mobile photography technology, culture and community
www.dpreview.com

Accessory review: Joby Grip Tight Micro Stand

25
The Joby Grip Tight Micro Stand holds most current smartphones, like the HTC One pictured here. It even just about fits the Samsung Galaxy Note II "phablet" with its 5.5-inch screen. It's a very tight fit though and definitely won't work with a case on that device.

Our recent Smartphone Super Shootout confirmed that not even the latest generation of top-end smartphones come close to enthusiast compact cameras and DSLRs in the image quality department. However, even the most dedicated pixel peepers and image quality evangelists have to admit that your smartphone is the one camera you always have with you.

Given the relatively unimpressive high-ISO image quality of smartphones (compared to dedicated cameras) the one accessory you should also always carry with you is a tripod. In combination with the right camera app it allows you to set lower ISO sensitivities on your phone camera when shooting low-light scenes, resulting in much cleaner images than you would get in hand-held shooting. Tripods are equally useful for shooting self-portraits with your smartphones primary rear-facing camera or capturing the motion of a flowing waterfall.

Here at Connect we are mostly interested in using the Grip Tight Micro Stand as a tripod and it does a good job at that, gripping your phone tightly while letting you easily adjust your shooting angle ...
 ... but the Joby mini tripod also works great as a phone stand when watching your latest Netflix favorites or on the bedside table, with our own Phil Askey's Dock Clock Plus app on the screen.

The problem is, most tripods, even mini versions, are too bulky for always toting just in case you come across an attractive night scene or waterfall that might be worth capturing. That said, the Joby Grip Tight Micro Stand isn't bulky at all. In fact, when folded up it's so small you can easily carry it in your jeans pocket or even use as a key fob. Yet it's a nicely made and sturdy mini-tripod that firmly holds your device in place and allows you to easily adjust the shooting angle. 

Folded up the Joby device is absolutely tiny and fits in any pocket. It's even got a hole in it that allows you to use it as a key fob.
The tripod legs and phone holder can be taken apart. Both pieces are available for purchase individually.

The Grip Tight Micro Stand is in reality not one but two products that can also be purchased individually. The Grip Tight is a foldable spring-loaded smartphone holder that screws on to any standard size tripod mount. The Micro Stand is a foldable micro-tripod that can be combined with the Grip Tight but also works well with compact cameras. The mount's socket joint is stiff enough to even hold larger models, such as a Micro Four Thirds camera with a kit lens. The Grip Tight is also available in combination with Joby's Gorillapod (Grip Tight Gorillapod Stand).

It's also possible to set up the device in portrait orientation, for Skype calls and similar applications.
The Micro Stand on its own works for smaller cameras as well. The socket joint of the mount is pretty stiff and holds a Micro Four Thirds camera with a kit lens or the pictured Nikon Coolpix A.

The Grip Tight Micro Stand works perfectly well as a table tripod but doubles as a smartphone stand for watching videos on your device or conducting Skype calls. There is an abundance of mini tripods and phone holders available in retail outlets, but with its clever foldable design and miniscule carry-anywhere dimensions the Joby Grip Tight Micro Stand really stands out from the masses and makes it an easy recommendation to our readers. It's available for $29.95 on Amazon.com

What we like: Miniscule dimensions, clever folding design, works with a variety of phones, good build-quality

What we don't like: A little more expensive than other mini tripods

Rating:


Comments

Total comments: 25
db.
By db. (10 months ago)

I'm looking for something like that having a ball-head to be placed on my DSLR's (Canon 6D) hot-shoe: to mimic the swivel-screen I'm used to for all my tripod-work. Anyone??

0 upvotes
Robert Austin Fitch Maternity Photography

This looks like a really cool little accessory. Like how small it folds up. Could think of more than a few times when this would have come in handy.

0 upvotes
scooter9999
By scooter9999 (11 months ago)

Product looks good and I'd like one but I use a Samsung Galaxy Note II and you said it was a "very tight fit". I ask because Joby specs suggest that the Note II is just a fraction too big. Did you have to force it in??

0 upvotes
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (11 months ago)

Yes, you can get it in but you have to kind of force it. It works but definitely not with a case. Might be worth checking out the XL version of the iStabilizer mount which you could then combine with the Joby tripod legs.

0 upvotes
JOBYian
By JOBYian (11 months ago)

So, the Galaxy Note II and related phablets is out of spec of what we recommend. We've had customers get it to work, but it's not something we're comfortable with recommending to others. We might come out with an XL version if there's enough demand.

0 upvotes
dale thorn
By dale thorn (11 months ago)

I bought 2 and did a youtube review of one of them using the other to support an iPod Touch for filming. Works great! I carry one around my neck on a lanyard using the hole they recommend for a keyring. I found the keyring not practical - gets in the way.

0 upvotes
rfsIII
By rfsIII (11 months ago)

After you say the con is that it is "a little more expensive than other mini tripods" the question remains Is it worth the price. I would gladly pay $5 or $10 extra for a nicely-made tool especially if I know that it's going keep my $$$$ iPhone from falling onto the concrete.

0 upvotes
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (11 months ago)

Everybody's 'value-for-money scale' is a little different but I would definitely say yes, it's worth it.

1 upvote
Impulses
By Impulses (9 months ago)

I think it's worth it, it may look like plastic at first glance but it's actually magnesium alloy and it's pretty sturdy with no excess play in the adjustment of it's parts. Feels sturdier than some of the other cheap plastic/metal table tripods I've had, a little less versatile perhaps but also far more portable.

0 upvotes
rsn48
By rsn48 (11 months ago)

This product will be helpful, but like all tripods in existence today, most are found in the closet, not out in the field; owners don't like tripods, why image stabilization became so popular.

What is needed is a tripod like above, but with a cable or something to trigger the shutter off the camera. In fact, I have the HTC One S and a very real problem is you touch this incredibly light screen to fire the shutter, in fact, push it forward, thus creating movement resulting in blur.

Now if there was a tripod with a shutter release on it, that would be something.

Comment edited 36 seconds after posting
0 upvotes
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (11 months ago)

many new phones actually let you use voice commands to trigger the shutter - that should help.

1 upvote
Impulses
By Impulses (9 months ago)

Most HTC/Samsung phones over the last year (including the One and previous One X) will let you use a Bluetooth earpiece as a remote shutter...

0 upvotes
Ben Horne
By Ben Horne (11 months ago)

This is a fantastic product — very well designed. I also love using the tripod portion with my GoPro.

0 upvotes
Dylthedog
By Dylthedog (11 months ago)

It might be $29 on Amazon.com but on Amazon UK it's a whopping £37!!!

That's double after the exchange rate is taken into account. I'll be looking for another option thanks!

0 upvotes
Andy Westlake
By Andy Westlake (11 months ago)

That's for importing it from Germany; the standard Amazon UK price is £25, but it's currently out of stock. Other retailers offer it for a similar, or maybe even lower price.

0 upvotes
Biowizard
By Biowizard (11 months ago)

I bought one of these around 6 weeks ago, and it is brilliantly designed and very well built. I will almost certainly buy one or even two more, to keep permanently with my assorted iPhones and smaller cameras. *****

0 upvotes
RichRMA
By RichRMA (11 months ago)

I remember Youtube video where someone shot an iPhone with a 0.50 cal. Barrett sniping rifle. This would have made it easier to mount...

0 upvotes
Digitall
By Digitall (11 months ago)

I use Joby micro 800, there is a 250 also, but I use 800 for my compact cameras, video camera or DSLR if I have not a heavy lens for some situations. And this tripod do a great job indeed. The price could be lower, the tripod material is not worth the costs, while being very constructed and stable, but in practical terms is where scores. I recommend the 800 series, fits all, guaranteed up to 800 grams in weight. I hope that support for mobile phones is sold separately.

1 upvote
Roland Karlsson
By Roland Karlsson (11 months ago)

But ... but ... but ... I cant see how to aim the camera. Its just a stand, and not a tripod methinks. Or?

0 upvotes
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (11 months ago)

It's basically got a little ball head, so you can easily aim the camera by just moving it into the desired position.

1 upvote
Roland Karlsson
By Roland Karlsson (11 months ago)

OK. This review is quite bad. If there is a ball head you need to know how reliable it is, can you lock it tight? And that it exists in the first place.

0 upvotes
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (11 months ago)

Ok, this comment is quite bad.

..."that firmly holds your device in place and allows you to easily adjust the shooting angle"

"The socket joint of the mount is pretty stiff and holds a Micro Four Thirds camera with a kit lens or the pictured Nikon Coolpix A."

6 upvotes
Dianoda
By Dianoda (11 months ago)

It doesn't lock, but is quite stiff. I've used the tripod portion with an RX100 with no issues - it's plenty study for any of the pocketable compacts out there (it's conservatively rated to 250g/9oz). Also, I'm pretty sure that they also make a slightly bigger/beefier version aimed at M4/3's as well.

0 upvotes
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (11 months ago)

I've stuck an Oly E-PL5 with kit lens on it and it works perfectly well.

1 upvote
alfredo_tomato
By alfredo_tomato (11 months ago)

I"ve used the Gorilla Pod for my iPad. Glad they have a made something custom made for mobile devices.

0 upvotes
Total comments: 25
About us
Sitemap
Connect