mobile photography technology, culture and community
www.dpreview.com

Hands-on with the Nokia Lumia 1020

164
The Nokia Lumia 1020 features a 41MP PureView sensor and runs on the Windows Phone 8 OS.

Today Nokia unveiled the Lumia 1020, its flagship 41MP camera-centric smartphone for Windows Phone 8. Aimed squarely at photo enthusiasts, the Lumia 1020, like the 808 PureView before it, employs a large and extremely high resolution 41MP imaging sensor along with clever processing to address two major shortcomings of almost all smartphones: poor low light performance and the lack of a high quality zoom option. The Lumia 1020 has the decided advantage over the 808, though, of running on the Windows Phone 8 platform instead of the end-of-life Symbian OS. In addition, Nokia tells us the Lumia 1020's sensor hardware and design are completely new, rather than a recycle of that found in the 808 PureView.

Nokia includes its own new camera app, dubbed Nokia Pro Cam, as well as the Nokia Smart Cam app found on previous Lumia models.
The engineering and design required to fit a six-element lens, 41MP sensor and optical image stabilization inside a conventionally sized phone is impressive.

While a 41MP sensor is bound to stand apart from previous Lumia models, the 1020 can actually be seen as a continuation of Nokia's attempt to differentiate its high-end models by catering to the needs of mobile photographers. Recent Lumia models have featured a multi-aspect ratio sensor, fast F2.0 six-element lens construction, optical image stabilization and a top sensitivity of ISO 3200.

The Lumia 1020 has stereo mics. one at the top of the phone (here at left) ...
... the other at the bottom of the phone hidden beneath the speaker.

So let's take a look at Nokia's newest addition to Lumia lineup and see just what it promises for photographers.

Key Specs

• 41MP 1/1.5" BSI sensor (capable of 34MP and 38MP output images depending on aspect ratio)
• Mechanical shutter
• Zeiss F2.2 27mm equivalent (for 4:3 still images) six-element lens
• Xenon flash
• LED light for video
•  Windows Phone 8 OS
4.5" AMOLED WXGA (1280x768) display
1.5 GHz dual-core Snapdragon S4 processor 
• Front facing 1.2MP camera
2 GB RAM, 32 GB internal memory 

Sensor design and hardware

Nokia has taken every opportunity to stress that the sensor hardware and design of the Lumia 1020 is brand new. The challenge of creating a 41MP sensor and appropriate lens in a smartphone sized to fit aesthetically with the Lumia lineup was a significant one. And indeed the most striking thing about the Lumia 1020 is how utterly conventional it looks alongside other high-end smartphones.

Once the novelty of saying your smartphone has a 41MP sensor wears off, it's tempting to look at a 7728 x 5368 image as a marketing ploy. Yet, as it did when the 808 was launched, Nokia has taken pains to stress that the importance of such a high pixel density lies in oversampling for a higher quality image output at more manageable files sizes. With the Lumia 1020, Nokia has upped the ante by allowing you to simultaneously capture a full resolution 38MP and an oversampled 5MP version of every image. This means that you can take advantage of zooming in and out non-destructively post-capture while also having a fully processed 5MP image to share immediately.

One must-have accessory will surely be the optional $79 camera grip.
There's a top mounted shutter button and a prominent hand grip ...
... which provides a very secure, comfortable hold of the phone.
There's even a tripod socket mounted on the bottom.

Screen

The Lumia 1020 sports a 4.5-inch AMOLED 1280x768 screen with Corning's Gorilla Glass, just as the Lumia 900-series models before it. In our brief time with the screen in florescent and diffuse daylight conditions, images appeared pleasingly crisp and bright. The Zeiss lens, recessed into the unibody polycarbonate shell, is also protected by a layer of Gorilla Glass.

UI and software

Nokia's in-house camera app provides access to exposure compensation, shutter speed, ISO, manual focus and white balance.

The Lumia 1020 runs Windows Phone 8, with its tile-based UI. The camera interface is all new compared to previous Lumia models, with the 1020 introducing the Nokia Pro Camera app. Manual control is the order of the day here, as you can adjust not only white balance and exposure compensation, but also ISO, shutter speed and even manual focus. A long exposure option impressively allows you to capture exposure times as long as four seconds. In the Nokia onstage presentation today, we saw a light painting live demo in which the subjects held smartphones set to their home screens and waved their arms to spell out "1020." A bit cheesy, perhaps, but the example does amply illustrate some of the creative possibilities.

The Lumia 1020 includes the standard Nokia apps found in previous models, for music and sharing for example. Nokia also announced that the 1020 will co-launch with Histamatic's Oggl Pro app, which is tailored for the "zoom" capabilities of the 41MP sensor.

Camera features

The big news of the day, of course is the 41MP back-side illuminated sensor powering the Lumia 1020. Shoot in 4:3 format for still images and you can come away with a 38MP image. At its default setting, the 1020 can save an oversampled, and vastly more shareable, 5MP image simultaneously. 

The zoom capability that Nokia has been touting in the lead up to the launch is conceptually the same as what we saw in the 808 PureView. With the full resolution capture as a starting point you can perform a 3x zoom post-capture without requiring any upsampling. While this obviously falls short of even a compact camera travel zoom, Nokia's method of cropping from the center area of the sensor does have the advantage of avoiding the narrower f-stops required from a non-fixed aperture zoom, meaning you can potentially shoot at lower ISO settings.

The Zeiss F2.2 lens is of a six-element construction, with one of the elements being made of glass instead of plastic. The lens uses a mechanical shutter and has a 27mm equivalent focal length. The camera has a top sensitivity of ISO 3200 and exposure compensation can be set at +/- three stops.

Optical image stabilization is included, and while it achieves similar performance as that on the Lumia 920, the version in the 1020 is a new construction, with ball bearings and small motor to move the entire lens assembly.

From the front, the Lumia 1020 looks very much like any conventional high-end smartphone.
A snap-on wireless charging shell (available in yellow and black) provides cable-free charging.

The Lumia 1020, like previous Nokia models, accepts a snap-on wireless charging unit for a cable-free charging experience. But the 1020 also comes with a $79 camera grip that provides a shutter button, built-in secondary battery and a sculpted hand grip. This combo, while obviously making the 1020 less pocketable, provides a very comfortable and camera-like shooting experience, particularly in landscape orientation. 

Cellular provider

In the U.S., the Lumia 1020 will be available exclusively through AT&T's retail outlets on July 26 and priced at $299.99 with a two-year contract. AT&T says they will begin taking pre-orders on their site beginning July 16. Nokia promises that the 1020 will be available in China and select European countries, "this quarter."

Impressions

While we've had access to production model units during today's press event, we've not been allowed to share images taken with the Lumia 1020. Having said that, the images do look impressive in both diffuse daylight conditions and low light samples. Auto white balance settings seem quite reasonable in even more challenging conditions. We're anxious to get our hands on a sample that we can shoot with in a variety of real-world environments, but so far things look promising.

What may be equally as impressive as the camera specs of the Lumia 1020 (left) is that Nokia has managed to house all of this in a body that is as pocketable as the Lumia 920 (right).
The only physical concession the photographic prowess of the Lumia 1020 (left) makes to the 8.7MP Lumia 920 (right) is its oversized sensor/lens housing.

What's undoubtedly true though is that Nokia has managed to take some very novel and impressive imaging technology and fit it all elegantly in a device that is effectively no bulkier than most high-end smartphones. Early signs point to the Lumia 1020 being well worth the wait.

Comments

Total comments: 164
Dpreviewmember
By Dpreviewmember (8 months ago)

Here is a great comparison by Evan Tchelepi Canon D800 28 mm lens versus the Nokia 1020. Has 100% zooms to see all details and defects :

http://evan-theelectricalengineer.blogspot.in/2013/10/nikon-d800e-vs-nokia-lumia-1020.html

Conclusion is simple, a phone will never have the versatility/image quality of the D800 with good quality $$$ lenses but this phone renders excellent detail with low noise 38MP photos, in many situations as good as the D800 with that kit lens on. A phone is more convenient to carry around plus is always there.

I have a Lumia 1020 and picture quality is much better than that of my HS20EXR for most situations, specially in low light. Awesome technology !
Win8 Amber smooth, so far I'm loving it. Also have iPhone and Symbian Belle phones which don't miss at all except for a few features. Nokia camera apps are all there with extensive features, now RAW support will come with the Black firmware update. Nothing to complain about this top quality camera-phone.

0 upvotes
rpm40
By rpm40 (Jul 17, 2013)

Can anyone direct me to a good comparison of the 1020/808 against traditional compacts? I looked at the dpreview image comparisons for the nokia 808 against a variety of compacts (particularly the Nikon p330 which I am interested in) and the results looked pretty bad. Honestly, equal or worse to 1/2.3" sensored compacts. I suspected that the results weren't a fair representation of what the nokia can do, especially with all the praise I've heard.

So what's the verdict? Can a nice point and shoot like the s110, p330, xz-2 etc. still handily beat these large sensor phones?

0 upvotes
wansai
By wansai (Jul 17, 2013)

http://asia.cnet.com/shootout-nokia-808-pureview-vs-panasonic-lumix-dmc-lx5-62216561.htm

It's Cnet so take it with a grain of salt but all evidence points to the pureview being able to resolve a great deal of detail. It should more than handily best all but the top end point & shoots (RX100 powershot S100 onwards).

My Canon G11 is a little long in the tooth so it might be a little unfair to say this. The G11 is an excellent camera. At the time it also cost me $950 here; which is more than a top end smartphone. The 808 takes better pictures overall than my G11 but the G11 is much more versatile due to other features (good zoom for example).

If you're thinking that it can replace a compact; then yes it can - PROVIDED your budget for the compact sits below the asking price of the top end P&S like the RX100. But keep in mind, something like this is basically an all-in-one. The convenience factor of having your phone camers with you is signifigant.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (Jul 17, 2013)

@rpm40
One thing you need to have in mind (about comparisons of the 808 with other cams ) is that the 808, because of the 28mm(equivalent to 35mm)) lens is at least 68% to 72% closer (in distance) to the comparison chart (please note that all the other cameras tested - except fujifilm x100, Sony RX1- are equipped with 83mm to 85mm lenses) .
That means that the details resolved from the capture is mostly because it's too bloody close to the chart.
And you can check that from the angle of view shown on battery poles, left corner of wristwatch, and the upper pole of the globe, -closer angle of view-

0 upvotes
Dpreviewmember
By Dpreviewmember (8 months ago)

If you don't need to add filters, lens converters, and other accessories, then the Lumia 1020 will be what you always wanted. I was also looking for a good compact for interiors and low light photos, decided on the Olympus XZ-2, but now that I have the 1020 I don't need a compact anymore. For all other situations when a camera is better than the phone (super-macro, super-tele, ultra-wide, filters) I have a 1/2" Fuji HS20, but for low light the Nokia blows it away in image quality and detail at high ISOs. Hope that answers your question.

A dream combination will be to have the 1020 as a compact, always with you, and a good DSLR or M4/3 like the Olympus OM-D M-1 + 2 or 3 quality lenses ;-)

0 upvotes
vlad0
By vlad0 (Jul 17, 2013)

From what they've showed so far, its pretty clear that the 808 has the edge in terms of IQ..

0 upvotes
wansai
By wansai (Jul 17, 2013)

I think the 808 does have a slight edge but I think more than made up for by the fast, stabilised lense of the 1020 - so all in all, a good trade-off imo.

1 upvote
kriztian
By kriztian (Jul 17, 2013)

25% of current android and OIS users wants to shift to windows. Nokia has a new lineup windowsphones that has become very popular in Europé. Their strategy of using an updated OS instead of buying more and more expensive hardware makes their phones perform better at a lower cost. Most important is also that they all have much better battery time than their competitors. Sonys new Honami has not arrived yet but it is bigger and bulkier than the Nokia and they differ in zoom. Ultimatley it will come down to what OS people prefer. Both cameras will be very good I expect.

0 upvotes
HarrieD7000
By HarrieD7000 (Jul 17, 2013)

They used to make good phones. Now they are concentrating on poor compact camera's? Why?
Or do you still think the more pixels the better the picture?

0 upvotes
wansai
By wansai (Jul 17, 2013)

"poor compact camera"? Nokia's phones take better pictures than most compact cameras.

I guess you have every right to say their phones suck if you want but to say their camera quality is poor relative to the market and even vs dedicated cameras, is far fetched.

1 upvote
LaFonte
By LaFonte (Jul 14, 2013)

So much negative opinion. Sure I would love to have phone with dslr quality but it is not going to happen. Nokia beats my Samsung phone image to the point of carrying extra Ps camera that I do now pointless.

5 upvotes
ottonis
By ottonis (Jul 14, 2013)

As an avid user of the legendary Nokia N8, I have been eagerly anticipating the arrival of the new Lumia Pure View installment , and I have to say that I am fairly disappointed by the1020.
I am disappointed for two reasons: 1.) Instead of further increasing sensor size, they actually reduced it compared with the 808 (1/1.5 vs 1/1.2). I know that this was due to reducing camera size and making the device more svelte, but this is still just the wrong direction. 2.) Carefully looking at the samples, their IQ is disappointing, especially in low light (totally blown-out highlights). So, while this is probably still the very best camera in a modern smartphone, it's just an incremental improvement over the existing IQ of modern phones such as iphone5 or Galaxy4, while at the same time the gap between modern compact cameras (RX100, RX1) and the best cameraphone camera has further increased, which turns me away from carrying just one device with me (=cameraphone) for taking pictures.

3 upvotes
ottonis
By ottonis (Jul 14, 2013)

continued..:
If you consider the tremendous miniaturization process of modern compact cameras incorporating huge sensors (e.g. nikon coolpix A with APS-C and Sony RX1 with FF sensor) then I really cannot understand Nokia going backwards with regards to sensor size. It appears there is no real innovation anymore at Nokia since Damian Dinning left. The alleged improvements due to BSI technology are negligable in real life, so you HAVE to either increase sensor size and try to innovate around novel lens technology, or you have to be really innovative with sensor technology (curved sensors anyone?) if you want to be the market leader. Now , we have been waiting for more than a year for the 808 successor to come, and what did we get? Very little innovation compared with the 808. For that money (around 700 Euros) you could get a tiny Sony NEX3 with the tiny pwer zoom and call it a day.

1 upvote
Zlik
By Zlik (Jul 14, 2013)

Quite ironic that the comment just below this one is "too big for me." ;)

2 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (Jul 14, 2013)

He meant it's too yellow !!! ;-)

Comment edited 14 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
Rage Joe
By Rage Joe (Jul 14, 2013)

@ottonis

The sensor is a little bit smaller than what 808 has, but having OIS compensates this very nicely

2 upvotes
Gadgety
By Gadgety (Jul 29, 2013)

"it's just an incremental improvement over the existing IQ of modern phones"

Wow, the understatement of the year.

0 upvotes
Jurka
By Jurka (Jul 14, 2013)

Too big for me.

0 upvotes
chillgreg
By chillgreg (Jul 14, 2013)

I don't care about the phone. I only came to read the comments.

The mental density of the Nokia 1020 article commenters is comparable to those of some DSLRs.

Pureview entertainment!

6 upvotes
CyberAngel
By CyberAngel (Jul 17, 2013)

YEAH!!
That's the best part!
I really enjoy ranting
and even occasional trolling

0 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (Jul 17, 2013)

so YOU ARE the troll in here

0 upvotes
iae aa eia
By iae aa eia (Jul 14, 2013)

For what reason are they cheating on the people (me included) that were amazed by the 808's performance?

Smaller sensor, less well-performing lens, much grainier images, the same 41 MP appeal...

This is not fair, Nokia!

People, run for the 808 while still available or hold your horses 'til they show some respect!

2 upvotes
misolo
By misolo (Jul 16, 2013)

Because the big hump in the back didn't sell well with most potential buyers. I'd be happy with it (even with a bigger one, if the image quality improved), but realize that there are many more people for whom a thin phone is a much bigger priority in their purchase decision.

1 upvote
Rage Joe
By Rage Joe (Jul 13, 2013)

Petro, of course, you know that smaller sensors are not as good in the dark. ( especially without optical image stabilisation - which 1020 has )

But at low ISO things are different, like in daylight you don't need no high ISO, pretty much on the contrary.

So. A lot of balls

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/studio-compare#baseDir=%2Freviews_data&cameraDataSubdir=boxshot&indexFileName=boxshotindex.xml&presetsFileName=boxshotpresets.xml&showDescriptions=false&headerTitle=Studio%20scene&headerSubTitle=Standard%20studio%20scene%20comparison&masterCamera=nokia_pureview808&masterSample=2012-07-20-0454&slotsCount=4&slot0Camera=nokia_pureview808&slot0Sample=2012-07-20-0454&slot0DisableCameraSelection=true&slot0DisableSampleSelection=true&slot0LinkWithMaster=true&slot1Camera=nikon_d800e&slot1Sample=dsc_0082&slot2Camera=nikon_d7100&slot2Sample=dsc_0162&slot3Camera=canon_eos5dmkiii&slot3Sample=5d3_5198&x=-0.27194256828511937&y=1.209516054661301&extraCameraCount=0

:rj

2 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (Jul 13, 2013)

Joe of course you understand that what the 1020 is calling "lens" is a totally a joke ( a plastic something -with two 2 years life expectancy) - has """""some"""" fall out at corners :

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/studio-compare#baseDir=%2Freviews_data&cameraDataSubdir=boxshot&indexFileName=boxshotindex.xml&presetsFileName=boxshotpresets.xml&showDescriptions=false&headerTitle=Studio%20scene&headerSubTitle=Standard%20studio%20scene%20comparison&masterCamera=nokia_pureview808&masterSample=2012-07-20-0454&slotsCount=4&slot0Camera=nokia_pureview808&slot0Sample=2012-07-20-0454&slot0DisableCameraSelection=true&slot0DisableSampleSelection=true&slot0LinkWithMaster=true&slot1Camera=nikon_d800e&slot1Sample=dsc_0082&slot2Camera=nikon_d7100&slot2Sample=dsc_0162&slot3Camera=canon_eos5dmkiii&slot3Sample=5d3_5198&x=0.9698823329510214&y=-1.2746690560026825&extraCameraCount=0

So. A lot of balls for sure

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
1 upvote
BSmi067
By BSmi067 (Jul 13, 2013)

Take a look at the article on the Nokia site about their Zeiss lenses - no joke - http://conversations.nokia.com/2012/03/05/nokia-808-pureview-carl-zeiss-science-of-making-the-perfect-lens/. I think the 1020 has 6 or 7 elements, one of them glass. Interesting that at such small sizes plastic actually has some benefits.

3 upvotes
Rage Joe
By Rage Joe (Jul 13, 2013)

@BSmi067

These small plastic lenses that Zeiss designs are really interesting. Read somewhere that they can do things to improve the optical design with small lenses in a way that is not possible ( maybe yet) with bigger ones. Interesting times.

3 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (Jul 13, 2013)

Somewhere in the middle there is written that : “We’ve made tremendous progress…now we have really good image quality with cameras below 7mm in height and that’s impressive.” Good ? compared to what ? it is also written that bigger lenses are better but anyhow, Different material bigger the deflection , but i'm sure mr.Carl Zeiss have solved this , still there is falloff at the corners and it's obvious, at the link above, there is also something else, the polymerisation of the material meaning that the falloff of the lens is gonna grow worst as time (heat, dust, direct sunlight) goes by !!!

1 upvote
Rage Joe
By Rage Joe (Jul 14, 2013)

Sheet Pertogel. If and when Nokia 808 resolves more or the same as Nikon D800E and more than Canon 5D mark III and Nikon D7100 - with the best glass - I'd say it's pretty impressive compared to anything. Or what do you say about that comparison:

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/studio-compare#baseDir=%2Freviews_data&cameraDataSubdir=boxshot&indexFileName=boxshotindex.xml&presetsFileName=boxshotpresets.xml&showDescriptions=false&headerTitle=Studio%20scene&headerSubTitle=Standard%20studio%20scene%20comparison&masterCamera=nokia_pureview808&masterSample=2012-07-20-0454&slotsCount=4&slot0Camera=nokia_pureview808&slot0Sample=2012-07-20-0454&slot0DisableCameraSelection=true&slot0DisableSampleSelection=true&slot0LinkWithMaster=true&slot1Camera=nikon_d800e&slot1Sample=dsc_0082&slot2Camera=nikon_d7100&slot2Sample=dsc_0162&slot3Camera=canon_eos5dmkiii&slot3Sample=5d3_5198&x=-0.27194256828511937&y=1.209516054661301&extraCameraCount=0

4 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (Jul 14, 2013)

RageJoe you mistaken about the detail, as the phone camera is positioned at least 65 to 72 percent (during the studio comparison) closer to the comparison chart !! as for the lens is good compared to other camera phones

0 upvotes
Rage Joe
By Rage Joe (Jul 17, 2013)

Sheet Petro, you just don't get it.

1 upvote
Petrogel
By Petrogel (Jul 17, 2013)

You say above that : " If and when Nokia 808 resolves more or the same as Nikon D800E and more than Canon 5D mark III and Nikon D7100 - with the best glass - I'd say it's pretty impressive compared to anything" .
Well that's what i say is "Bullsheet", the camera is positioned a lot closer (i say about 68% to 70% ) to the chart than the other cameras are, that is OBVIOUS when you'll check the angle of view on battery poles, the wristwatch or the the upper part of the globe.
And that is the only reason it "resolves better".
It is not me who's not getting, it's probably you !!!!

Comment edited 9 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (Jul 17, 2013)

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/studio-compare#baseDir=%2Freviews_data&cameraDataSubdir=boxshot&indexFileName=boxshotindex.xml&presetsFileName=boxshotpresets.xml&showDescriptions=false&headerTitle=Studio%20scene&headerSubTitle=Standard%20studio%20scene%20comparison&masterCamera=nokia_pureview808&masterSample=2012-07-20-0469&slotsCount=4&slot0Camera=nokia_pureview808&slot0Sample=2012-07-20-0469&slot0DisableCameraSelection=true&slot0DisableSampleSelection=true&slot0LinkWithMaster=true&slot1Camera=nikon_d3200&slot1Sample=dsc_0012&slot2Camera=canon_eos100d&slot2Sample=img_0072&slot3Camera=ricoh_gr&slot3Sample=r0150242&x=-0.9555159084151051&y=-1.0953588195841717&extraCameraCount=0

0 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (Jul 17, 2013)

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/studio-compare#baseDir=%2Freviews_data&cameraDataSubdir=boxshot&indexFileName=boxshotindex.xml&presetsFileName=boxshotpresets.xml&showDescriptions=false&headerTitle=Studio%20scene&headerSubTitle=Standard%20studio%20scene%20comparison&masterCamera=nokia_pureview808&masterSample=2012-07-20-0469&slotsCount=4&slot0Camera=nokia_pureview808&slot0Sample=2012-07-20-0469&slot0DisableCameraSelection=true&slot0DisableSampleSelection=true&slot0LinkWithMaster=true&slot1Camera=nikon_d3200&slot1Sample=dsc_0012&slot2Camera=canon_eos100d&slot2Sample=img_0072&slot3Camera=ricoh_gr&slot3Sample=r0150242&x=0.8843209719213289&y=-1.1306773977196511&extraCameraCount=0

0 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (Jul 17, 2013)

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/studio-compare#baseDir=%2Freviews_data&cameraDataSubdir=boxshot&indexFileName=boxshotindex.xml&presetsFileName=boxshotpresets.xml&showDescriptions=false&headerTitle=Studio%20scene&headerSubTitle=Standard%20studio%20scene%20comparison&masterCamera=nokia_pureview808&masterSample=2012-07-20-0469&slotsCount=4&slot0Camera=nokia_pureview808&slot0Sample=2012-07-20-0469&slot0DisableCameraSelection=true&slot0DisableSampleSelection=true&slot0LinkWithMaster=true&slot1Camera=nikon_d3200&slot1Sample=dsc_0012&slot2Camera=canon_eos100d&slot2Sample=img_0072&slot3Camera=ricoh_gr&slot3Sample=r0150242&x=-0.30232360562422983&y=1.4248289738430584&extraCameraCount=0

0 upvotes
CyberAngel
By CyberAngel (Jul 17, 2013)

Is there a setting to filter of trolls?
I'm really tired of this
Occasional trolling is ok,
but polluting the whole forum?!!
MODERATORS
I want this troll OUT !!!

0 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (Jul 17, 2013)

MODEARATOOOOORS
lol

0 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (Jul 13, 2013)

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/studio-compare#baseDir=%2Freviews_data&cameraDataSubdir=boxshot&indexFileName=boxshotindex.xml&presetsFileName=boxshotpresets.xml&showDescriptions=false&headerTitle=Studio%20scene&headerSubTitle=Standard%20studio%20scene%20comparison&masterCamera=nokia_pureview808&masterSample=2012-07-20-0469&slotsCount=4&slot0Camera=nokia_pureview808&slot0Sample=2012-07-20-0469&slot0DisableCameraSelection=true&slot0DisableSampleSelection=true&slot0LinkWithMaster=true&slot1Camera=nikon_d800e&slot1Sample=dsc_0098&slot2Camera=nikon_d7100&slot2Sample=dsc_0175&slot3Camera=canon_eos5dmkiii&slot3Sample=5d3_5213&x=-0.27194256828511937&y=1.209516054661301&extraCameraCount=0

0 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (Jul 13, 2013)

For those, who hilariously, trying to compare a phone with a DSLR

2 upvotes
vv50
By vv50 (Jul 13, 2013)

what's hilarious is that you think it's hilarious

5 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (Jul 13, 2013)

And this only the base iso for the average DSLR !!!!

0 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (Jul 13, 2013)

Is it?

0 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (Jul 13, 2013)

This one is for a low budget dslr cheaper than a Nokia 1020 :

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/studio-compare#baseDir=%2Freviews_data&cameraDataSubdir=boxshot&indexFileName=boxshotindex.xml&presetsFileName=boxshotpresets.xml&showDescriptions=false&headerTitle=Studio%20scene&headerSubTitle=Standard%20studio%20scene%20comparison&masterCamera=nokia_pureview808&masterSample=2012-07-20-0469&slotsCount=4&slot0Camera=nokia_pureview808&slot0Sample=2012-07-20-0469&slot0DisableCameraSelection=true&slot0DisableSampleSelection=true&slot0LinkWithMaster=true&slot1Camera=nikon_d3200&slot1Sample=dsc_0012&slot2Camera=canon_eos100d&slot2Sample=img_0072&slot3Camera=ricoh_gr&slot3Sample=r0150242&x=0.9774775922857991&y=-1.2926703973843057&extraCameraCount=0

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (Jul 13, 2013)

Iso 1600 is considered base iso for this category as well .

0 upvotes
vv50
By vv50 (Jul 13, 2013)

yes please continue to show us your dslr fanaticism

1 upvote
Petrogel
By Petrogel (Jul 13, 2013)

The only fanaticism is see in here, is people trying to prove that a phone is superior of a DSLR !

0 upvotes
Zlik
By Zlik (Jul 13, 2013)

I don't think people think this phone is better than a DSLR. Some people have pointed out, however, that in some conditions (good light), the 808 might resolve more detail than a few DSLRs, which is quite a feat.
And I think that the most important thing here is that this cameraphone (or the 808) is miles ahead of every other smartphone in terms of image quality, and for something that you always with you, this device is amazing. There is absolutely no other device on earth that has better camera quality in a package this thin. End of point.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 2 minutes after posting
6 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (Jul 13, 2013)

You might not, but some do, about this being the "absolute no other device on Earth " i don't know if you're referring this Earth or another similar outside our solar system , cause i don't know if you've noticed P&S compact cameras are equipped with zoom lenses that help you maintain the pixel number of your camera while you zoom,

0 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (Jul 13, 2013)

Although I have to admit that Nokia have raised the expectations from big manufacturers such as Nikon Canon Pentax Sony and their P&S camera evolution !!!

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
1 upvote
Zlik
By Zlik (Jul 13, 2013)

@ Petrogel
show me one, just one, point and shoot camera that is as thin as the lumia 1020, and has better image quality, and then we'll talk ;)

2 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (Jul 13, 2013)

Thinner maybe not, but better any time, let's say Sony RX100 for starters with a better price than 1020.

Then !!!! will talk? why should we ? ;-)

Comment edited 18 seconds after posting
1 upvote
urix
By urix (Jul 14, 2013)

Yes, sir. A Digicam like Sony RX100-II is more capable than Lumia 1020, giving a better sensor, a tilting screen, etc. But it is dedicated photo tool which price tag is similar to the one of the multi-purpose Lumia. Except that, we are unlikely to find a dozen of P&S digicams, justifying easily the fuss with a separate photo gadget.

DSLRs are in a diferent league. But not all ILCs of course. Personally, I had a chance to play with RX100 and NEX-6 side by side at a local store yesterday. It's all about an optics, but I find the RX100 to focus quicker and more reliably at any of its focal lengths than the NEX with conventional kit lenses. Not to mention size difference.

2 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (Jul 14, 2013)

Everything that has a zoom lens, is not more than a year old and costs around 500€ is better than this.
1.Sony-RX100 II
2.Sony-RX100
3.Canon-G1X
4.Canon- G15
5.Nikon 1 (all 4 of them have better image quality )
6.Nikon- Coolpix A
7.Nikon- P7700
8.Pentax- MX-1
9.Ricoh- GR
10.Fujifilm- X20
11.Panasonic- LX7
A dozen -Olympus- XZ-2 iHS

1 upvote
vv50
By vv50 (Jul 14, 2013)

Yes Petrogel! Please continue to compare a camera designed to compete in the smartphone space, with dedicated high-end cameras! people need your wisdom!

3 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (Jul 15, 2013)

@vv50
I'll start to believe that you really love commenting my comments and you know what that means ? ......... i'll come with newer and more wise comments just for you .

1 upvote
misolo
By misolo (Jul 16, 2013)

How is 1600 "base ISO"? I don't think that means what you think it means... If you want to make an "equivalent" comparison that would be ISO 100 f/2 on the Nokia vs. ISO 800 f/16 on an APS-C sensor. Of course, the APS-C camera has the advantage of being able to open the lens further, that's one of the reasons people buy them... But if what has your panties in a bunch are the comments regarding resolution, you need to compare maximum achievable resolution with each camera. On an APS-C camera this is typically ISO 100 f/5.6, on the Nokia it's ISO 100 f/2. Comparing resolution is not what you're doing, you're comparing low-light ability, where I haven't heard anyone say that the Nokia comes even close to a DSLR. Just plain silly.

2 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (Jul 17, 2013)

@ misolo
When i comment that iso1600 is the base iso i meant it's the normal range of usage especially compared to iso 204000 to iso 102000 (for Canon 5D MarkIII) OR iso25000 for most DSLR's
There is no equivalent when it comes to iso. Iso 1600 is iso 1600 no matter the lens, it has to do with the ability of the sensor (the sensitivity) .

1 upvote
aris14
By aris14 (Jul 13, 2013)

A serious tool for reporters. Color of the device should be matte black.

1 upvote
CyberAngel
By CyberAngel (Jul 17, 2013)

Yellow, White, or Black
the same with the Grip
pick yours here
[v] Black CAMERA phone Nokia Lumia 1020
[v] Black GRIP Nokia Lumia PD-95G

0 upvotes
inlawbiker
By inlawbiker (Jul 12, 2013)

I am very impressed, enough to consider buying a Windows phone. I would never, ever have considered this before but the camera has my attention. Now, why is it exclusive to AT&T? Nokia is already exclusive to Windows and now only a single carrier - and the worst one. What are they trying to do to themselves?

3 upvotes
markld
By markld (Jul 13, 2013)

Nokia is really wanting the phone to stay exclusive by only being on at&t. What a marketing blunder! Most people choose their smartphones by carrier because it works well in places they live, work, or travel, which is why I only use Verizon, at&t reminds of the regular dropped calls I used to have. It was hell. Also, I can't believe the so many negative feedbacks on the 1020, I have a Nokia Lumia 928, and use it for my landscaping business, it functions so well in all business ways and photographic ways. Can't even imagine what it would do for me. The naysayers remind me of all people who used to bash digital photography in its infancy as people were still using film. They just didn't have a clue on the revolution taking place. I think Nokia got it right!

1 upvote
misolo
By misolo (Jul 12, 2013)

Close enough to equivalent 28mm f/8: with the grip this may develop a good following with the street shooting crowd.

3 upvotes
GabrielZ
By GabrielZ (Jul 12, 2013)

Great photo capabilities, impressive for a smartphone. But the smartphone specs themselves are a bit below par for a high-end phone.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
supervoid
By supervoid (Jul 12, 2013)

It would only be under powered if it were on the Android platform. For WP8, it will run fine for quite awhile with those specs.

3 upvotes
Plastek
By Plastek (Jul 15, 2013)

Yep. That's the major difference - WP eats only a fraction of resources that Android does. You can easily compare performance of a single-core WP to quad-core Android, and 99% of every-day usage WP will still win. (Not to mention that it's by far more stable and malware-free than Android)

2 upvotes
Photato
By Photato (Jul 12, 2013)

This smartphone can't handle rich saturated colors, even at the lowest ISO and good lighting.
Pictures look life-less.
All you have to do is compare against even cheap P&S like Canon Elph 100 HS or other at DPReview studio comparison shots. (And those are tripod steady shots)
Check the reds or the yellows from the batteries.
At higher ISO, colors get even worse.
This camera-phone would be good for those that like to shoot black and white resolution charts all the time or anyone that want to impress on the 41MP badge.
A real shame, since i wanted to see Nokia do well with their flagship camera-phone, but they decided to come with the same MP bull crap.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 4 minutes after posting
1 upvote
Anfy
By Anfy (Jul 12, 2013)

Would you please post the actual link of the DPreview studio comparison tool with the Nokia Lumia 1020? If not I may think you have a time machine set for the future.

7 upvotes
Zlik
By Zlik (Jul 12, 2013)

Look at those samples from the Nokia 808:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/adriangramunt/sets/72157634521190996/

Do you any other smartphone that can produce photos remotely as good as those ?
By the way, it's not about the 41MP, it's about sensor size.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
6 upvotes
Photato
By Photato (Jul 12, 2013)

No, Is about pixel size, quantity of pixels and sensor size. All bigger better.
The problem with this Nokia approach thoguh is that pixels are too small given that the quantity is overkill for the sensor area. There is a reason why HTC came with the Ultra pixels aka big pixels used in the One. That is how DSLRs can capture great clean pictures, with large pixels even at higher ISO and also is how High sensitive film works, bigger silver salts.

1 upvote
Zlik
By Zlik (Jul 12, 2013)

@ Photato
Big pixels are good only when sensor size is big. The HTC is a joke, the iphone 5, samsung galasy s4, lumia 920 all beat the HTC in image quality. The 1020 is in another league.

9 upvotes
Rage Joe
By Rage Joe (Jul 12, 2013)

It's about the lens and the sensor,

:rj

3 upvotes
Dpreviewmember
By Dpreviewmember (Jul 12, 2013)

Don't agree with Photato's comments. It all comes to final product quality : JPEGs. That results from a combination of factors, lenses, sensor size / type, thermal dissipation in and around sensor circuitry, image processing engine, etc. Check this link :

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/sony-alpha-nex-f3/11

compare the NEX-F3 with the X-20, X-Z2, G15 and Nokia 808 38MP vs 8MP all at ISO1600, you will see the 808 8MP JPEGs are as good as the rest but the NEX-F3 of course. That is really impressive. Check the Samsung S4 in the same studio sample and it definitely sucks. Seen HTC photos and it's larger pixels don't matter because at the end JPEGs are as any other cheap phone.
To get better colors and exposure just change Nokia's default values to get anything that pleases you : saturation, sharpness, white balance, etc.
OH and it saves your setup for next time !

2 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (Jul 13, 2013)

The only thing this phone has got is a big number of pixels and that's all. It is obvious that image quality is better compared with other PHONES and that's it !!!!!!!
A Sony NEX-F3 can take a picture under absolutely NO LIGHT conditions on low speed (30 sec) or bulb (30minutes open aperture) at iso 16,000
SO PLEASE stop being hilarious by comparing it with REAL PHOTO CAMERAS
What is this phone's iso limit or low speed ??
LOL

1 upvote
vv50
By vv50 (Jul 13, 2013)

you always prove your narrowmindedness with arguments like this

3 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (Jul 13, 2013)

No see the proof some comments above, on the link attached, provided by dpreview,

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Zlik
By Zlik (Jul 13, 2013)

@ Petrogel
The only important thing is that this SMARTPHONE is better than every other SMARTPHONE (except the 808) in terms of image quality. If you want great/the best image quality in your smartphone (a device you always have with you), what are the better options ? Most people are not claiming that this has better quality than a DSLR.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 2 minutes after posting
3 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (Jul 13, 2013)

I do agree with you COMPARED WITH OTHER SMARTPHONES !!!!! some they do insist on comparing it with DSLR's

0 upvotes
Zlik
By Zlik (Jul 13, 2013)

@ Petrogel
There is nothing wrong in comparing a smartphone to a DSLR. Comparing it doesn't mean it is better. It serves the purpose of knowing how the smaller camera (the smartphone) fares against the best that is possible out there (DSLRs like the D800). It is very informative to know that a camera like the 808 can resolve a huge amount of details, even more than some DSLRs, in good light. But that it has no chance as soon as the light levels are low, because a DSLR still has a much, much bigger sensor. DSLRs are the benchmarks, nothing wrong with comparing a smartphone to see how near or how bad they are in different situations.

4 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (Jul 13, 2013)

No there is nothing wrong

Comment edited 6 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Plastek
By Plastek (Jul 15, 2013)

So why are you arguing about it all over the comments like a kid with ADHD?

2 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (Jul 15, 2013)

For exactly the same reasons you do !!!

0 upvotes
CyberAngel
By CyberAngel (Jul 17, 2013)

FILTER !!!
I need a filter
Moderators: Please remove the worst trolls!!

0 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (Jul 17, 2013)

Moderatoooooooors !!!

0 upvotes
siberstorm27
By siberstorm27 (Jul 12, 2013)

Nokia just played their hand, and it wasn't a very exciting one. The specs have been leaked for months, and everyone had been hoping for something better, but in the end it is still a Lumia 920 with a Pureview sensor grafted onto it. Nokia dropped the ball when they were ahead. Now that they have a competitor, the Sony Honami, it's a different market environment. The 20MP 1/1.6" of the Honami uses bigger pixels than the 1020, and the rest of the specs, size, and design are top notch, so unless people really really want that extra 1-2x zoom factor, I don't see much going for the Lumia 1020. It won't even be available outside of At&t and goes for an obscene $299/$700 retail.

0 upvotes
Zlik
By Zlik (Jul 12, 2013)

1) what's wrong with the lumia 920 ? This one has even double the RAM and is lighter (Android NEEDS the extreme specs to keep up with the better optimized OSes like iOS and WP8)
2) the Honami is not even announced, ridiculous argument. You critisize an announced smartphone with rumors of another?
3) the 1020 has a slightly bigger sensor (more important than pixel size), and unless the "Honami" has OIS, and a lens that can compete with the excellent (as seen in the Nokia 808) f2.2 Zeiss lens, the 1020 will certainly still easily be the winner
4) even if the sony turns out to be as good, why would it be a clear choice vs the 1020 ?
5) do you qualify the price of the 32gb iphone 5 as obscene too?

I seriously hope the sony will not disappoint, because competition is always positive, but your arguments against the 1020 are weak.

11 upvotes
siberstorm27
By siberstorm27 (Jul 12, 2013)

1. You think a year old model that still uses dual-core with 720p screen is still good? This is why Windows Phone is selling so poorly.
2. Honami is set for September 4 announcement. You are not a well informed person.
3. Do you even know what pixel size is? It's sensor size divided by number of pixels. I really question your basic camera understanding. It's laughable that good lenses, OIS, and other camera goodies are unique to Nokia. You do know that Nokia actually makes REAL cameras right?
4. Learn to understand what you read.
5. Yes I do. But Apple can pull it off because of their brand and their ecosystem. Nokia is a floundering company with poor sales shackled to a restrictive and barely updated OS. The Lumia 920 retailed for $450 last year. It should be about $350 with its dated internals by now. Do you think that camera is worth $350+ extra by itself? Yes, obscene.

Suprising how ill-informed and combative even some DPreview readers are.

0 upvotes
iftybbar
By iftybbar (Jul 13, 2013)

Pixel size is certainly relevant, but when comparing between products of a comparable generation, and even in that case, not as major an issue as it used to be. Consider that the 36MP D800 is virtually on par with the 12MP D700, definitely when you scale them down to comparable size, despite having much smaller photosite size.

As for the phone being outdated simply because of a lower core count, that is a different argument for a different place. 720p may be less than the competition, but if all phones were identical what would be the point? The USP here is the camera, and it is head-and-shoulders above ANYTHING from any other smartphone, and social media thrives on connected imaging, not on ultrasharp screens.

2 upvotes
Zlik
By Zlik (Jul 13, 2013)

@ siberstorm27
So please, educate us, with your "camera understanding", how come does the D800 have a much better image quality than the D7000, although they have almost the same pixel size ? And then, explain us why the D600 and the D800 have virtually the same image quality, although they have very different pixel size ?
I thank you in advance.

2 upvotes
wansai
By wansai (Jul 17, 2013)

Siberstorm; I'm using a 2 year old 1GHZ snapdragon, 512 RAM HTC HD7 running WP7.8x

It's smoother and more responsive than my GSIII. Hardware is relative to what it's being used for. On an Android, you do need massive hardware upgrades - otherwise the experience can be poor. On a Windows Phone, it's simply unnecessary. When I look to buy a phone, specs rarely matter. It only matters when I look to buy an android device because I know from experience not to get mid range or low end hardware.

I'm a hardcore gamer. I could tell you that your computer is woefully weak and overpriced compared to mine but that's not true at all. If all you use your PC for is normal every day work/personal things, any PC from the last 3 years is more than powerful enough with extra headroom.

It's only underpowered for the very extreme top end users. And they are rare enough that I can assume you aren't a top end power user.

0 upvotes
mrdancer
By mrdancer (Jul 12, 2013)

Now, if they could just get this kind of technology into compact P&S cameras, it could be their savior.

1 upvote
Photato
By Photato (Jul 12, 2013)

Why? many p&s can take much better pictures than this nokia MP koolaid. Have you check the samples and compare?

0 upvotes
Dpreviewmember
By Dpreviewmember (Jul 12, 2013)

Wrong, just check the samples !

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/sony-alpha-nex-f3/11

Only a few high level P&S can take pictures as good as the Nokia 808, check the studio test with 38MP and 8MP JPEGs and you will see that only Fuji X-20, Olympus X-Z2, SONY RX100, Canon G15 and similar can compare at high ISOs like 800 and 1600.

If you really want good quality photos get a NEX-F3 for U$500 or an entry level DLSR. But non of those will go all the time in your pocket as a phone does ;-)

Best camera is the one that's with you all time ?
Maybe.
But if you like photography and want the best of both worlds buy the best camera phone and a good 4/3 or DSLR.

2 upvotes
cinemascope
By cinemascope (Jul 12, 2013)

I love Nokia, but cannot say the same about Microsoft. They can make the best OS in the world for all I care, I still won't give them my money as long as I can buy something else... And it's a pitty, as I'd be more than happy for Nokia to take my dough...
Android might not be the best thing since sliced bread, but it's open source (or close enough), and I am a much happier person supporting that open ecosystem than anything else...
I also value my privacy and while none of the big three have a great track record, I'd pick Google any day over Apple or MS...
Anyway, I might not be your typical phone buyer, but it's not always a matter of technical prowess... Some people will still stand by principle, religion, fanboyism or whatever makes them happy... If someone gave me a WP device for free, I'd give it away to someone else the same day, or I'd sell it without opening the box if I needed the cash...

0 upvotes
Impulses
By Impulses (Jul 12, 2013)

Meh, the open source factor is kind of a red herring unless you're a geek and you're gonna enjoy tinkering with the phone (nothing wrong with that, I'm one)... For the average user WP still offers far more choice and degrees of customization than iOS. I think it's actually quite clever of MS to be straddling this invisible line between Android's approach and iOS'. In the long run, I think WP will be Android's biggest competition.

Apple's shown it can survive easily enough while catering to a niche (% of Mac users vs PCs), iOS isn't there yet and it may never fall quite that far behind in user base but I could see them falling into parity with WP. MS's got a lot riding on WP and their overall mobile strategy, Surface didn't exactly convince me but it shows great promise and a lot of foresight for a company that ran itself into a terrible rut at one point.

Anyway, I value my time and money far too much to that kinda stance over a consumer product and limit myself artificially, there's far more important issues in this world. No offense...

6 upvotes
Todd Ka
By Todd Ka (Jul 12, 2013)

I switched from Android to a Nokina windows phone. I really like it much better then Android.
From a corporate perspective MS is the devil you know. Google is going to take over everything.

Comment edited 36 seconds after posting
5 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (Jul 12, 2013)

"I also value my privacy and while none of the big three have a great track record, I'd pick Google any day over Apple or MS..."

1, Google has also been a source for NSA, meaning no privacy.

2, while closed systems like iOS and WP8 do have major disadvantages, at least they're impossible to hack into them by third party crackers / hackers (not speaking of NSA here). That's (security from individual hackers' attacks, backdoors etc.) probably the only advantage of a system's being this closed.

3 upvotes
Zlik
By Zlik (Jul 12, 2013)

I would certainly not trust Google any more than Microsoft or Apple.

4 upvotes
dbateman
By dbateman (Jul 12, 2013)

"2, while closed systems like iOS and WP8 do have major disadvantages, at least they're impossible to hack into them by third party crackers / hackers (not speaking of NSA here). That's (security from individual hackers' attacks, backdoors etc.) probably the only advantage of a system's being this closed."

Sorry your wrong here. Have you heard of jail break? The hack to get you into the iOS. Apple phones have been hacked for a long time. Windows phones might be hacked right now (I dont' know). If not will only take a day or two.

Look a Blu-ray, the day a new code or encrption is released (requiring you to install new firmware on a player) a hack or crack is issued. The longest time was about 3 days till the crack.

You have to be smart with your information. Nothing is crack proof!

0 upvotes
Plastek
By Plastek (Jul 15, 2013)

dbateman - if you think that "it will only take a day or two" than you obviously have no slightest clue about mobile OSes and just lost all the remains of creditibility you had.

Also I think he was talking more about malware (ENORMOUS issue on Android and nearly non-existent problem on WP or iOS) than anything else.

2 upvotes
Impulses
By Impulses (Jul 12, 2013)

I'm all in on Android right now but WP would easily be my second OS of choice and I may try it someday (this isn't really enough to tempt me, but it's close)... Not sure I get all the iOS vs WP vs Android hate, I mean, I see plenty of it elsewhere... I guess I just didn't expect DPR/Connect's audience to have such a large cross section of the worst of the smartphone world. :P

WP's still just missing a few things for me (USB OTG, a few apps, Chrome tab sync, etc.), and I'm not entirely sold on the tiles concept (properly managed widgets are still more flexible and useful, but I guess tiles are much easier for the non-geek to deal with and it beats iOS' grid)... That being said, I do admire some of it's elegance and I hope this phone's a smash for Nokia.

The $300 price point and AT&T exclusivity worries me a bit (one or the other would be fine, the two combined could quickly drive it into obscurity)... Hopefully MS/Nokia throw plenty of marketing muscle behind it, or the price drops quickly enough amongst third parties (seems to happen for anything not built by Samsung/Apple lately, which I have no problem with!).

Honestly, if you really enjoy smartphones, whether you're a geek/tinkerer or just a busy guy for whom they're an essential tool, then you should welcome this level of competition and gamesmanship between THREE big players. It's the best thing that can happen to any industry, it makes them ALL better. The second it slows down to a two horse race (or worse) and there isn't room for much else, then I'd worry.

2 upvotes
markld
By markld (Jul 14, 2013)

Your thoughts are well said, refreshing, much more balanced than many on this page. I can't believe people putting so much invested thought into bashing other's choices. I like my Nokia Lumia 928 phone and really glad I made the switch to WP. I'm equally glad for individuals to make their individual choices, as most of my family is made up of 5 iPhones, 4 Android phones, and I'm the sole WP user and I could care less what others use. I want different phone systems to survive so we all win by market competition, too.

1 upvote
fid2
By fid2 (Jul 12, 2013)

41mpx on a sensor so little are not really useful. too noise for me.
you can see it just considering a little zoom on a picture (during day or night). Obviously, as a cameraphone, it is a good product, but definitively i will not consider it as a product for photographers. Here some samples:

http://www.fotografareindigitale.com/2013/07/nokia-lumia-1020-ed-il-sensore-da-41mpx-quanto-rumore/

0 upvotes
HarrieD7000
By HarrieD7000 (Jul 12, 2013)

Just wondering, you think it could be possible to make a phone call with this nifty camera?

2 upvotes
Zlik
By Zlik (Jul 12, 2013)

Nokia has always been the leader in terms of call quality (audio clarity and background noise reduction). Phone calls on a lumia are amazing ;)

5 upvotes
vv50
By vv50 (Jul 12, 2013)

nokia developed the amr-wb codec and gave it away for free. pity networks are slow in adopting it, but now that it is in all new phones including the iphone 5, that should be the next "big thing" for the providers.

0 upvotes
halc
By halc (Jul 14, 2013)

Zlik,

actually this (Nokia call clarity king) is no longer true. It used to be, but no more.

If you read objective sound quality (sending/receiving) tests from Connect Magazin (GER) you notice, that Nokia is perhaps at 3rd place behind Sony and Samsung, although there's quite a bit of model based variance.

Nokia is riding on their former glory of superior reception, durability and call quality -- none of which is any longer superior, due to their past 3 years of cost cutting and outsourcing almost everything.

They are still good, but no longer objectively the best.

0 upvotes
Plastek
By Plastek (Jul 15, 2013)

Behind Sony? Huh? They've got to be kidding me.

1 upvote
CyberAngel
By CyberAngel (Jul 17, 2013)

It sayz so in a magazine article so it must be True(TM)

0 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (Jul 17, 2013)

Well if it says so in a magazine article ............
LOL

0 upvotes
GURL
By GURL (Jul 12, 2013)

Macro?

0 upvotes
Zlik
By Zlik (Jul 12, 2013)

Macro with the 808 (the 1020 cannot be worse, the minimum focusing distance on the 808 is quite big, but with the quality and the pixels it has, you zoom in and get gorgeous macro shots with great bokeh) :

http://www.flickr.com/photos/adriangramunt/9224358539/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/adriangramunt/9232457749/

crop from picture above:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/adriangramunt/9232455939/

3 upvotes
bloodycape
By bloodycape (Jul 12, 2013)

It's not on Verizon so it's a no go for me.

0 upvotes
vv50
By vv50 (Jul 13, 2013)

exclusivity is for a fixed period, then nokia opens up to verizon. think lumia 928

1 upvote
CyberAngel
By CyberAngel (Jul 17, 2013)

I'd rather think Verizon Nokia Lumia 1020
with front camera flash ;-)

0 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (Jul 17, 2013)

With 51mp front camera !!!!

0 upvotes
Joffun
By Joffun (Jul 12, 2013)

No SD card slot? Shame - I would have considered buying this otherwise, but with music and apps on it there is going to be little space for photos (particularly if svaing at full res). As it is my iPhone has only 1Gb out of 32Gb free

2 upvotes
jdpatl
By jdpatl (Jul 12, 2013)

2700 full res images if memory were empty.

12000 5MP images if memory were empty.

If you take and keep that many photos, surely you would back them up to your PC? (Even half that amount, to allow for some apps and music?)

2 upvotes
vv50
By vv50 (Jul 12, 2013)

why don't you use a computer?

0 upvotes
tompabes2
By tompabes2 (Jul 12, 2013)

probably because a computer does not fit very well in a pocket...

0 upvotes
vv50
By vv50 (Jul 12, 2013)

you pocket your computer when you connect your phone?

2 upvotes
Sowande
By Sowande (Jul 12, 2013)

The challenge is actually getting them onto a computer.

0 upvotes
vv50
By vv50 (Jul 13, 2013)

how is it a challenge?

1 upvote
vv50
By vv50 (Jul 13, 2013)

how is it a challenge?

0 upvotes
CyberAngel
By CyberAngel (Jul 17, 2013)

I cloud them to SkyDrive

0 upvotes
Petrogel
By Petrogel (Jul 17, 2013)

Then you SkyDrive them, i cloud is for i phones !
:-)

Comment edited 32 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
ntsan
By ntsan (Jul 12, 2013)

Judging from all the photos released the 808 still have advantage in terms of image quality. The noise on the 1020 is a bit too much, and bokeh is not as great too. (Toshiba sensor > Sony sensor)

But with OIS the video should be much improved though

3 upvotes
TrojMacReady
By TrojMacReady (Jul 12, 2013)

The 808PV sensor is quite a bit larger, so despite the BSI design of the 1020 sensor, it shouldn't be too much of a surprise. That being said, the new sensor does seem to handle wide DR scenes much better (the 808 was notorious for clipping).

1 upvote
3DSimmon
By 3DSimmon (Jul 12, 2013)

Do you mean the set on Flickr?, I am just not convinced with the new sensor, take a closer look at the original pictures from the 1020 and there is a lot smudging going on, nowhere near as crisp and clean as the 808, please, somebody tell me otherwise.

1 upvote
Hobbit13
By Hobbit13 (Jul 12, 2013)

As far as I know, all samples of the 1020 were from pre-production models, so it's too soon to tell.

And if the 1020 indeed does better on dynamic range, it might be a better camera despite less sharpness, and more noise. On top of that you'll get image stabilization and a much more up-to-date OS.

1 upvote
Zlik
By Zlik (Jul 12, 2013)

The 808 might have a slight advantage, but if you look at the samples here, they look impressive:
http://www.photographyblog.com/news/official_nokia_lumia_1020_sample_images/

2 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (Jul 12, 2013)

"the new sensor does seem to handle wide DR scenes much better (the 808 was notorious for clipping)."

That's DEFINITELY good news!

4 upvotes
joe6pack
By joe6pack (Jul 12, 2013)

The 808 is a lot thicker too. 13.9mm vs 10.4mm. That would explain why Nokia has to go with a smaller sensor and slower lens.

4 upvotes
CyberAngel
By CyberAngel (Jul 17, 2013)

Remeber when the Nokia 808 came out?
Nokia had to upgrade the software.
Same here.
Only after the first upgrade do we *really* know.
BUT
Anyway the 808 sensor *is* bigger
and thus gathers more light anyway
The BSI sensor also has better dynamics
AND
OIS !!!
Just compare 920 video to 808 and you see the light!
FINALLY
SUPERIOR PRO CAMERA SOFTWARE

0 upvotes
Maverick_
By Maverick_ (Jul 11, 2013)

why is this only on windows? who uses windows mobile these days. last time I used windows mobile was in 2010 and after switching to android I never looked back.

2 upvotes
mad marty
By mad marty (Jul 12, 2013)

Windows Mobile sucked, it's no cmparison to Windows Phone which doesn't mean that everybody likes it.

I had Android and it was ok but I love WP. No fiddling with settings, no senseless playing around with apps or roms, for hours, days and weeks, no time killing.
It's just what I need. Internet, phone, music and sometimes taking a picture and all the really important things and apps are there.
And the focusing goes on with the system. Even with a single core soc everything is running smooth. With Android this isn't garaunteed even with the fastest 4 core soc.

In the end it's just personal taste.
I will buy the nokia, if the price goes down a bit.

Comment edited 5 times, last edit 9 minutes after posting
11 upvotes
BaristaW
By BaristaW (Jul 12, 2013)

This is not windows mobile though. Windows Phone is something that has been out for a few years now and is way better OS than windows mobile and may I dare say iOS as well as android. Have you tried that?

3 upvotes
jdpatl
By jdpatl (Jul 12, 2013)

Marty - it's a dual core processor. I know it's a small difference, but for accuracy sake...

As for the price, check this out if you're in the US:

http://www.nokia.com/us-en/tradeup/

1 upvote
mad marty
By mad marty (Jul 12, 2013)

I know, I just wanted to point out that even a single core can be enough for WP.
I live in Germany and I'm still satisfied with my WP7 smartphone, so I plan to buy it next year maybe for the half of the release price.

By the way: I hate windows 8 on a desktop PC. This and Steve Ballmer are the biggest desease of the PC.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 14 minutes after posting
1 upvote
markld
By markld (Jul 14, 2013)

Yes, 6%, of all smartphone users are WP users which is absurdly small for what a good system it really is. I just switched from Android and I liked it. But the switch to WP8 with a Nokia Lumia 928 has been easy and it has been a boon for my landscaping business. You asked who uses WP, well I do and am very glad I do.

2 upvotes
lylejk
By lylejk (Jul 11, 2013)

41MPx? Wow. Maybe a game changer but you will have to have a 2 terabyte smartcard to store just a handful of picts. lol

:)

0 upvotes
Zlik
By Zlik (Jul 11, 2013)

No, the full resolution images are about 10MB in size (talking about the Nokia 808 with the similar 41MP sensor).
And there is the option to save the images at a high quality, 5MP setting, free of noise and free of bayer artifacts.

3 upvotes
bigley Ling
By bigley Ling (Jul 12, 2013)

Well, with 3rd party software allowing for 100% JPG compression, the 808 produces 10Mb average sized files when being used at 12MP, and 26Mb files for 41MP, there abouts. So yes, you will need larger storage requirements

0 upvotes
jdpatl
By jdpatl (Jul 12, 2013)

Actually, the 5MP images take up about 2-3 MB, and full-size images take up 10-12MB.

If you are using it primarily for photos, assuming 16GB (using half memory for apps, music, etc.), you can store about 1350 high res images on the device.

Plus you can configure to not save the high res images, and also to upload to Skydrive.

I think 1300 images, music, and apps, is more than suitable. If I wanted to play music, I would use an iPod. The purpose of this phone is obviously for people who want to take really good photos, without carrying an extra device.

And really, how hard is it to connect up to your PC when it gets full??

1 upvote
webrunner5
By webrunner5 (Jul 11, 2013)

Oh come on. If it was Android you would want Windows 8..

7 upvotes
Maverick_
By Maverick_ (Jul 11, 2013)

"who would want W8"
my thinking exactly.

Comment edited 39 seconds after posting
2 upvotes
BaristaW
By BaristaW (Jul 12, 2013)

Have either of you guys tried it? What don't you like about it? I use it and love it!

7 upvotes
tompabes2
By tompabes2 (Jul 12, 2013)

No, if it was Android I would want... a Nokia 1020! :)

0 upvotes
Sowande
By Sowande (Jul 12, 2013)

I need access to the file system!!1!1!! Sometimes I want to be able to dump pictures into Bridge, quickly. Not have to wait for my computer to load WindowsPhone Connector. Oh gawwwwd...

0 upvotes
vv50
By vv50 (Jul 13, 2013)

http://allaboutwindowsphone.com/features/item/17848_Showstoppers_update_for_moving.php
- "As of Windows Phone 8, the device appears as a regular disk under Windows 7 and 8, so media can be freely copied backwards and forwards. In fact, seeing as PIM sync and updates all happen over the air, there's little reason to ever use the official Windows Phone desktop software at all, unless you desperately want a hand-holding experience. "

2 upvotes
BaristaW
By BaristaW (Jul 11, 2013)

Glad they made the case an optional thing. I'd probably never buy it because I am happy with the battery life on my 920 and if this thing is in the same ballpark as its cousin then I'm all for it.

2 upvotes
jdpatl
By jdpatl (Jul 12, 2013)

In my experience, the 920 and 1020 have very similar battery life... I easily get a day out of it, unless I challenge it with a lot of positioning use, or make it seek a signal all day.

0 upvotes
Rage Joe
By Rage Joe (Jul 11, 2013)

Well done Nokia. It really is just amazing how they got all that camera stuff even with an optical image stabilization stuffed inside such a sleek and thin body. That's the new king. Give me one.

me tarzan you jane,
:rj

13 upvotes
Zlik
By Zlik (Jul 11, 2013)

Especially the manual focus is a great addition to the options you already had with the 808.

7 upvotes
bigley Ling
By bigley Ling (Jul 12, 2013)

Manual focus may be a great addition, but from the official Nokia 1020 Launch video, there is no instant zoom assist aid to help super fine focus manually. Maybe we will see this being added in a upcoming software update

0 upvotes
edee1337
By edee1337 (Jul 13, 2013)

The app ProShot has MF Assist option http://www.windowsphone.com/en-us/store/app/proshot/3d6a3d7e-5aca-4aee-b059-590b9f53cc13

Full disclosure: I made this app :)

0 upvotes
Rage Joe
By Rage Joe (Jul 11, 2013)

Android ;))) haha, you just can't stop to complain!

3 upvotes
Gadgety
By Gadgety (Jul 11, 2013)

"Nokia has managed to take some very novel and impressive imaging technology and fit it all eleganty in a device that is effectively no bulkier than most high-end smartphones. "

So true. It's very, very impressive. I guess the desire to lessen the bulk has also diminished the sensor size from the 808's 1/1.2 to 1/1.5. Never mind, this is the #1 camera phone.

12 upvotes
TrojMacReady
By TrojMacReady (Jul 11, 2013)

Yet with a lens that is a hair faster.

3 upvotes
bloodycape
By bloodycape (Jul 12, 2013)

Sensor is also BSI, vs the 808, which isn't/

3 upvotes
Scorpius1
By Scorpius1 (Jul 11, 2013)

I would have considered buying it if it ran Android....

3 upvotes
pechio
By pechio (Jul 12, 2013)

I am still recovering from the Android Thunderbolt,
my Lumia 928 eases the pain.

3 upvotes
gialandra
By gialandra (Jul 12, 2013)

I agree...I would have considered buying it if it ran Android....

4 upvotes
Sowande
By Sowande (Jul 12, 2013)

I would too.

1 upvote
vv50
By vv50 (Jul 13, 2013)

then wait for sony

1 upvote
Total comments: 164
About us
Sitemap
Connect