mobile photography technology, culture and community
www.dpreview.com

Simple Photo Tips: Use your tablet computer as a light source

68
You can use your tablet computer as a light source to create an interesting and colorful platform for small still life subjects.

At its core, creating a dramatic still life requires only two things: an interesting subject and good lighting. And while we can't choose your subject for you, we can show you how to use your tablet as an efective lightsource when photographing small objects.

We're using an iPad, and there's no shortage of useful apps for iOS. The Softbox Pro for iPad app ($2.99) lets you use the iPad's screen to emit light of different intensities, hues and shapes. It also turns your iPad into a light table with colored patterns and designs (like in the image above) that create interesting backgrounds on which to place your subjects.

Softbox Pro for iPad lets you choose among different light shapes, colors and patterns.
A circular gradient pattern provides a diffuse light wrap.
Tap the screen to hide the options panels and the iPad becomes a mini light source.
You can also create colored patterns to use as an illuminated backdrop.

Using your iPad like a traditional softbox means placing it outside the camera frame facing your subject, as I've done in the examples below.

Placing your light source perpendicular to the camera, known as side lighting, gives a dramatic flair to subjects on a black background.
This technique also works well with colored backgrounds as the portion of the subject furthest away from the light source will be in shadow.

There are a couple of things to be aware of that can make your initial attempts more successful. The iPad doesn't give off that much light, even at full brightness, so you'll need to turn off any room lights and move the iPad as close to your subject as possible without it entering the frame. Changing the angle of the iPad and even its orientation (portrait vs. landscape)  can make a big difference in how the light wraps around your subject.

So don't be afraid to experiment. Choose a diffuse or hard-edged light shape. Set your your iPad in different positions. Change the angle of your subject. Move things around until you get a blend of light and shadow that's worthy of a magazine spread.

Comments

Total comments: 68
wrcak
By wrcak (Oct 29, 2012)

Thanks a lot for these tips folks!!!

0 upvotes
KodaChrome25
By KodaChrome25 (Oct 27, 2012)

BlueVisor - how about a discount for DPR readers?

0 upvotes
BlueVisor
By BlueVisor (Nov 1, 2012)

Definitely! Actually that's exactly what we did couple of days ago, the price was dropped to $1.99.

0 upvotes
BlueVisor
By BlueVisor (Oct 26, 2012)

Dear SoftBox Pro users, if you like this app, please consider rate it on the AppStore. Comments and suggestions are also welcome and much appreciated! Thank you!

0 upvotes
Amadou Diallo
By Amadou Diallo (Oct 24, 2012)

Hey everyone, we hear you loud and clear on the need to include more Android-based apps and hardware. We've got things in the pipeline and hopefully over the coming weeks and months you'll find us a valuable resource for a range of competing products.

0 upvotes
neo_nights
By neo_nights (Oct 24, 2012)

That's great, Amadou. We hope DPReview will give proper love for more different kinds of phones and OSs.
This article, for instance, could easily be written in a broader way "How to make use of your smardevices [smarphones and tablets] for creative work as on-the-go softboxes".

Let's wait for the coming articles which have been great (despite those... 'iFlaws' :) )

0 upvotes
Plastek
By Plastek (Oct 25, 2012)

No, we don't. Waste of time. Better buy something good then force everyone around to adjust.

2 upvotes
Kriekira
By Kriekira (Oct 24, 2012)

It's a great little app -- I'm happy I bought it.

I'd like to post a picture here, but it looks I can't. Maybe this link will work:
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/713178/2012-06-26_NightHydrangeas_901_13%20of%2017_DSC02926.jpg

1 upvote
BlueVisor
By BlueVisor (Oct 26, 2012)

That's a beautiful shot! Please keep them coming~

0 upvotes
BlueVisor
By BlueVisor (Oct 24, 2012)

I'm the author of SoftBox Pro for iPad.

First of all, I feel honoured that my app is featured on dpreview.com, which I have been a proud member since 2003.

This app was simply made to give creative photographers more ideas. Whether using iPad, android tablet, or your TV even, doesn't really matter. The reason this app was made for iPad and iPhone only, is these are the only devices I have. I don't want this thread turns into a brand bashing war, the writer of this article was merely using my app as an example, by no means other tablet users can't use their devices as light sources.

Please, can't we all just get along?

p.s. if you have taken any photos using SoftBox Pro, please post them on Flickrland:
http://www.flickr.com/groups/softboxpro/

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
5 upvotes
neo_nights
By neo_nights (Oct 24, 2012)

Your app is seems to be really good and, as you can read here, many people also seem to like/approve it.

What we're complaining (in all fairness) is that there are MANY articles here on 'iConnect' focusing on Apple stuff only.

So, it's not a critic to your app (it's always great to see DPReview's members making good apps, softs and so on), neither to Apple itself.
Only that this is site focusing a bit too much on Apple. Nothing more, nothing less.
:)

Congratulations on your app!

2 upvotes
HubertChen
By HubertChen (Oct 24, 2012)

I agree with neo_nights. Lovely and wonderful App. Great and inspirational Article. Nothing wrong with Apple. No brand war here ( except some lost souls). It just appears connect is catering 100 % to iOS users when it appears according to the comments here 50% are Android users.

Dear BlueVisor,
Thanks for your post and thanks for this lovely app and taking the time to post here. There was no criticism meant for you. My apologies if it could have been understood otherwise. Special thanks for your link. The pictures are very educational and inspirational!

Comment edited 5 minutes after posting
1 upvote
Preternatural Stuff
By Preternatural Stuff (Oct 25, 2012)

No brand wars here, except for the fact that DPreview staff are ignorant of the fact that 70% of mobile devise users are on Android and only 20% are iOS - worldwide.

Unless of course the staff happen to live in a well too. Or either that, the staff are so new to tech and photography their first contact with it is through iOS.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Plastek
By Plastek (Oct 25, 2012)

I got the app - really enjoy it. Your app is one of the major reasons why I want iPad with Retina - simply to use it to it's full potential. As even on 1st iPad it's outstanding tool, so I can't imagine how useful it'll be with Retina and close-up photography!

Preternatural Stuff - hehe, nice, only it's truth for smartphones, not tables. In tablet's it's quite opposite. Also: In quality software it's quite opposite as well.

2 upvotes
HubertChen
By HubertChen (Oct 24, 2012)

Am I the only one who is sad about the lack of engagement in postings by dpreview staff?

3 upvotes
John Driggers
By John Driggers (Oct 24, 2012)

Once upon a time there were three little IOS devices-iPhone, iPad, and the iPod Touch. They worked hard and built a house made of millions of self-processed photos. Their house was the biggest in all Flickrland. Older citizens of Flickrland got very upset. "It's not a REAL house," they cried. In nearby Goggleland, the Android clan figured out that the IOS folks had a good thing going so they tried building their own houses from self-processed photos. Nice houses they were too-just smaller. Seems that, although the Android clan was big--bigger than the IOS family-not as many were interested in building photo houses, so they had fewer builders who didn't have as many of the power tools needed. The Android builders got very upset and began to feel it was an equal opportunity issue and began a nasty campaign to attack the IOS family instead of making more Android tools and building more photo houses. So the world came to see the IOS family as builders and the Android clan as destroyers.

3 upvotes
vidrazor
By vidrazor (Oct 24, 2012)

It's OK, you can join Google+ and live happily ever after too.

2 upvotes
HubertChen
By HubertChen (Oct 24, 2012)

How come asking depreview to cover more than one brand is destroying ? Supporting a monopoly is usually destroying creativity, which is what shall be avoided here. Andoid and iOS tablets are tools to build. All has been asked here is to build. Imagine every Article on how to use a tablet for photography covers equally Apps for both OS platform. Imagine the Author write it would be nice if the Apple App had this feature that the Android counterpart had and vice versa. This way dpreview would assist in building better apps, better tools. ( it is something they do on the dpreview classic site for years with success). If you only care about the iOS, you will still benefit from added Android content, as your iOS apps will get better. In short, everybody win if dpreview writes about both, all of us loose ( including dpreview themselves) if they continue to only write about one. And nobody wins if writing about iOS / Android turns into religious holy wars. They are tools not believe systems!

2 upvotes
HubertChen
By HubertChen (Oct 24, 2012)

It just sank in that John Diggers branded me as a destroyer ( I am using Android). I deeply care to to help and build. Thus such writing is hurtful. I really wish people would write in here like they talk to their good friends: More considerate and more caring.

3 upvotes
John Driggers
By John Driggers (Oct 24, 2012)

@vidrazor: Actually, I belong to Google+ already ,and for the record I will likely upgrade from iPhone4 to a Galaxy II Note when they are released here (AU) next month. I'm of the "best tool for the job" school of thought.
@H_Chen: What you propose is the Equal Opportunity point of view--which is unnecessary and unwanted as a burden for article writers. When someone does an article on HDR on dpreview and describes how they set up their Canon camera, we don't demand or expect a description of how to do it on every major camera system. And articles on software that works only on MAC aren't required to list viable PC and Linux options. When Android users whine every time there is a reference to an IOS device in an article it is a destroying effort implying that the article and site suck because you are not catered to. If you look at the front page of Connect, you see that this article is below the lead article reviewing an Android phonecam. How much more equality do you need?

0 upvotes
HubertChen
By HubertChen (Oct 24, 2012)

@John Driggers:
Thank you very much for your detailed response.
1) You write as if you are dpreview staff. Are you?
2) I think I read pretty much every Article on connect about using a tablet for photography. If I am not mistaken every Article covers iOS tablets and none cover Android. This paints the picture that iPad is great for Photography and Android is no use. This seems to be misleading and that is the topic here.
3) You have not answered my question why you had to paint Android users as destroyers in this context.
4) I agree to that an Article's Artistic / inspirational value should not be diminished because only one brand is referenced too. If you would make the effort to see my posts below I spoke very highly of those values of this Article. Yet the the other issue remains ( Android never covered).
5) dpreview is in business. They make money from catering to their readers. If a good portion wants Android, why not give it to them before losing the readers ?

0 upvotes
flitcroft
By flitcroft (Oct 25, 2012)

I created an account just to "Like" this :)

0 upvotes
HubertChen
By HubertChen (Oct 24, 2012)

I see some comments that it seems OK to only write about iPad on using tablets for photography on connect, as this appears to some to be the major brand. Taking this thinking to conclusion means dpreview site should stop writing about Nikon, Sony, Pentax, Samsung and cohorts and exclusively write about / mentioning Canon only. If this sounds bizarre for dpreview, why they think it is OK for connect ?

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
1 upvote
makofoto
By makofoto (Oct 23, 2012)

Here is a shot of my quick set-up for the close-up that I posted earlier, using my iPhone as a rear projection. The piece of paper is diffusing the built-in flash ... which is triggering the key light flash off to the side.

http://images51.fotki.com/v103/photos/4/43793/4909192/Idolshot-vi.jpg

http://images60.fotki.com/v662/photos/4/43793/4909192/H4D60120Makrotest-vi.jpg

1 upvote
HubertChen
By HubertChen (Oct 24, 2012)

Hi makofoto,
Great educational info. Thanks so much.

Also nice to see a Hasselblad in this setup. That should kill any postings that this technique is no use for good quality work :-)

0 upvotes
bunyarra
By bunyarra (Oct 23, 2012)

To be fair, any tablet can be used without an app - just create an image with the pattern / gradient / colour you want and show that in a pic viewer.

I do get a feeling the Apple contingent is pre-eminent amongst contributors though .. :)

0 upvotes
HubertChen
By HubertChen (Oct 24, 2012)

Yes, that is correct. But say you want to change the white balance of the light source. In that setup you need to create a new image with Photoshop / GIMP, transfer to the Tablet and test if you hit the spot. If not, do again. With an application you move a slider, see result in real time and stop moving when you hit it. Seconds versus minutes, plus your head stays in the game. I think to make this a useful tool for actual production work an App is a must.

0 upvotes
flitcroft
By flitcroft (Oct 25, 2012)

@HubertChen, you have great ideas -- you should make an app for Android!

0 upvotes
Tomek_C
By Tomek_C (Oct 23, 2012)

I use my laptop screen as a light source for macro photos, also torches, and LED bike lights, using paper diffusers or reflectors. You could also use an LCD monitor flatscreen TV or even an old CRT. Experiment with what you've got! No need to go out and buy stuff.
Improvising is part of the creative fun of photography.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 9 minutes after posting
1 upvote
Francis Carver
By Francis Carver (Oct 23, 2012)

Why would I want to buy an Apple tablet for this simplistic trick, when we have all sorts of non-Apple, non iOS tablets out now in the marketplace that are clearly far superior, and cost way less money to boot?

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
2 upvotes
makofoto
By makofoto (Oct 23, 2012)

? You don't buy it for that purpose, but if you already have said device, then it can be handy. We use them for iLights when shooting in the field

2 upvotes
Ryan Williams
By Ryan Williams (Oct 23, 2012)

Don't think anyone is advocating buying an iPad purely so you can do this.

I've actually used my phone a few times to get some light for my camera to use in ultra-low-light circumstances, as it can make a very big difference and avoid the need to saturate and flatten the scene with your flash.

Not sure why this new site's comments are attracting so much vitriol. If you're not interested in mobile devices and their uses then why bother coming here at all?

0 upvotes
SeeRoy
By SeeRoy (Oct 23, 2012)

"The iPad doesn't give off that much light, even at full brightness"
Er, that's a bit of a limitation in a light source isn't it? How about a bunch of candles? Or setting light to a rolled up newspaper?
This has got to be one of the most content-free bits of drivel I've ever seen here.
Simple Dining Tips: Use your tablet as a dinner plate?

2 upvotes
Charlie boots
By Charlie boots (Oct 23, 2012)

Interesting review and have purchased this app to try. I am unable to reproduce the varying colour as shown in the first example with the polkadots and sunglasses. Any suggestions anyone?

A nice app and a creative use for the ipad. Could be useful for macro and small product photography. Needs ability to add own graphics and images with the ability to change colours in them.

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
1 upvote
skiphunt13
By skiphunt13 (Oct 23, 2012)

I almost bought this app, but noticed another one that comes with more textures, you can make your own... and it's a Universal app that works with iPhone too, so you can control one from the other, or use an iPad AND iPhone for a two-light macro set up.

Seems to be a much better value for my needs. Thanks for reminding me that I already have extra tools to use! :)

Here's the other app that I ended up getting and so far it's working perfectly Photo Light HD (Softbox): http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/photo-light-hd-softbox/id515832290?mt=8

Comment edited 3 times, last edit 9 minutes after posting
1 upvote
huyzer
By huyzer (Oct 23, 2012)

Use your laptop, draw your own shapes, use photoshop, etc.

0 upvotes
HubertChen
By HubertChen (Oct 23, 2012)

Connect has become my favorite site about photography. This is just another very inspirational Article. Add to that the engaging community with additional ideas and help. Compliments to dpreview. Please keep going.

1 upvote
Deleted pending purge
By Deleted pending purge (Oct 23, 2012)

TV screens, CRT monitors and things like that have been used as sources of light in close-up and macro photography for decades already. What's new now is actually the simplicity of it, as the new devices are not so cumbersome, and can be adjusted in more ways. You do not need iThis or iThat for the same effect and there is no need to disparage the good idea. Any backlit screen will do well.
Anyway, being for or against Apple is equally ridiculous. You eithe use some manufacturer's product or other, or you don't. What's the big deal?

Comment edited -43 seconds after posting
1 upvote
HubertChen
By HubertChen (Oct 23, 2012)

Dear OldArrow,
I agree 100% with you. However, please note that not everybody knows this technique and for those which this is news it is really amazingly cool ( like for me fool). Add to that tablets need no cables and are light, so mounting and moving them is ridiculously effortless. It is a simple idea yet very powerful when used for the right occasion in the right hands.

0 upvotes
Deleted pending purge
By Deleted pending purge (Oct 23, 2012)

That's what I meant, Hubert... This technique nowadays becomes easier than ever, and yet people somehow find it easier to comment upon some revered or hated (!?) manufacturer than the basic idea, never mind whether known to them or new.
I have always mantained that author's experimenting in photography (like in any other art) is the key to good and new ways; tools are much less important. But too often we see how expensive tools actually produce mediocrity, and still keep on being glorified... :)

1 upvote
JaFO
By JaFO (Oct 23, 2012)

This is like an article about flash photography that only ever mentions Canon with barely a hint about its competitors ...

If you're new to this hobby it really sounds like this is the only device capable of tricks like this.

As consumers we should be supporting competing products whenever possible.

0 upvotes
HubertChen
By HubertChen (Oct 24, 2012)

@ OldArrow: You have expressed what I meant. Thank you!

@ all:
I think looking at this Article two fold is healthy:
A) This Article is very useful from the Artistic point of view and contains all information necessary for any photographer interested to redo it with his brands of choice ( as long as he is aware of this choice ).
B) dpreview is influencing the market in undue fashion by creating the impression to the casual reader that only iPad Tablets are a useful tools for photography, as Android tablets are never mentioned.

@ JaFO: I think this is even worse than what you mentioned. Sticking with your example, a Nikon reader of a Canon flash article who is not aware of Nikon flashes would expect that there will be Nikon flashes and find them. This is because all photography brands are well established since more than 30 years. The tablet market is different. I actually believed I must buy an iPad after reading Articles here. Only other posters cured my misguided expectation.

0 upvotes
HubertChen
By HubertChen (Oct 24, 2012)

@ OldArrow: Your writing makes me curious to look at your pictures. I see you posted a lot of pictures into your gallery. Mind if you share the link with us / me ?

@ dpreview: How about making a link to the gallery entry in the user profile?

0 upvotes
HubertChen
By HubertChen (Oct 23, 2012)

Brilliant Article! I am shooting regularly product pictures of hand sized objects. Working with conventional Softboxes for small objects is really cumbersome. This is a great alternative. It has the additional benefits that I can see the light when modeling, whereas the modeling light of large softboxes when used on small objects is too dim, or I have to darken the room, and then I am making same effort as using the tablet PC as Soft Box. What really blows me away is the added creativity. You can change color temperature so easily or create patterns or change the quality of light ( size of softbox). This is really useful when working with reflective objects. Below several posters are concerned about low light intensity. However considering low noise of current DSLR combined with most image sizes used today is below 800 pixels wide, I have no qualms in shooting in 6400 ISO and then scale down to 800 x 600 pixels. All noise is then virtually gone! Or shoot with tripod and long exposure.

0 upvotes
HubertChen
By HubertChen (Oct 23, 2012)

ah, and I forgot to mention that my portable Pro-Light equipment takes up an entire cabinet ( you do not want to know how big is stationary studio lighting equipment). Two tablets and their respective holders will fit in a shoe box. Plus no cables! Ever tripped over cables in your studio ? If anybody is curious about a an Article on how to use this lighting setup for professional looking Macro and Product shots, post a reply here. In case you are not a pro shooter, consider that this setup will turn your pictures for your next ebay action into stunners! If there are more than 5 people interested I will write it and publish this Article in dpreview's lovely Articles section. ( kudos to dpreview for this excellent service! )

0 upvotes
Dreeke
By Dreeke (Oct 27, 2012)

Hi Hubert,
Yes, I am interested. I am starting to do more than just bounce my flash of the ceiling so a good tutorial is most welcome.

0 upvotes
HubertChen
By HubertChen (Oct 23, 2012)

For Android Users: SoftBox Lite by CodeMaster:
http://www.androidzoom.com/android_applications/photography/softbox-lite_ymff.html
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y43mG0R59YY
Same functionality as above iPad app.
Added Bonus:
* Connect a large & bright Display for more ( brightness | softer light | larger objects )
* Adjust color temperature

To dpreview:
To find above information took me 10 minutes. Given the amount of complaints that you neglect Android users lets me guess that 50 % of your readers use Android. Say you spent two hours on this Article. So adding 10 % more time lets you reach 100% more readers. Why at a 1000 % Return of Investment you continue to ignore Android market / readers is not understandable. In case you have no Android Tabet in your office, send me an Address and I ship one under the condition from now on every tablet article has both Android and iOS application references and some are actually tested on Android.

Comment edited 48 seconds after posting
9 upvotes
Nemesis2001
By Nemesis2001 (Oct 23, 2012)

Agree with you. They should change the name in:

connect.apple.dpreview.com

1 upvote
HubertChen
By HubertChen (Oct 24, 2012)

Not my meaning. They should cover both platforms equally.

0 upvotes
HubertChen
By HubertChen (Oct 24, 2012)

Thinking more about Nemesis2001 comment. In case dpreview does continue to not cover Android ( for whatever reason ), it would actually help everybody to indeed rename this place here as Nemesis2001 suggests: "connect.apple.dpreview.com". This way the complaining in the posts would be stopping, as this is clearly an Apple only place and at the same time somebody will see the opportunity to build either an Android only counterpart or better a cross platform site, as it really should be. This is only the second best solution, but it is better than what it is now. So dpreview, it is time to show your flag: Write equally about Android or admit this is an Apple only place.

0 upvotes
DuckShots
By DuckShots (Oct 23, 2012)

Enjoy Connect a lot. Think it informs about an area of photography's art and craft handily. Need to know about apps and gadgets for my phone and Ipad.

1 upvote
Lilianna
By Lilianna (Oct 23, 2012)

I have used my Samsung Galaxy Tab in the same way, shooting jewelry. It is an effective mean of lighting small objects evenly.

2 upvotes
BG_CX3_DPREVIEW
By BG_CX3_DPREVIEW (Oct 23, 2012)

I would think DPR readers can get over their Apple itch. Ok this article is only about an Apple add, but i'm sure you'll find an Adnroid look a like in minutes.

Anyhow, its actually a silly but good idea, you can even use your phone for this. I just can' find too many situations where i would need such a low power light. Outside it won't work as the sun is much brighter, and inside a more powerfull light source is usually somewhere around.

So, nah, useless app.

2 upvotes
John Sakalis
By John Sakalis (Oct 23, 2012)

I enjoy using non-photographic equipment to create photos. In this case a computer monitor: http://www.dpreview.com/galleries/3394062828/photos/849083

I think I will now experiment with my iPad and Nexus 7 using this technique. Thanks

1 upvote
HubertChen
By HubertChen (Oct 23, 2012)

Thanks for sharing. Inspired me :-)

0 upvotes
SirSeth
By SirSeth (Oct 23, 2012)

We care about readers who use the many various products besides Apple tablets, so if you are not an iPad user click here: www.conntect.dpreview/hahayouthoughtyoumatterednonipadlosers!

I know it says that "you're using an ipad," but it would be nice to know of apps available to android, kindle HD, nexus and the host of other tablets that millions on millions of people are about to receive for Christmas; being as there are finally a plethora of really good non-iPad tablets at very competitive prices available this year.

"I'm secretary of state, brought to you by Carl's Jr."

Comment edited 11 minutes after posting
3 upvotes
TotallyFred
By TotallyFred (Oct 23, 2012)

This is an interesting article. Short, to the point, good coverage of various techniques. I will experiment. Thank you!

Now I realize that I want more and more an iPad-Maxi (A3 or larger). :-)

0 upvotes
gl2k
By gl2k (Oct 23, 2012)

Nice idea but what is the light output measured in lumen/lux ?

0 upvotes
makofoto
By makofoto (Oct 23, 2012)

I used my iPhone as a miniature rear "projection" screen for this little figurine: http://public.fotki.com/makofoto/work/miscellanous/h4d-60-120-makro-test.html

5 upvotes
John Driggers
By John Driggers (Oct 23, 2012)

That's pretty interesting as a technique-call it phone-bokeah. BTW, can you send a note to jcmarfilph below and let him/her know that it's ok if they try your technique using an Android phone or a Blackberry? They are pretty upset that articles use IOS tools as examples.

1 upvote
eliaskyo
By eliaskyo (Oct 23, 2012)

That's pretty good - an alternative to the green-screen. Nice job.

1 upvote
bossa
By bossa (Oct 23, 2012)

I often use my 30" Dell monitor as a backdrop. You can set any image, colour or gradation as a backdrop and it works a treat. And you don't have to show the computer screen either as you can use it for a coloured backlight fill etc. With 2x A4 sheets of white paper taped together (for use as a cyclorama) and a couple of cheap desk lamps your off and running.

Comment edited 3 times, last edit 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
makofoto
By makofoto (Oct 23, 2012)

Thanks ... it took seconds to google image an appropriate background

0 upvotes
jcmarfilph
By jcmarfilph (Oct 23, 2012)

Of course another iPad article. So you can't use other tablet as light source? This should have been titled
"Using your iPad as a photographic light source."

8 upvotes
John Driggers
By John Driggers (Oct 23, 2012)

Oh my, you are offended aren't you? What a devious author who writes, "...we can show you how to use your tablet as an effective lightsource when photographing small objects." He goes on to show example using an iPad and an IOS app that extends the possibilities. I can see where this forbids you using your (presumed) Android tablet as a light source in a similar way.

We need to penalise these authors who don't give permission to use Android tablets too. They have got to recognise that if they give an iPad example we don't have enough creative juice to see that we can exercise the same technique with Android.

We need a disclaimer at the beginning of every article that says, "while this technique uses an IOS device, you can do the same with your Android device." If an Android device is profiled, it'd be the opposite.

On the camera side we need one that said the same vis a vie Canon & Nikon, et al.

If it helps, you have my permission to use your Android tablet as a light source.

8 upvotes
Charles
By Charles (Oct 23, 2012)

Not to belittle the poster but this has been done before by David Hobby "The Strobist" with the Ipad 3 in Dubai, United Arab Emirates at GPP 2012 Shoot Out against Martin Prihoda & Gregory Heisler. Here is the link to the video of the Shoot Out - http://vimeo.com/39140805. By the way, Mr. Heisler kick butt with only one click of the shutter at the very last second of his alloted time. In was incredable to watch him, Martin and David in action.

0 upvotes
BlueVisor
By BlueVisor (Oct 26, 2012)

@Charles That's a very interesting video, thanks for sharing!

0 upvotes
Mike Scott
By Mike Scott (Oct 31, 2012)

Cool app! makes a great fill light for small product photography!
As a side note: The backside matte metallic finish of the Ipad makes a very nice reflector also,,,

0 upvotes
Total comments: 68
About us
Sitemap
Connect