mobile photography technology, culture and community
www.dpreview.com

Adobe launches Lightroom for iPad

132

Adobe has launched Lightroom mobile for Apple's iPad as a companion app to the Lightroom desktop application. The app offers many of same image editing and organizing functions found on the desktop version. It also uses cloud technology to synchronize your edits across various devices with the image catalog on your desktop computer. Lightroom mobile includes the following tools:

  • Synchronization of mobile edits, metadata and collection changes back to the Lightroom catalog on a Mac or Windows computer. 
  • Automatic import of images captured on an iPad and sync back to a Lightroom catalog on the desktop. 
  • Offline-editing of images.  
  • Synchronization of photos between Lightroom 5 and Lightroom mobile - synced photos can also be viewed from any Web browser.

Download and installation of Lightroom mobile on the iPad are free but you need a subscription to Adobe's Creative Cloud service for it to work. Currently the most appealing subscription package for photographers is the Photoshop Photography Program which is $9.99 per month in the U.S. and includes Lightroom 5, Photoshop CC, Lightroom mobile, a portfolio site and 20GB of cloud storage.  

To use Lightroom mobile you'll need an iPad 2 or newer running iOS7 and the latest version of the desktop software (5.4) installed on your Mac or PC. You can find more information about the new app and instructional videos on the Photoshop Blog and Adobe website.


  

Comments

Total comments: 132
bawbaw
By bawbaw (3 months ago)

Perfect.

It's all you need on a tablet for true professional workflow. Which is what Adobe has and always will be about.

That fact sadly is what most people always forget when they start bitching about said company and pricing.

2 upvotes
cheptan
By cheptan (3 months ago)

i'm from romania, i'm poor and dont have your $$$$$
cs 6 in romania is 900Euro way over priced
but no i have both for 11Euro/month
we have less then 500$ average wage
so stop complaining about that

0 upvotes
Kodachrome200
By Kodachrome200 (3 months ago)

The #1 reason i bought the iPad was to have an easy way to show people especially clients and potential clients images on the retina display. This is a absolutley beautiful way to make that easy. i love it

3 upvotes
smatty
By smatty (3 months ago)

And the camera connection kit allows you to upload your photos directly to the iPad and show photos to your clients. And there are even some very nice Portfolio apps to arrange them into projects and look pretty for less than $5. And you get to keep the app without having to renew anything ;)

1 upvote
Kodachrome200
By Kodachrome200 (3 months ago)

Lightroom is more hassle free then the way i was doing it before. cloud syncing with my catalog works beautifully. I already have the ability to trasmit preiews for a client wirelessly as soon as i shoot them. thats a different function. lightroom allows me to send work to my tablet directly from lightroom catlaog. and its big enough for the retina display and the client can even zoom on it. all with one click. easiest way i have ever had to share work. its free with photoshop for photographers subscrition witch is the cheapest way to get photoshop and lightroom

0 upvotes
Tom Marshall
By Tom Marshall (3 months ago)

Cheapest way to get it, not cheapest way to keep it.

1 upvote
Kodachrome200
By Kodachrome200 (3 months ago)

it would take years and never upgrading to get it cheaper by buying the stand alone

0 upvotes
Tom Marshall
By Tom Marshall (3 months ago)

True. But not as long as you might think. Using today's rates, $120 x 5 years = 1 stand alone. That's the first five years (assuming no upgrade). Lots of folks (me included) upgrade only once every 5 years. Every 5 years the subscription costs you $120 x 5 = $600, while an upgrade costs me $200 (again, using today's rates). In perpetuity, every five years it's three times as expensive to rent vs own. Doesn't take long for me to cover my initial investment at this rate. And when (not if) Adobe ups the rent, you opt out and you have no software. I can just keep my 5-year old copy and keep working if I decide it's too expensive to upgrade.

1 upvote
Kodachrome200
By Kodachrome200 (3 months ago)

well like it or not adobe nolonger allows 5 years between upgrades. also you did not price lightroom in there. I bet just about everyone buy every lightroom upgrade still. Lightroom and a coupl upgrades for it are going to add 2 and half years. witch means 7.5 years and you are probably going to upgrade lightroom and ps then so will bring you to 9 years and probably by then atleast one more lightroom upgrade so will call it an even decade.

10 years to break even

And your photoshop may not open your camera raw files. lightroom wont be able to open directly into photoshop with out making a tif file you may not need and you wont have this nifty program for your mobile

I know everyone wants to be upset about this but honestly it stopped being something to be upset about so long as they keep doing this program its cheaper for goodness sake its to your benefit.

and not for nothing but new ps licenses were $699 to my knowlege

1 upvote
Tom Marshall
By Tom Marshall (3 months ago)

No matter how you do the math, in the long-run, it's going to be more expensive to rent vs own. But this is all academic, as it will be impossible to own once your computer requires a new OS and legacy copies of PS are no longer supported. Everyone will eventually be forced into the subscription model.

For new adopters, they save the big up-front expense so it appears to be a bargain early on. For long-time customers, it costs more money immediately. I own both PS and LR and if allowed to continue my pattern of upgrading infrequently, I'm paying less than $120/year. And $10/month could easily double in year two. Or go up more in subsequent years. If you opt out you have nothing.

You're hearing all these complaints for a reason - the pricing change benefits Adobe to the detriment of the customer. Tim Grey makes his living largely from Adobe's customer base. You'd think with that dependency he'd have nothing but good things to say about Adobe's new subscription model...

1 upvote
Kodachrome200
By Kodachrome200 (3 months ago)

over your lifetime you might save a few bucks but honestly this cost what a visit to subway once a month cost. also there is a value to having the money now. It takes to long to break even to fuss over this amount of money. It might take as long as like 15 year before you save an appreciable amount of money. ITs a silly thing to be worried about

0 upvotes
PhotoFred
By PhotoFred (3 months ago)

There's nothing silly about wanting to own a license rather than rent one. That way I am in charge of when and if I choose to upgrade or discontinue use. If I stop paying for CC LR it stops working whereas, for instance, my old copy of LR4 is just fine. We all have been over this CC debate before but I will NOT join the subscription scheme until I have absolutely no other option. And there are ALWAYS other options.

1 upvote
3DSimmon
By 3DSimmon (3 months ago)

Looks like android and Windows tablet users on the Photoshop photography program are due for a discount then.

0 upvotes
chuck1856
By chuck1856 (3 months ago)

Not currently subscribed and don't see this compelling me to subscribe in it's current incarnation. (and I'm on CS6/LR3...so pretty ready to update LR).

However I am *generally* very interested in something that allows me to do first-pass editing away from the desk and on the couch/plane/train. For me, that would be much LESS about actual image edits (which are dubious with non-calibrated screen) and much MORE about metadata and file type items.

So not being able to do ratings, keywords, or captioning are glaring commissions in my opinion. In my purely-anecdotal research, somewhere around half of LR users do their *primary* "culling" with stars (not flags).

Having said that, it's all but certain that this is just the first stable release and additional features and functions will come.

4 upvotes
Fergus Hammond
By Fergus Hammond (3 months ago)

You're spot on: this is a 1.0 release and we're eager to get feedback on the product and how you'd like to see it improved:

http://feedback.photoshop.com/photoshop_family

My use case is similar to yours: doing a first-pass edit without having to sit at a computer.

0 upvotes
stratplaya
By stratplaya (3 months ago)

At first I was skeptical of this business model from Adobe, but now I like it. Before the cloud I just couldn't see myself buying the full Photoshop product for $600 or so when something new would be out next year. Now for $12 a month I get PS CC and Lightroom 5.

I think that's a good deal.

3 upvotes
Svetoslav Popov
By Svetoslav Popov (3 months ago)

You are not thinking ahead, brother (i like strats too :)
In a couple of years you could be coursing your decision.

4 upvotes
Hclarkx
By Hclarkx (3 months ago)

Or not. Adobe has a growing LR+PS CC following to keep happy.

0 upvotes
BaldCol
By BaldCol (3 months ago)

So far 99 comments (not including this one) of which 69 are about the rights and wrongs of CC and only 30 are about the product itself.
Maybe DPR could start a new Forum "People that want to bitch about Adobe" then users that want to talk about the product won't get scared off by the "It's subscription therefore it's bad" crowd.

5 upvotes
Smeggypants
By Smeggypants (3 months ago)

and another forum for "people that want to bitch about people bitching about Adobe"

6 upvotes
BaldCol
By BaldCol (3 months ago)

I'll be there :-)

0 upvotes
Tom Marshall
By Tom Marshall (3 months ago)

2/3 is a compelling ratio. Maybe the majority is on to something. Adobe strongly implied that non-subscribers to CC would not be left out regarding Lightroom. That LR would continue to be software one can purchase. Now Mobil LR debuts with a subscription requirement. Adobe continues their double-speak and long-time customers of Adobe are understandably angry.

2 upvotes
stern
By stern (3 months ago)

Oh, yet another Adobe subscription app that calls home every week or month plus a dear USD 100,- per year... You may count me out. NO, THANKYOU.

9 upvotes
Slynky
By Slynky (3 months ago)

Hehe, imagine everyone's surprise after they are hooked into cloud storage, subscription services, monthly payments/updates, etc. and the internet access providers all decide to collectively start charging by the GB (instead of unlimited internet access).

ALL of this "repackaging" into monthly payments by various companies is nothing more than a disguised price-hike that also gives companies a more steady money flow.

3 upvotes
Hclarkx
By Hclarkx (3 months ago)

As long as the money flow is not excessive and light users pay less, this seems reasonable. My provider already limits me to 300GB and hits me with a reasonable charge if I go over. Verizon does the same on my smart phone.

0 upvotes
marco roman
By marco roman (3 months ago)

My view of an ipad app is different from that. I would be happy if there was an app to rate the photos, with stars and everything, so when I get to the computer I'll do editing on my selections, already organized and tagged.
To link this app to CC automatically writes it off for me.
Anyway, I am an aperture user, and I am waiting for an update (long overdue) and a matching ipad app. So surprised it didn't happen yet. Feels like apple is not that connected to photography, or arts, after Jobs' passing.

0 upvotes
ChrisSwiss
By ChrisSwiss (3 months ago)

There are other such apps, such as Photosmith. I believe the folks there really tried to make a useful product, but it seems they failed because of limitations introduced by Apple and Adobe in their respective products.

0 upvotes
smatty
By smatty (3 months ago)

The CC renting software discussion aside, what serious photographer would really use an iPad to integrate a photo workflow?
We have color calibrated and profiled monitors and printes (labs) to get a consisten color and contrast results and now we want to trust an unpfofiled iPad display???

I got a replacement unit from Apple the other day and held my old and new (replacement) unit next to each other inside the Apple store. The new display was at least 800 kelvin warmer than the old one! This will seriously flaw your results when the file is loaded back to your Mac.

To me LR for iOS is a more of a toy than a serious solution.

7 upvotes
Fergus Hammond
By Fergus Hammond (3 months ago)

Lightroom mobile isn't supposed to replace the desktop version. While I also have a color calibrated desktop system, I find Lightroom mobile useful for a first pass on a shoot. It gives me the ability to do something on an iPad that before I had to do in front of a computer.

1 upvote
Hclarkx
By Hclarkx (3 months ago)

I agree. I"m still on a laptop when on the road, but for what I do on it, a tablet would do as well. But it would need to be an Android tablet. Hopefully that version is not far off.

0 upvotes
five5pho
By five5pho (3 months ago)

also, other than advertisisng photographers, which wedding photographer would actually like to edit along with their clients?? It doesn't look like an actual scenario to me..My artistic edits is my decision and not my clients.

1 upvote
Danny
By Danny (3 months ago)

Say NO! to CC.

11 upvotes
neverperfectpics
By neverperfectpics (3 months ago)

I just downloaded lightroom mobile. I bought Lightroom 5 a while ago. I'm pretty sure mobile is working for me. You need a creative cloud account, and not a paid subscription as long as you own lightroom and have it registered to your creative cloud account. Unless I am getting some type of trial for a few days (which I don't think I am).

you guys agree with this or am I missing something?

0 upvotes
neverperfectpics
By neverperfectpics (3 months ago)

Yup, it's 30 day free trial. Just read the email after I signed up. Apparently OWNING lightroom 5 is not enough.

0 upvotes
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (3 months ago)

no, that's why we say it in the article

2 upvotes
rickpoole
By rickpoole (3 months ago)

Right now I spend a average of $40/yr on photo software. Switching to CC would more than triple that amount. More than I'd care to spend but not outrageous. But, with the prospect that if I choose to end my subscription my software will stop working rather than just stop updating it is and always will be a no go - regardless of the price.

12 upvotes
String
By String (3 months ago)

And that is your choice. If you are happy with it, why are you complaining?

0 upvotes
Mark Alan Thomas
By Mark Alan Thomas (3 months ago)

That didn’t sound like a complaint to me; rather, a statement. However, if Adobe persists and is successful, others may follow, and that will threaten his (and your) ability to choose.

10 upvotes
stern
By stern (3 months ago)

"are you complaining?"
- I am complaining (and I hope many others too) to make these companies understand that they are doing something wrong. Besides, complaining about subscription schemes for ordinary software (highway robbery that is) might stop others heading downhill to a place called customer harrasment.

0 upvotes
Hclarkx
By Hclarkx (3 months ago)

Or you could export your LR library to TIFF with edits applied and simply load them into whatever software you choose to replace LR+PS CC with.

0 upvotes
String
By String (3 months ago)

So half the names on here bitching about Adobe have no issue giving Canikon $2000 plus every time a new camera comes out but balk at subscribing to the most powerful/useful software out there at $10/month?

Unbelievable...

3 upvotes
Mark Alan Thomas
By Mark Alan Thomas (3 months ago)

“Canikon” won’t turn off your old camera if you don’t buy a new one.

25 upvotes
String
By String (3 months ago)

While $2000 will buy me 20yrs of PS/LR

4 upvotes
smatty
By smatty (3 months ago)

$99 bought me a non time restricted version of LR.

5 upvotes
Mark B.
By Mark B. (3 months ago)

Canon isn't forcing me to buy a new camera with every upgrade. I can skip one, two, or however many I want while my existing camera still works. Skip a payment with Adobe and the software ceases to operate.

9 upvotes
stern
By stern (3 months ago)

Look, I paid 99,- for DXO Optics. My first choice would have been LR, but due to the (obviously) upcoming subscription model I looked elsewhere, Why should I pay 300,- in 3 years, 400,- in 4 years and so on when I can have a similarily powerful tool for 99,- for as long as I want to use it? DXO is even more powerful in some respects than LR; and lags behind in other fileds, i.e. image organizer; but hey, what does an image organizer cost? Some of the best are freeware or shareware...). I am still using Adobe Bridge to manage my image library (must be some 5 years old or even older, still works for me WITHOUT monthly payments).

Comment edited 60 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
Tom Marshall
By Tom Marshall (3 months ago)

$2000 will buy you 16 yrs of PS/LR. And good luck on that price staying the same for 16 years.

0 upvotes
raztec
By raztec (3 months ago)

Adobe will die with their subscription service.

9 upvotes
Vince P
By Vince P (3 months ago)

Adobe is worth 18 Billion and their share price has doubled since they launched the subscription service. So reports of their death may be premature.

6 upvotes
Mark Alan Thomas
By Mark Alan Thomas (3 months ago)

Share price is one thing, but didn’t their profit get cut in half?

1 upvote
mumintroll
By mumintroll (3 months ago)

Vince P. Adobe still live from their old products. Wait a year or two. Then we see. Also adobe lowering prices for subscription. They luring people.

5 upvotes
JadedGamer
By JadedGamer (3 months ago)

Vince P, a company cannot pay its expenses using "share price". It's perfectly possible for a company with an insanely high stockmarket value to go bust - it happens quite frequently, e.g. the dotcom busts back in 2000-2001.

0 upvotes
RichRMA
By RichRMA (3 months ago)

Rental/service economy envelopes the U.S. No more permanent ownership. Pretty soon, you'll be renting cameras. What does it mean? Nothing, except they can withdrawn, change, hobble whatever product it is whenever they feel like it.

5 upvotes
Rockaw
By Rockaw (3 months ago)

Good first effort. It needs to have a setting to let me sync to folders in addition to the current sync to collections feature.

0 upvotes
BaldCol
By BaldCol (3 months ago)

Do you know you can make a folder into a collection by clicking on it in the folders list and dragging it into collections.
Might not solve your problem but something I only learned yesterday.

0 upvotes
Retzius
By Retzius (3 months ago)

Folks will gripe and moan about a developer charging $40 a year to give them a web based app with seamless photo editing integration across platforms but then go out for dinner and blow $50 for a couple burgers and beers and think nothing of it...

3 upvotes
Horshack
By Horshack (3 months ago)

True, but then again a burger doesn't keep coming back asking for more money after you've eaten it.

24 upvotes
graybalanced
By graybalanced (3 months ago)

I dislike subscriptions, but it is definitely interesting that folks who will happily pay $7.99/mo just to watch TV on Netflix will balk at $9.99/mo for serious pro level photo tools.

And then spend $10 on a cocktail that lasts for a few minutes, at the bar down the road.

3 upvotes
lenseye
By lenseye (3 months ago)

You don't seem to get it! people pay $7.99 a month and if they don't they can watch TV somewhere else. With Adobe if you discontinue your service you lose all the photos you've worked on, all you'll be left with are your RAW files to work on from scratch ... is this really too difficult to digest?

4 upvotes
String
By String (3 months ago)

How on earth do you lose all your photos? Is all you are saving are raw files? No tif or jpegs? Thats not an Abode issue, that's a user issue. Bitch more please.

2 upvotes
PStu
By PStu (3 months ago)

@lenseye: Before you quit the subscription, export everything as TIFs or JPEGs and you have your final versions as well as the original RAWs. This has me thinking seriously about an iPad, which will cost the equivalent of more than 3 years of my subscription.

2 upvotes
graybalanced
By graybalanced (3 months ago)

You might not even have to export anything. Even the free Preview app on my Mac can open PSDs and TIFFs, and innumerable other programs can open the RAWs.

0 upvotes
lenseye
By lenseye (1 month ago)

@String
Adobe is just a catalog of what you've done with your photos. Of course you're not going to lose your RAW files but the real value is what you've done with them over time! Yes, you can export them but that's not nearly enough. You won't be able to make any changes since you don't have your catalog any more. Unless you want to start from scratch again!

0 upvotes
Rage Joe
By Rage Joe (3 months ago)

Adobe. Too bad.

3 upvotes
ChrisKramer1
By ChrisKramer1 (3 months ago)

I need to lease Office 365 for work. That's expensive enough (but pretty damned good actually), so bye bye to LR and CC and my hobby. What a shame.

Comment edited 44 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
Glen Barrington
By Glen Barrington (3 months ago)

You are giving up your hobby just because Adobe has gone commando? Sorry man, but that's nuts. There are WAY too many quality alternatives to the Adobe products to make giving up photography possible.

Well, on second thought, if your hobby is BUYING Adobe products, I guess you are finished.

10 upvotes
esmu urdis
By esmu urdis (3 months ago)

It really does not bring that much to the ipad Leonardo, Laminar cover very similar ground without the extra cloud hassle though their interface is not as user friendly.
Lots of ipad users don't even use a computer...............

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
LensElf
By LensElf (3 months ago)

I was really hoping for a one time payment for this app. I don't use LR on desktop, but might be a user on iPad, but not at this price, since I don't do raws too often...
So, I guess Adobe wouldnt want my one time payment of e.g. $15 or whatever for just tablet use.

2 upvotes
Stu 5
By Stu 5 (3 months ago)

Try reading up about it fully. You need to have the desktop version as well as that is where the Raw versions are stored. So pointless moaning that you would not be willing to pay the price for the iPad version when it will not work on its own anyway.

1 upvote
LensElf
By LensElf (3 months ago)

My bad; I should´ve of course included that I was hoping that Adobe released this as a stand alone app for iPad.
I was indeed waiting for Adobe to release this app, but it was not what i was hoping for.

I´ve got other apps as well that does raw on my iPad, and was expecting something else from Adobe.

0 upvotes
FinDERP
By FinDERP (3 months ago)

Cloud technology AKA the internet

0 upvotes
Mark Alan Thomas
By Mark Alan Thomas (3 months ago)

“Internet” only implies that computers are interconnected, not that your data must be stored on a remote server, or accessible via subscription.

1 upvote
Impulses
By Impulses (3 months ago)

I don't have much of a problem with a cloud model or cloud services being offered as a subset of LR, Adobe's shaky security practices notwithstanding... But the price has gotta be right. It'd cost me $80 every year to upgrade LR, so for $40 more per year this isn't worth it to ME (nevermind that I'd have to wait for Android support anyway).

Sure it includes PS, but I'm fine with PS Elements, which I only upgrade every other year (and can be found as low as $80, even bundled with Premier for that price). I don't need LR to import some photos unto my tablet for browsing or even to play around with the RAW files a bit, there's already apps for that on Android.

Catalog sync and 20GB of cloud storage would be nice, but not at $40 more per year. Specially when I already have 45GB on Dropbox and 25GB on Skydrive & Goggle Drive for free (thru various offers & promos), plus 50GB on Amazon for much less... Adobe's gotta up their storage game or lower prices to convince me. I imagine 20GB would be worthless to pros too.

2 upvotes
Jogger
By Jogger (3 months ago)

If $40/yr is a deal breaker for you then this product is not geared towards you. This is for people who make money off of photography, $40/yr for what is essentially a mobile companion app. that will improve their workflow, save them time, and allow them to make more money.

1 upvote
Mark Alan Thomas
By Mark Alan Thomas (3 months ago)

Only targeting those photographers who make money off photography would rule out most of Adobe’s customers.

3 upvotes
Impulses
By Impulses (3 months ago)

$40 isn't a deal breaker per se, it's just not a good value proposition for ME, I said it a few lines into my comment well before you reiterated it. I can easily afford the $40, and I'll never make a penny off my photography, but it's just not a good value proposition compared to the alternatives (even if none accomplish quite the same complete package).

I'm sure it'd be worth it for a pro, but I'd imagine most pros would need far more than 20GB so I do question whether this is truly aimed at pros. Heck, if I were a pro I'd just get a Surface Pro and be done with it, then you can use whatever service to sync your catalog(s), host it on a server, etc. No need to futz with an iPad unless it's to export a few photos to show a client and you don't need LR on the iPad for that.

0 upvotes
Gryfster
By Gryfster (3 months ago)

If you are a pro you are not taking the 9.99 subscription but the 19.99 which gives you access to the professional Adobe products

0 upvotes
AshMills
By AshMills (3 months ago)

People who say $40 isnt bad need to consider what the price will be in 5 years time, and how much they will have paid by then.

0 upvotes
BaldCol
By BaldCol (3 months ago)

I might be dead in five years.

0 upvotes
dharma108
By dharma108 (3 months ago)

I already have a photo editing app on my tablet that edits raw files and does nearly everything LR does. It's called Photo Mate R2 and only cost $9.50. It's a pay once stand alone program that actually works pretty darn good.

1 upvote
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (3 months ago)

it's a nice app, I have reviewed it on this site, but it does not sync with Lightroom on your computer which makes a lot of the Adobe app's appeal

0 upvotes
Jogger
By Jogger (3 months ago)

lmao.. i just use the full LR5.3 on my surface pro 2.. why make it harder for yourself. get a surface.

1 upvote
Mark Alan Thomas
By Mark Alan Thomas (3 months ago)

A good strategy if you already have a Surface, assuming that Adobe doesn’t start demanding a subscription to use Lightroom.

0 upvotes
Glen Barrington
By Glen Barrington (3 months ago)

NO thanks . . .

2 upvotes
Sannaborjeson
By Sannaborjeson (3 months ago)

Not bad for start but missing some functionality from desktop. Looks more like a toy until learn how to sync presets etc.

0 upvotes
Mark Alan Thomas
By Mark Alan Thomas (3 months ago)

Calling something a toy is a famous mistake in this industry.

0 upvotes
AbrasiveReducer
By AbrasiveReducer (3 months ago)

When the subscription price goes to $15 (I'm guessing the next increment; maybe they'll go $12.99) this will be pointed out as an example of the additional value that Adobe is giving.

1 upvote
Svetoslav Popov
By Svetoslav Popov (3 months ago)

Sorry Adobe, you still can't get me. Not interested in mobile at all. Hehehe...

3 upvotes
Jon Lewis
By Jon Lewis (3 months ago)

Subscription for App
No subscription for Lightroom

Double standards Adobe you can dupe someone once but twice??

2 upvotes
dlkeller
By dlkeller (3 months ago)

First a monthly payment to watch TV, at least if you want to see many sports programs. Fees to use my phone with a lot of extra fees for a smartphone with aps. Then fees to get on the internet through a provider. Photoshop is now on the cloud with a subscription basis, now LR on your tablet joins the necessity for cloud fees. Some Windows applications are now a monthly fee on the cloud and I suspect very soon the newest Windows will only be on a cloud subscription basis. These things are really starting to add up!

11 upvotes
sean000
By sean000 (3 months ago)

Now that we subscribe to Netflix, Hulu Plus, Amazon Prime, Evernote Premium, Smugmug, and a broadband Internet connection... I definitely get what you're saying. However, our subscriptions still add up to significantly less than we used to pay for cable TV service (not to mention a landline). I am afraid we are actually in a sweet spot right now, where those of us willing to subscribe to small services like these are getting a pretty good deal. It won't be long before we have micro-subscriptions for everything. Companies like Comcast own so much, they will figure out how to get their money one way or another :-D

Comment edited 38 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
Twong
By Twong (3 months ago)

I am already running LR 5 on a Win 8.1 tablet.

2 upvotes
lacix
By lacix (3 months ago)

..another umbilical cord to your bank account!

8 upvotes
kdmorrisphoto
By kdmorrisphoto (3 months ago)

I won't subscribe to any CC services that Adobe offers, because of some of the reasons given. I'd like to buy once and be done with it...

I use Lightroom, but I tether my camera to my iPad and review right there on the spot, and the client selects what they want.

When I get home, I edit what needs to be edited and file the other images in a folder named "Unselected images."

I have CS5 Master Collection, so would I pay a monthly fee, for a product that I already own, just to get some extra "bells and whistles" (plugins)?

The CC is not for me...

8 upvotes
macaddict
By macaddict (3 months ago)

I'd love to k ow more about your tethered shooting with the iPad. I assume you can only shoot jpgs? What software are you using while tethered?

0 upvotes
lambert4
By lambert4 (3 months ago)

Looks like they are opening the door to Aperture if they update the Software and maybe launch an iOS application to work in conjunction?

3 upvotes
graybalanced
By graybalanced (3 months ago)

The door has been open to Aperture for years and years. Apple has a very good handle on photos, Mac OS, and iOS, and should have plugged this hole a long time ago. They could have slam dunked this before anyone else did.

Instead Apple has let iOS/OS X integration languish and they have been lapped by solutions from Mosaic, Photosmith, and now Adobe, none of which are ideal at the moment.

The fact that Apple has not done anything about this should be a clue to what Apple's attitude is toward photographers right now.

0 upvotes
Mark Alan Thomas
By Mark Alan Thomas (3 months ago)

But a clue only. Apple has a history of saying nothing about a product for years, and then, without warning, dropping something new and fully-formed into the market (e.g. Final Cut Pro X, Logic Pro X).

0 upvotes
lbpix
By lbpix (3 months ago)

Very very disappointing. No way am I going to subscribe, I'll stick with LR for now but would have liked an ipad app. If they move to subscription-only LR then I'm off elsewhere.

11 upvotes
Fazal Majid
By Fazal Majid (3 months ago)

Adobe halved its profit after its ill-advised attempt to ram subscription pricing down its clients' throats, but so far Wall Street is cheering:
http://www.economist.com/news/business/21599370-adobes-bold-embrace-computing-cloud-should-inspire-others-super-subs

This is just a transparent ploy to use the iPad adjunct as a Trojan horse for subscriptions for LR, and raises the odds Adobe will discontinue unlimited licenses for LR sooner rather than later. It's time to evaluate alternatives like DarkTable.

18 upvotes
BaldCol
By BaldCol (3 months ago)

Great. I will be good when all the Adobe naysayers have finally actually scrapped their Adobe programmes and f$$ked off to pastures new so that when Adobe news appears on DPR we can read it and the comments without endless boring moaners banging on and on about something they are not going to do.

9 upvotes
Cameron R Hood
By Cameron R Hood (3 months ago)

Another BONEHEAD move by a company that has lost it's way...they are going to have to retract all this, or perish...loosing customers and loyal followers by the thousands every time they bring out something new.

4 upvotes
BaldCol
By BaldCol (3 months ago)

another bonehead move to introduce new features that seem to be well received.

7 upvotes
Kim Letkeman
By Kim Letkeman (3 months ago)

@BaldCol -- So how's the pay over there at Adobe?

5 upvotes
BaldCol
By BaldCol (3 months ago)

Excellent and well thought out response there. It couldn't be someone with a different opinion to you could it.
Anyway, for the record, I am a finance director of a food company in the UK supplying all of the major supermarkets and other distributors. My pay is good thanks.

5 upvotes
Henry M. Hertz
By Henry M. Hertz (3 months ago)

"lightroom will not go cloud only" - adobe

.. yeah well but 50% of it´s new features will... fuk adobe!!!

16 upvotes
JordanAT
By JordanAT (3 months ago)

Get a Windows convertible and you won't have to worry about needing a subscription just to have a hobbled version of LR on a tablet.

4 upvotes
Boomanbb
By Boomanbb (3 months ago)

Speaking only for myself, I love the new app. I can now upload smart previews to the cloud from my laptop and desktop and later I can access them from my iPad. While I realize some don't want to ever pay a subscription model for anything, I accept that I already own several items that are subscription model (alarm system, cell phones, my house, etc) and they all cost far more that 10 dollars a month.
For those who have no problem with this, its a great deal.

Ben

6 upvotes
BaldCol
By BaldCol (3 months ago)

Agreed. I've had a play and it seems to work very well.

0 upvotes
Kim Letkeman
By Kim Letkeman (3 months ago)

@Boomanbb -- "and they all cost far more that 10 dollars a month"

At $10 per month, I might even have a go. But Adobe refuse to say that CS and LR will stay at that price. They have always said that this is a time limited offer. So ... until they commit to staying at 10 bucks, this backlash will continue. At 10 bucks, they basically lock in current costs (upgrade every 2 years) ...

2 upvotes
BaldCol
By BaldCol (3 months ago)

Please could you point me to any monthly service that says that they will never ever put the price up. Do you seriously expect any company to say anything as stupid as that? Carry on cutting off your nose to spite your face.

2 upvotes
polarizer
By polarizer (3 months ago)

they do say limited time offer - suggesting a price increase - also if we knew what the increase is, it may be ok for some of us. There is a potential for increase up to $19.95 - their one App price is that much. Once you have used for a year, they are betting switching will be painful enough that you will accept the new price.

0 upvotes
saralecaire
By saralecaire (3 months ago)

Just when I thought Adobe could not stoop any lower, there they go blackmailing their customer to using CC, even though Lightroom itself is still sold as a standalone application apparently "to meet photographers needs".

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
26 upvotes
ryansholl
By ryansholl (3 months ago)

Absolutely transparent reneging on earlier promises. I think it is silly at this point to think that LR will remain a standalone in the future.

10 upvotes
BaldCol
By BaldCol (3 months ago)

Can't see anywhere where it says you MUST have the Lightroom app so you MUST upgrade to CC. Not that I really care. I am a convert to CC myself, happily feeding the monster every month.

3 upvotes
Philip Corlis
By Philip Corlis (3 months ago)

Yet...

2 upvotes
ryansholl
By ryansholl (3 months ago)

Yet.

0 upvotes
saralecaire
By saralecaire (3 months ago)

@BaldCol Well you would if you had taken a minute to read the app's description in the App Store.

0 upvotes
BaldCol
By BaldCol (3 months ago)

Nope.. Still nothing that says I must have the App.

0 upvotes
owenleve
By owenleve (3 months ago)

This is a cute app. When are they going to allow one database/library to be used across two different computers? THAT is the missing link... not this.

2 upvotes
Timur Born
By Timur Born (3 months ago)

To be fair, this is possible already with Windows computers. Of course it's not officially supported, not everyone knows how to do it and concurrent access from more than one computer is not a good idea.

So yes, you are mostly right. ;)

0 upvotes
BaldCol
By BaldCol (3 months ago)

But it ought to be easy and supported.

0 upvotes
erichK
By erichK (3 months ago)

The most important factor is Adobe's violation of their assurance that they would not compel Lightroom users to become captives of their "bleed-every-month" subscription system.

A very good reason to look elsewhere that this moster corporation for software. And an opportunbity for *real* innovators.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
12 upvotes
Kinematic Digit
By Kinematic Digit (3 months ago)

It's an added feature so you don't have to be tied to this.

Regardless, it wouldn't be possible to not be doing this on a CC because it requires cloud services to work. So if you need this feature you'll be paying for use of the cloud server.

3 upvotes
ryansholl
By ryansholl (3 months ago)

The "cloud" portion is only one aspect. You're glossing over the "use on tablet" portion.

5 upvotes
Greg Summers
By Greg Summers (3 months ago)

what about a droid version??

2 upvotes
retro76
By retro76 (3 months ago)

As an app developer I can tell you it is extremely costly to develop for the Android platform due to fragmentation. Maintaning multiple branches of code is both time consuming and complex. XCode is also a more sophisticated and refined development environment and the whole process Apple has created for developers is very streamlined (even if there approval process is a bit challenging at times).

1 upvote
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (3 months ago)

apparently an Android and iPhone version are in the works.

0 upvotes
LensBeginner
By LensBeginner (3 months ago)

@retro76
Yup, freedom has its cost.
But in the end it's the right choice.

0 upvotes
mlewan
By mlewan (3 months ago)

And what about importing RAW files on your iPad and using this app to transfer them to your Desktop via the cloud?

0 upvotes
jkrumm
By jkrumm (3 months ago)

Might work, but too slowly for any large pile. It sounds like you can edit raws on the ipad, and then later load the raws on your computer (quickly, normal way) and any ipad edits will show up on your computer if you want.

0 upvotes
Ken Sky
By Ken Sky (3 months ago)

Just imagine if Aperture would make a major upgrade. There already is iPhoto for iPad.

1 upvote
Total comments: 132
About us
Sitemap
Connect