mobile photography technology, culture and community
www.dpreview.com

Features cont.

Selective Focus

It appears on the current generation of smartphone cameras some kind of fake narrow-depth-of-field effect is a must-have feature. Nokia started it all with the Refocus app, Sony's Xperia Z2 has Selective Focus and HTC even opted for a hardware solution with the Duo Cam. However, even if you have an older or lower-spec phone you don't have to live without this kind of effect as it is now also available in the latest version of the Google Camera App that can be downloaded free of charge on the Google Play Store and runs on most devices.

So far none of those variations of the same thing, even the HTC hardware solution, have been able to convince us. Rather than creating a smooth fall-off in sharpness they introduce a very abrupt transition and the foreground/background separation tends to lack precision, giving the images an artificial look. Sadly the Samsung version, also called Selective Focus, is no different . The mode takes a series of images at different focus settings and then lets you choose a focus point after capture and save your preferred image. According to instructions you should not be any farther from the subject than 1.5 feet and the background should be at least three times that distance from the subject.

Selective Focus: Near Focus
Selective Focus: Far Focus

In reality the mode simply doesn't work most of the time, even if you stick to the recommended subject/background distances. I tried the feature with living subjects and static scenes but almost always my efforts were followed by a 'Subject not detected' message which means the effect could not be applied.

The sample above is one of the few that actually let me choose the focus point. As you can see I was able to set the focus on the Nowitzki action figure in the foreground and the garden scenery in the background. However, the image would not let me select the Pan Focus option. All in all most users won't be too bothered by the limited functionality of the mode but given it is there, Samsung should make sure it improves its operation with a software update at some point.

Virtual Tour

Virtual Tour is another new feature and lets you create an interactive virtual tour by combining several still shots using pans, zooms and fades to create smooth transitions. The app also guides you in terms of framing of those shots. The end result can be viewed in an interactive Google Streetview-like fashion in the gallery or can be saved as a video.

You'll have to have a specific use case for this feature but it's a good way of virtually showing you around a home, office or other space. Below you can enjoy a video that was taken at my parent's house, showing the route from the terrace into my first floor temporary office space.

As you can see the transitions and stitching are far from perfect but in certain circumstances that don't require professional grade quality the feature could be useful and preferable to a standard video.

Filter effects

There is a plethora of filter apps available on the Google Play Store but for those who want the feature out of the box Samsung includes a range of effects in the default camera app. There are twelve filters in total and most of the effects we've seen before on previous Samsung devices. The list of filters can be customized, so you don't always have to scroll through the entire list if you only tend to use a few of the available effects.

Once activated in the settings menu you have a range of filter effects at your disposal. The thumbnails show a live-preview image for each filter.

The filters are all pretty standard fare and don't offer any control over the strength of the effect. They have the advantage of live preview and are fun to play with but most users will likely find third-party editing apps, such as Pixlr Express or Snapseed, that give you more control, more useful. Then of course there is also Instagram and its various clones.

Standard capture
Vignette Filter
Vintage Filter
Sepia Filter
Fisheye Filter
Oil Pastel Filter

Shot & More

The Shot & More mode combines the Best Photo, Best Face, Drama Shot and Eraser features we already know from the Galaxy S4 and adds Panning Shot to the mix, to make for a less cluttered user interface. In Shot & More mode the camera takes a burst of shots and then offers a variety of options, depending on the moving subjects that have been captured during the burst.

What options Shot & More makes available depends on the scene. Here I can pick my favorite shot out of the burst (Best Shot) or erase one or more of the cyclists from the image (Eraser) but the scene does not work with any of the other modes.

Best Shot suggests the best image from your burst but also allows you to pick your favorite manually. Best Face does the same for images with human subjects, putting a focus on open eyes and smiles. Drama shot allows you to create an action composite image and Eraser to delete unwanted objects that moved through the scene while you were capturing the burst. Finally, Panning Shot identifies moving subjects and allows you to apply a blur effect to the rest of the image, giving it a fake panning effect. 

Overall the Shot & More features have a rather gimmicky character and the results are never quite predictable. They are fun to play and experiment with for a while but most mobile photographers won't use them on an ongoing basis.

In this scene two persons have been identified as potential targets for the Eraser mode.
Tapping on them removes one entirely but only changes the posture of the other.
There is a person crossing the square while I capture this scene but it is too small to be detected and I don't get the option to erase it.
However, in the same scene a passing taxi triggered the Panning Shot feature and allows me to apply a blur effect, making the vehicle appear to go much faster than it actually did.

Gallery App

The Samsung Galaxy S5's Gallery App is more comprehensive than most default Gallery apps. It comes with a good selection of editing options, including selection tools for selective editing of image areas. There are a few new filter options, including some light streak effects, but overall the app is similar to what we've seen on previous Samsung devices.

The app offers all the standard editing options such as rotation, cropping and a range of color and tonal modifications, but you also get a number of filter effects, frames and the option to draw on the images or put "stickers" on them. You can also share images to social networks, other devices or other apps. 

Overall the gallery app offers a lot to play with and is well worth a closer look if you haven't found your favorite editing app in the Google Play Store yet. 

Images withing an album can be viewed as thumbnails...
...or as a never-ending band of images.
The app comes with comprehensive options for tonal and color corrections. 
There are a few new filter effects and, like on the S4, selection tools for partial editing of images.
Unfortunately edited images can only be saved at a maximum size of 8MP.
Like before, you have the option to add digital stickers to an image.

Comments

Total comments: 83
Lukemynick
By Lukemynick (1 week ago)

Good review. Thank you for the job well done.
As for the S5 itself, good to see improvement based on the overall score. (8 to 8.2 IIRC)

Connect, what's next in line?

1 upvote
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (1 week ago)

Working on the Xperia Z2 now, but will probably be at least another couple of weeks :)

0 upvotes
edongzki
By edongzki (1 week ago)

Nice review, samsung phones are awesome.

0 upvotes
nikanth
By nikanth (2 weeks ago)

Great video features!

0 upvotes
Ronaldomu
By Ronaldomu (2 weeks ago)

Samsung has another version of S5 called K Zoom. What about that? As far as I know, its IQ is better than S5 and also it has a zoom. Waiting for your review about this :)

0 upvotes
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (2 weeks ago)

It's not another version of the S5 but quite a different device with a built-in zoom lens, similar to the S4 Zoom. Some of the processing components are identical to the S5's though. I hope we can slot it into the review pipeline at some point.

1 upvote
Ronaldomu
By Ronaldomu (1 week ago)

Thanks a lot. I read some reviews on the internet and found that IQ is much better than the S4 Zoom. But I do not know how better it is.

Wait for your reviews :)

1 upvote
Carl bcn
By Carl bcn (2 weeks ago)

Great review as usual on dpreview (well, connect), congrats for your work.
Like some previous poster, I also have some doubts regarding the S5 having better IQ than the S4. It's true the brush bristles show more detailed on the S5, but I have a hard time noticing a clear difference overall (I'm not saying it's not true, just that maybe it's not that obvious to me looking at the comparison image).

Also congrats for the pics and video samples taken in a wide variety of places and situations, your dedication is appreciated and makes a difference. Thanks.

Comment edited 13 seconds after posting
2 upvotes
SergioMO
By SergioMO (3 weeks ago)

The video capture is amazing ! The stills with RAW mode will be perfect ! It was noticed that google will release RAW mode to Android very soon. That´s one of the best phones I saw, waterproof etc. Good job Sammy

0 upvotes
Gannett2012
By Gannett2012 (3 weeks ago)

Why is the video motion rather jumpy, there's a regular 'bunching' making thing look like they're moving in little bursts rather in one smooth movement. is it a YouTube thing?

1 upvote
Glen Barrington
By Glen Barrington (3 weeks ago)

I own the S5, I guess it's a good thing that the camera is better than many other phones.

But I'm a photographer, and I've put the S5 through its paces as a camera. Let's just say it isn't likely to replace my Oly OMD E-M10 any time soon. It is NOT a serious photo tool.

It IS however, a really good phone and PDA, and as a photographer, I think that is a good thing.

3 upvotes
rondhamalam
By rondhamalam (3 weeks ago)

Samsung cpu is slooooooooow.

What 8 core... It's just marketing gimmic.
The fact All Galaxy phones are SLOW !!!!

(I am a Samsung Galaxy user since 4 years ago)

3 upvotes
minzaw
By minzaw (3 weeks ago)

It is opposite here There are FAST

3 upvotes
Toh
By Toh (2 weeks ago)

Something is wrong with your phone(s)!

1 upvote
markshelby
By markshelby (3 weeks ago)

The reviewer forgot to mention the incredible smearing of detail in both bright and low lights. For example, the S5 shows almost no stubble on the mens' faces, dramatically inferior to both the S4 (and the iPhone 5 for that matter.

Some contrasty portions are sharper with the S5, but low-contrast details are seriously a couple years behind, according to the comparison images in this review.

4 upvotes
rob579
By rob579 (3 weeks ago)

I have the S4, my son has the S5. Photos and video are better with our S5. However, color on the DP comparison looks better on S4. Looks to me iPhone and galaxy are about equal. Blackberry also looks great here. I want that square blackberry, may be my next phone.

1 upvote
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (3 weeks ago)

not sure if any camera specs have been released yet for the square model, I would guess it'll take a long time before it actually becomes available in the shops. The Z10 which we tested some time ago had a truly horrible camera though, you really don't want that ;)

0 upvotes
grasscatcher
By grasscatcher (3 weeks ago)

I have the BBQ10, with a square screen (you can take photos in other aspects, though). I was surprised to see how good the BB quality was on the comparison tool, although it's prolly different specs from my Q10.

That being said, I am probably getting an S5 in the near future. The BB OS is fantastic, but it is too late for many app developers. Android apps can now be loaded onto BB OS, but many are buggy, and I've not found a way to load paid apps yet. For example, I can load Panasonic's Image App onto my BB, but can't get it to NFC to my GX7, but my Nexus 7 lets the app NFC just fine with the GX7. OTOH, BB's keyboard cannot be beat if you do a lot of txting, typing, office-type work, etc. - probably the best phone for productivity (until Windows purchases the keyboard rights, then integrates seamlessly with Office products). I love my BB, but the S5 will be able to do more for me, at this point.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 2 minutes after posting
1 upvote
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (3 weeks ago)

yes, I've always found a physical kb much better for typing. Unfortunately it means you have to have a smaller screen though. BB has just announced a new device with a square screen and 1440 x 1440 pixels res, I think this is what the OP referred to in his post.

0 upvotes
rob579
By rob579 (3 weeks ago)

Grasscatcher, you will be as happy with S5 as we are. Excellent phone. If and when I upgrade from s4, it will be a tough decision between S5 and Blackberry. I will heed Lars advice, I will need to see the camera specs when the square (whatever its called) blackberry comes out.

0 upvotes
Jogger
By Jogger (3 weeks ago)

The square BB10 device seems squarely aimed at the business/enterprise market.. so, a high end camera may not be their top priority.

0 upvotes
rob579
By rob579 (3 weeks ago)

If or when.

0 upvotes
grasscatcher
By grasscatcher (3 weeks ago)

@Lars, I see it now, the BB Passport, 1440x1440 (my BBQ10 is 720x720). Looks impressive. I'm sure it will be a very productive tool. BB has, over the last five years or so, had very-well-integrated physical controls in addition to touchscreen controls (although they seemed to take a step backward on those ergonomics when going from the Bold to the Q10). Looks like the Passport will move that integration forward again.

I hope BB does well with their new offerings. They have a good OS, and it would be a shame if they disappeared - competition is always good for the consumer. I think I heard that they turned a profit last quarter, so maybe things are looking up! :)

0 upvotes
grasscatcher
By grasscatcher (3 weeks ago)

I am looking forward to the S5. I think I'll get more use out of apps in the Android world with the S5, then I will out of the productivity-based BB. As I mentioned, I can sideload Android apps into BBQ10 now, but many of them don't work seamlessly (and some, not at all) like they do in my Nexus 7. If more developers would create apps native to BB OS, I could easily be swayed back to BB. Tthere are some native apps designed for BB OS that have extremely smooth animations, like BE Weather, that I have not seen anything comparable in the Android world. The ported apps don't have the same experience, so it will take more effort on the developers' part.

0 upvotes
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (3 weeks ago)

yes, BB hardware has always been nice and so has the software but the've missed the boat with touchscreens and it's going to very hard to catch up. Even with the nicest hardware consumers will only give yo their money if they can install all the latest apps. If they can't sales will be low. Sales are low means developers are not interested in your platform => spiral of death. Same is true to a degree for Windows phone, great hardware but nobody wants to develop apps for a platform that has under 5 percent of the market. That said, I honestly hope, BB can make it back, could only be good for competition.

0 upvotes
ConanFuji
By ConanFuji (3 weeks ago)

I find my note 2 pics look better than my note 3 ones.
Is cramming too much pixels hurting the IQ?

1 upvote
Peter62
By Peter62 (3 weeks ago)

Sorry, but the Galaxy S4 is BETTER!

Look for yourself at the studio scene image comparison, low light, then look at the coloured, concentric cirlcles !

Another reason not to buy the S5!

Comment edited 29 seconds after posting
2 upvotes
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (3 weeks ago)

you are looking purely at high-contrast detail there which depends mostly on sharpening. Look at the low-contrast detail, like the fabrics and the paint brush and you'll see that S5 resolves better detail.

0 upvotes
Peter62
By Peter62 (3 weeks ago)

I watched almost every detail, to me it seems that the S5 is not better than the S4.

In the lower right corner the S4 is clearly sharper. All in all, it could be a tie.

And the iPhone 5s is better than both Samsungs.

4 upvotes
Vladik
By Vladik (3 weeks ago)

Peter, I dont see how iPhone is better. I hate Samsung phones, but the camera works pretty well, not worse than iPhone for sure. I use Lumia 1520 right now and it's way over hyped, it only takes good photos under perfect conditions.

1 upvote
zodiacfml
By zodiacfml (3 weeks ago)

He's right. I checked. The S5 doesn't resolve any better and it is a bit slightly inferior probably due to NR.
It is even worse in low light test since the S5 is at a lower ISO with less color resolution.

I hope in the future that this MP race in smartphones come to a stop. Sony can make a case of making new small resolution sensors by marketing them similar to HTC one's Ultrapixels.

These sensors might also be lens limited.

1 upvote
Ken Sky
By Ken Sky (3 weeks ago)

Why is the review framed as " the best Android phone"? Doesn't the reviewer know that the smartphone market is dominated by the Apple iPhone? Surely the comparison should be against the 5s. I recognize the 6 will appear in the not too distant future but as of July 2014 this phone appears to be the best on the market.
P.S. I use an iPhone 5.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
3 upvotes
chadley_chad
By chadley_chad (3 weeks ago)

Firstly, the smartphone market is NOT dominated by Apple ... Unless you're dumb enough to think Apple has sold as much or more than Samsung, HTC, Nokia, Sony, Google etc etc combined!

I've owned all generations of iPhone, but MUCH prefer my 4S in every way, including quality of images which has the edge in my opinion. That's my opinion of course, but as I've owned every iPhone and the S3 and S4, I think my opinion means more than someone that hasn't!

Another case of a blinded Apple fan (great marketing Apple!)

2 upvotes
iShootWideOpen
By iShootWideOpen (3 weeks ago)

Typical Android drones. You think you're too smart to be fooled by Apple's marketing.
Ask your phones manufactures and OS maker where they get their inspiration.

1 upvote
CheetahCJ
By CheetahCJ (2 weeks ago)

Why don't you ask Apple where they got their ideas for iOS 8? Look outside the Apple bubble once in a while and you'll see it's all been done before. But go ahead and listen to Apple's marketing BS. They make you think you have the latest and greatest, when in fact the whole world is years ahead. Think Different.

Comment edited 49 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
Wye Photography
By Wye Photography (3 weeks ago)

I think I prefer the AGFA Syncho box camera (I have one somewhere - almost forgot about that).

Here are the "advantages" of the AFGA

1) Mine cost £1 on the bay of e
2) Don't have to worry about focus - no focus, its fixed.
3) Only two apertures from which to choose.
4) Built in Yellow filter.
5) out Holgas a Holga
6) out instagrams instagram
7) No need to worry about shutter speed, there's only one.
8) No contract needed.
9) No one would want to steel it.
10) Don't have to worry about IQ, it's just crap.
11) You look less of a prat using one than using a tablet.
12) Can't see, no worries, neither can the AGFA.

No, seriously, although I don't like Android the IQ of the S5 looks pretty good.

6 upvotes
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (3 weeks ago)

you forgot to mention it's also got better battery life ;)

3 upvotes
Wye Photography
By Wye Photography (3 weeks ago)

LOL, Thank you Lars, that's a pretty important thing to forget.

0 upvotes
Geo1
By Geo1 (3 weeks ago)

Item 9: Not so sure about that. I am a collector of such things. ;-). You have good taste in the finer things in life!

0 upvotes
Wye Photography
By Wye Photography (3 weeks ago)

@ Geo1 Just for you... ( and my typo corrected)

9) Apart from collectors of such things, no one would want to steal it.

0 upvotes
Toh
By Toh (2 weeks ago)

I buy junk and sell antiques. Some fools sell, some fools buy!

2 upvotes
Greg Gebhardt
By Greg Gebhardt (3 weeks ago)

Got to borrow a S5 a few days ago and compared it to my iPhone 5S and all I can say is Apple needs to STEP UP to get even close to the quality of the S5!

Guess I will remain jealous as I am not moving to an Android device.

0 upvotes
Markol
By Markol (3 weeks ago)

What? The top of the line latest Samsung does not have OIS?
I have this on my rather cheap (in comparison) Nexus 5 and it works much better than I'd have thought.
I just assumed that this is now standard with high end phones but it seems not. I for one think this is inexcusable.

Here's hoping Nokia releases a true successor to the 808 with Android. Now that would be something I would buy.

0 upvotes
Death89
By Death89 (3 weeks ago)

At one point I'd have disagreed with you. But until MS get up to speed and offer basic things like smart dialling, removable storage, accessible battery and USB OTG in the camera flagships, I'm sticking to my cheaply bought second hand galaxy note.

I loved my Nokia N8 until it died, and would like to have that sort of capability in my phone again. But I'm not going to but a half done concept like the 1020 (I say half done based on the inferiority in camera to the 808 in stills and shot to shot time, and also the points I mentioned above). Once they release a complete package I'll bite. Until then as a past symbian user I can only choose android.

1 upvote
Mike FL
By Mike FL (3 weeks ago)

"31mm focal length"? Samsung just did not get it as most of Samsung none P&S cameras.

Comment edited 13 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (3 weeks ago)

I actually think 31mm is not too bad a compromise. Yes, a wider lens is nice to shoot landscapes but virtually useless for portraits....so it really depends on what you are shooting. If it's a mix of things I think 31mm works quite well.

0 upvotes
LensBeginner
By LensBeginner (3 weeks ago)

Panorama technology, both real-time and in post, has evolved enough to render a true wide lens on a smartphone not desirable anymore, IMHO.

0 upvotes
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (3 weeks ago)

Good point, the pano mode on the S5 is excellent, the one in the Google Camera app has some pretty good options, too

0 upvotes
Mike FL
By Mike FL (3 weeks ago)

Lars Rehm,

Before you go too far, please disclosure your relation with all the phones/products which you reviewed/reviewing.

I do believe this is the rule of Amazon who owns DPR.

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (3 weeks ago)

Are you suggesting I have some special relationship to Samsung? Because if you do I can assure you that's not the case. I get the test model from them for the review and send it back after the review, just like with the manufacturers of all cameras and smartphones I have ever reviewed.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
keeponkeepingon
By keeponkeepingon (3 weeks ago)

To me it looks like a fair review but I can follow his logic:

Amazon does not sell the iphone*.
Amazon does sell the Samsung Galaxy S5
Amazon owns dpreview so Lars works for the anti iphone pro S5 Amazon

*You'll find the iphone on amazon.com but all are sold by 3rd party sellers. Here's a search on iphones sold by amazon:
http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=sr_st_undefined?keywords=iphone&qid=1405071127&rh=n%3A2335752011%2Ck%3Aiphone%2Cp_76%3A2491146011%2Cp_6%3AATVPDKIKX0DER&sort=price-desc-rank

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (3 weeks ago)

you should go back and look at our iPhone 5s review. If I am not totally mistaken it was pretty positive indeed.

0 upvotes
LensBeginner
By LensBeginner (3 weeks ago)

...of course I was talking about trade-offs, a panorama mode is no substitute for a true wide lens, but OTOH it is also true that digital zoom is no substitute for a more "normal" lens...

0 upvotes
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (3 weeks ago)

your point is totally valid, it's good to have a wider lens in some situations but for general shooting a less wide one makes more sense for most users. Given smartphones do not offer interchangeable lenses this is always going to be some sort of compromise though.

0 upvotes
keeponkeepingon
By keeponkeepingon (3 weeks ago)

Lars, I think both this and the iPhone review are well done; I was just theorizing as to the posters logic.

Regarding wider: wider is better for selfies hence wider is better for smartphones.

0 upvotes
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (3 weeks ago)

yes, I understand where you are coming from. Selfies are typically taken with the front cam though ;) Which is some newer ones offer extra-wise angle views, makes perfect sense there...

0 upvotes
keeponkeepingon
By keeponkeepingon (1 day ago)

For some reason I never take selfies with the front facing cam. I've got long arms and I gota have all 8mp for this beautiful face. (The real answer is I spent way way too long with my 3Gs (no ff camera, old habits die hard...)).

0 upvotes
Bervilat
By Bervilat (3 weeks ago)

It does have exposure compensation, just open the gear menu.

1 upvote
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (3 weeks ago)

you are actually right, it's hidden so far down the menu that I actually did not see it. I have corrected this in the review. Thanks.

1 upvote
Bervilat
By Bervilat (3 weeks ago)

Yes, the placement is stupid, but you can drag it to your favorite settings that stay always on screen.
Another quirk that I found is that when spot metering is selected, the camera does not measure where you tap to focus, but actually in the very center of the frame.
Very weird and not intuitive, since there is no visual clue of the metering region, but after you get used you can force the camera to expose where you want, while selecting a different focus point. You can also hold the on screen button or the volume button to recompose while the focus and exposure are locked.

0 upvotes
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (3 weeks ago)

yes, given that I have used the phone for more than a couple of weeks and not seen it I have to agree with you on the placement ;)

0 upvotes
Stacey_K
By Stacey_K (3 weeks ago)

I've used one of those box cameras in the picture, it actually was pretty decent :P

Comment edited 10 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
Stuart001
By Stuart001 (3 weeks ago)

I've got a few and still use them occasionally. Wonder if my grandchildren will be able to use my Samsung in 2084?

1 upvote
gskolenda
By gskolenda (3 weeks ago)

The video on this camera is crap! terrible, horrible rolling shutter, absolutely useless for me. Wife has the Galaxy Note II same problems!

Comment edited 18 seconds after posting
1 upvote
Joe Ogiba
By Joe Ogiba (3 weeks ago)

Not useless for others.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L_g180YYvX0

1 upvote
gskolenda
By gskolenda (3 weeks ago)

Were talking quality here, not crap video, why would someone even use garbage video, let me guess the beat way to shoot video is vertical LOL!

0 upvotes
esmu urdis
By esmu urdis (3 weeks ago)

Yea that's all a bit relative gskolenda, my mate who is a cinematographer sees anything below block buster movie standard as crap video

Comment edited 6 minutes after posting
1 upvote
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (3 weeks ago)

Well, I actually found the S5 video very usable. Are the samples in my review in line with your experience or are we dealing with some kind of sample variation here?

0 upvotes
gskolenda
By gskolenda (3 weeks ago)

Well Lars, I look at it this way what you find usable, to me is crap! I just have higher quality levels than your review here., The video is also way over compressed. I know what I see and how it holds up in Post. that's the bottom line!

Comment edited 49 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (3 weeks ago)

Fully agree, this is all subjective. We have to remember though that this is a smartphone and therefore should not expect RED quality. Are other smartphones significantly better? No, they aren't. Many, in fact, are worse. So things need to be put into perspective. If smartphone video quality does not suit your purposes that's a different matter.

2 upvotes
Chris Noble
By Chris Noble (3 weeks ago)

Good for you DPR for reviewing the cameras built into cellphones! Something that should be of keen interest to every avid photographer.

0 upvotes
makofoto
By makofoto (3 weeks ago)

Heidelberg ... excellent choice of locations! :-)

5 upvotes
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (3 weeks ago)

indeed, always worth a visit :)

1 upvote
0MitchAG
By 0MitchAG (3 weeks ago)

I loved Heidelberg, Dresden and Rothenburg Altstadt and although across the border, Innsbruck too, for the beautiful cathedrals and churches. I wish I could be there again, because for an Australian there is simply nothing here for comparison.

0 upvotes
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (3 weeks ago)

haha, I imagine. Churches and other old "stuff" everywhere here which makes for nice photo opportunities. On the other hand I do miss the mountains of the Pacific Northwest :)

0 upvotes
The Name is Bond
By The Name is Bond (3 weeks ago)

Where's the FL? According to another site it's 31mm.

0 upvotes
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (3 weeks ago)

yeah, it is 31mm equivalent, I have just added it.

0 upvotes
Digital Suicide
By Digital Suicide (3 weeks ago)

Don't like Samsung phone cameras because of focal length. Not mentioned in here about S5, but I'm pretty sure it is about 30mm FFE. Lumias does better job with 26mm.
By the way can't find the gallery of 29 images on page 11...

0 upvotes
Richard Shih
By Richard Shih (3 weeks ago)

Thanks. It's now fixed.

0 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (3 weeks ago)

Smearing is awful even at base ISO. In no way a contest to the Nokia 808 WRT plain still IQ.

I *really* hope Samsung comes out with a Nokia 808-alike - with a huge sensor and great (prime) lens. Just another branch of their Zoom / Camera series, with photo buffs wanting a prime-"only", large-sensor, high-end phone-based camera would be a killer. The current lineup (unless you do need zoom)? Not so much, regrettably.

All in all, I won't ditch my Nokia 808 for the S5. The 808 is a perfect non-smart (I in no way use the Net on it, particularly not for browsing - the Achilles' heel of Symbian) phone for me. And, when better IQ is needed, I take my Fuji X-E1...

1 upvote
Petrogel
By Petrogel (3 weeks ago)

when better IQ is needed, buy yourself a Samsung (an S5 for example)........ :-)

0 upvotes
gskolenda
By gskolenda (3 weeks ago)

Not for video!

0 upvotes
PhotoPoet
By PhotoPoet (2 weeks ago)

Place my "who cares what I think comment" here. iPhone vs that phone, this phone vs that camera, there is no single/right answer, as with cameras each of us has our own subjective "the one" and its not based on review "facts"...

Comment edited 4 minutes after posting
0 upvotes
Total comments: 83
About us
Sitemap
Connect