANDA for the gear in use.

It is getting so common for companies to use this avenue of advertising and awareness that is is just PLAIN BORING.

Come up with new ideas to promote your products, dudes!

.

15 upvotes
Suave
By Suave (8 months ago)

product placement is the word

0 upvotes
graybalanced
By graybalanced (8 months ago)

Very nice work (I don't care if the camera is on a phone, it's still a camera), but if one more landscape photographer posts a pic of Horseshoe Bend I'm gonna scream. It seems to be the Eiffel Tower for landscape photographers...

1 upvote
stevo23
By stevo23 (8 months ago)

Oh hell yes. I'm so tired of it.

1 upvote
Johnsonj
By Johnsonj (8 months ago)

Good stuff! Haters will always hate. What matters is the 8x10 or the cropped 6x9.

6 upvotes
Alex Efimoff
By Alex Efimoff (8 months ago)

I reckon shots taken with Pureview 808 have better quality.

3 upvotes
Joe Ogiba
By Joe Ogiba (8 months ago)

I agree.
http://www.flickr.com/search/?q=Nokia+808&s=int

1 upvote
CyberAngel
By CyberAngel (8 months ago)

You mean the Nokia 808 Pureview WITHOUT *any* software patches ???

0 upvotes
Alex Efimoff
By Alex Efimoff (8 months ago)

That's right, without any patches. You can use Camera Pro as well.

1 upvote
MDuerr
By MDuerr (8 months ago)

As far as I have seen images from the 1020 I agree. I wish I would have the onscreen adjustments for the camera as with the 1020, but I'm sure the image quality of the 808 is better.

1 upvote
Mssimo
By Mssimo (8 months ago)

Next up someone will attempt to use a brush and different color oils on canvas.

3 upvotes
Houseqatz
By Houseqatz (8 months ago)

balderdash.. people will do no such thing, that would require thinking for one's self ~_^

1 upvote
MarioV
By MarioV (8 months ago)

These are great photos regardless of what was used to capture them.
Its always amusing and sad to see the "experts" come out with their 2 cents to find reason to complain or compare as if they have some need to feel superior.
Enjoy life. Be happy.

16 upvotes
M Jesper
By M Jesper (8 months ago)

Except that this is ABOUT the camera, you're confusing travel photos of a friend with what are literally supposed to be image samples of the best it can do.

Superior ? Seriously ? Who's the one telling everybody else how sad they are for judging a camera on a frekking camera judging website.

When i'm done judging what i want or need OBJECTIVELY, as i believe equipment does not have feelings, then sure i'll enjoy life, hell i'm enjoying it now, but you feel free to browse some more of these instagrams.

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
1 upvote
ecm
By ecm (8 months ago)

They ARE great photos.... at the 3X5" resolution they're shown in this article. If I wanted to actually print one of those photos at a reasonably size for display - life would not be happy. At all.

If that's all you want then yes, snap away with your iphone or whatever and be happy; I've gotten some surprisingly good photos with my Nexus 4. But if vacation snaps were all I wanted I'd not bother spending time at a website like DPR....

0 upvotes
Rage Joe
By Rage Joe (8 months ago)

Funny how some serious... photographers just hate it what can be done with these Nokia's flagship cameraphones. I just love it!
And them.

:rj

7 upvotes
cpehaot
By cpehaot (8 months ago)

trying to catch up in the PHONE market with a CAMERA! and lets not talk about the camera...

0 upvotes
ecm
By ecm (8 months ago)

I'm sorry, but.... you've got the right time, the right light and the right location.... however, clearly, you have the wrong tool for the job.

5 upvotes
FoveonPureView
By FoveonPureView (8 months ago)

They should have also sent another guy off on the tour with a Nokia 808 PureView, which, using the awesome symbian app Camera Pro, would have been able to produce full res 41.48 megapixel jpeg output at jpeg q100%!

3 upvotes
jcmarfilph
By jcmarfilph (8 months ago)

And another guy with iPhone. Now post the result side-by-side with iPhone upscaled to 41MP or Nokia downscaled to 8MP.

4 upvotes
Mark McCormick
By Mark McCormick (8 months ago)

Seriously, this was maybe newsworthy at the beginning of the smartphone era a few years ago. But today? Almost everyone understands that smart phones have real camera credentials. We get it. Is this news worthy any longer?

1 upvote
Total comments: 145
12
About us
Sitemap
Connect