mobile photography technology, culture and community
www.dpreview.com

Senior Nokia imaging engineer is joining Apple

35
Despite running the outdated Symbian OS, the Nokia 808 is by many still regarded as the best smartphone camera. 

According to a report by Engadget, Apple has hired Nokia's head of Lumia imaging, Ari Partinen. Partinen sent out a tweet saying today was his last day at Nokia and that in June he'll be starting "a new chapter in Cupertino." In a later tweet he confirmed the company he'll be working for in Cupertino is indeed Apple.  

With their excellent optical image stabilization and high-resolution sensors that enable lossless digital zoom and clever downscaling, Nokia's Lumia devices, especially the 808 and 1020, are widely regarded as the smartphone cameras with the best image quality on the market. While Mr. Partinen's move doesn't mean we'll see PureView technology in one of the next iPhones, it shows that Apple is serious about camera technology in its devices.

The iPhone 5s is already delivering very good image quality without any optical image stabilization, large sensors or fancy software tricks. It'll be interesting to see what future Apple smartphones can do if Mr. Partinen gets to implement some of those ideas.  

Via: Engadget


  

Comments

Total comments: 35
vlad0
By vlad0 (2 months ago)

Cool paper on the oversampling work he did at Nokia

http://www.imagesensors.org/Past%20Workshops/2013%20Workshop/2013%20Papers/13-1_071-Alakarhu.pdf

He is also a co-author

0 upvotes
Ben O Connor
By Ben O Connor (2 months ago)

Even apple realized that, they are lacking of innovation in hardware... Nokia has the best lens-sensor mixture out there without any software app need.

not just for Lumia 1020, but also for Lumia 925, 930, 1520 and tablet.

0 upvotes
ottonis
By ottonis (2 months ago)

The real mastermind behind Nokia's advanced camera technology was Damian Dinning, who jumped ship around the time when the Lumia line started. He was responsible for the incredible Nokia N8 and for the PureView 808 camera development and - in my opinion - the one who was driving camera tech innovation and development. Everything that Nokia/Microsoft brought out after Dinnig left, was symptomatic of stagnation. In fact, the camera module in the Lumia 1020 was infetior in many aspects compared to 808, despite introducing OIS.

That being said, as I see it, Apple should have hired Damian Dinning if they want to take the leadership in cameraphone technology.

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (2 months ago)

Damian Dinning is more of a camera / tech evangelist than an actual engineer. It's the latter that do the *real* work.

1 upvote
new boyz
By new boyz (2 months ago)

"Damian Dinning is more of a camera / tech evangelist than an actual engineer. It's the latter that do the *real* work."

Well, Steve Jobs was more like the former, Steve Wozniak is more of the latter. Who's the legend now*?

* for non-geeky community members. We geeks know who is the true legend.

1 upvote
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (2 months ago)

What I mean was Damien doesn't really have special hardware-level knowledge and, consequently, employing him wouldn't be really beneficial for Apple. As opposed to a real engineer.

1 upvote
DVT80111
By DVT80111 (2 months ago)

Just make the camera response to voice command, stupid.

0 upvotes
LiSkynden
By LiSkynden (2 months ago)

Nothing lasts forever ... this was on our newspaper today:
http://i1033.photobucket.com/albums/a414/lindon4/2SCAN994.jpg
"NOKIA signs changed to Microsoft..."
"Nokia period went to history last Friday when the last showing thing of Nokia was cleaned away..."

0 upvotes
vlad0
By vlad0 (2 months ago)

Not that slow to move there are they...

0 upvotes
tabloid
By tabloid (2 months ago)

Lets all get used to it gentlemen….technology is changing on a daily basis.

Just sit back and observe.

Things that people whined about a few weeks ago…is now 'old school'.

1 upvote
CameraLabTester
By CameraLabTester (2 months ago)

News:
Canon QC employee for installing D300s sensor transferring to new job with Leica.

The new job will be vacuuming aluminium shavings...

.

1 upvote
alpha90290
By alpha90290 (2 months ago)

Seem like the only thing that the iPhone can improve is the camera. Samsung camera is getting better and Apple must widen the gap to get back the lost market share.

3 upvotes
retro76
By retro76 (2 months ago)

LOL, your joking right ?

0 upvotes
beenthere
By beenthere (2 months ago)

Canon/Nikon/Sony be afraid, be very afraid..

2 upvotes
ryansholl
By ryansholl (2 months ago)

Meanwhile Nokia breathes easy as they just rid themselves of an hyper-ego'ed blowhard that contributed nothing, for all we know.

Three paragraphs on depreview and a tweet is worth exactly nothing in the real world.

3 upvotes
DarkShift
By DarkShift (2 months ago)

Really?

Toy cameras as seen in smartphones are for holiday use at most. Meanwhile professional and amateur photographer will continue to use real cameras with much better shooting performance.

4 upvotes
deserthawk742
By deserthawk742 (2 months ago)

For Nikon, no, because they're not much into compact cameras. For Canon and Sony, yes, big percentages of their sales are from compact cameras.

0 upvotes
jaykumarr
By jaykumarr (2 months ago)

Amazon is a seller. Amazon owns DPreview.com.

That explain why every possible consumable item that has Camera appears in DPreview.com.

Soon, DPreview.com will review or preview Hard disks (that can store photos), printers (that can print photos) as long as they are sell/list -able in Amazon.com

0 upvotes
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (2 months ago)

We write mainly about cameras and smartphones on this site, both of which you can purchase on Amazon.com. That is correct. I am not sure what that has to do with an engineer changing jobs though?

10 upvotes
jaykumarr
By jaykumarr (2 months ago)

I said what i said in a 'general' idea not specific to this article. I feel that dpreview is publishing too much news and I am addicted to their news.

1 upvote
Tonkotsu Ramen
By Tonkotsu Ramen (2 months ago)

Hopefully they make something good enough to throw both the mobile and the camera world into disarray again.

Both sides are stagnanting imo.

3 upvotes
vlad0
By vlad0 (2 months ago)

If the 808 was an Apple product Sony's P&S business would've been gone by now.

0 upvotes
Jogger
By Jogger (2 months ago)

"...it shows that Apple is serious about camera technology in its devices." .. actually, no, not unless they put a larger sensor into their phone, which means some sort of hump, which goes against their design philosophy.

1 upvote
ryansholl
By ryansholl (2 months ago)

Not necessarily. They could build forward into the screen, giving a blank spot in the screen that serves as a button for the camera.

This is insane, of course, and you're exactly right, but I bet 10% of people thought "that's not a bad idea" as they read that first sentence.

1 upvote
Carnivore99
By Carnivore99 (2 months ago)

I'd love to see Apple put out a special photographer's edition iPhone with a large sensor and PureView-equivalent technology in it, even if it were a more expensive, premium iPhone model.

Nokia has already demonstrated there's a demand for such a thing, just imagine how much *more* popular it would be as an iOS product instead of Nokia's awful Symbian or Windows Phone offerings.

2 upvotes
Impulses
By Impulses (2 months ago)

Apple's all about having as few SKUs and as simple a lineup as possible, doubt it'd mix well with their industrial design either. It'll be interesting to see what he contributes, but I doubt it'll be a Franken iPure.

1 upvote
venancio
By venancio (2 months ago)

very intriguing... Microsoft bought Nokia, Nokia's head honcho moves to Apple, Apple delivers an iphone with image stabilization, f1.8 capability, and crammed with doodads, and the photography world slows down a bit to take stock on what's happening with smart phones becoming smarter... and the new thing from the camera manufacturing world is a digital single lens reflex mechanism on a smart phone... wow... I mean, Nikon and Canon are still pushing for a DSLR world, right?

3 upvotes
CaseyComo
By CaseyComo (2 months ago)

You know what? Your phone will be just fine for snaps of your friends and their lunches. Enjoy!

1 upvote
Houseqatz
By Houseqatz (2 months ago)

i jumped ship from an iphone to the lumia 1020, for the camera. however, if apple were to include OIS, and a high megapixel/large sensor, with their version of oversampling baked in, i'd be tempted to go back...

there are so many good ios apps that simply do not exist in the windows phone 8 ecosystem

3 upvotes
tomfhowe
By tomfhowe (2 months ago)

Good apps including some awesome photo editors (even some that support raw). Can you imagine an iPhone camera with a big sensor and OIS saving RAW which you could edit on the device itself? dang

4 upvotes
Houseqatz
By Houseqatz (2 months ago)

it would be wonderful =D

all my complaints with the 1020 are the result of being spoiled with the rich app offerings in the ios ecosystem, and the fluid UX, and while the pureview camera system is outstanding, and wp8 is very quick, there are still quite a few things ios, simply, does better.

2 upvotes
ryansholl
By ryansholl (2 months ago)

and quite a few things it does worse.

2 upvotes
webrunner5
By webrunner5 (2 months ago)

I just checked. There are 1,207,970 android apps. I bet they have a LOT of them I will NEVER use just like a ton of Apple apps either. People, its not like Apple has 20,000 and Android has 48 apps.

And if you bought the cheap 8mp iphone there is not a lot of room for any apps anyway.

I have owned both and guess what they both make phone calls and do text. Pretty much what you use it for 98% of the time.

1 upvote
Peiasdf
By Peiasdf (2 months ago)

@webrunner5
I think the smallest iPhone available in the US is 16GB and if you only text and call, what's the point of a smartphone?

I tried a LG G2 Android 4.2.2 phone side-by-side with my iPhone 5 for a month and the app selection and quality on Android simply isn't up to par.

0 upvotes
vv50
By vv50 (2 months ago)

8GB iphones are available in the U.S.

0 upvotes
Total comments: 35
About us
Sitemap
Connect