mobile photography technology, culture and community
www.dpreview.com

Samsung Galaxy S5 features 16MP camera with 4K video

92

It's been a busy day at Mobile World Congress in Barcelona but we had to wait until the evening for one of the most anticipated events of the show -- the launch of the Galaxy S5, the 5th generation of Samsung's high-end Galaxy S smartphone line.  

In terms of design, the new model is very close to its predecessor, the S4, with the same rounded corners and metal band around the edges. However, the S4's rather cheap looking glossy back has been swapped for a soft-touch "perforated" design which has more of a premium look to it. Despite the visual similarities to the S4, the new phone's shell has been improved in a very useful way: the Galaxy S5 is dust and water resistant (IP67), which means you can keep snapping under water and in a sand storm. We've first seen this feature on Sony's Xperia Z line and it's great to see other manufacturers are following suit.

From the front the Galaxy S5 looks very similar to the S4.
The S4's glossy plastic back has been replaced by a soft-touch shell.

Just like the shell, most components under the hood have been upgraded. The device is powered by the latest generation Qualcomm quad-core 2.5 GHz Snapdragon S805 processor and 2GB of RAM. The Super AMOLED screen has been slightly increased to 5.1 inches but still comes with the same 1080p resolution as before. Android 4.4.2 (Kitkat) is the operating system and the 16GB or 32GB of internal storage can be expanded via a microSD slot. The S5 also supports the latest Wi-Fi and LTE standards for fast downloading speeds.

There is no real innovation to be found in the camera department. Samsung S users also still have to make do without an optical image stabilization system but the camera resolution has been increased from 13MP to 16MP with 4K video capture capabilities.  Samsung also claims the AF speed has been improved. Other new camera features include: real-time HDR processing , new user interface and Selective Focus that allows you to blur the background by taking two pictures at different focus settings and merging them. It's similar to what we've seen on the Sony Xperia Z2

Apart from the the black and blue versions, the S5 is also available in white.
The S5 also comes in a brownish tone.

As usual for a high-end Samsung smartphone, the Galaxy S5 comes with a multitude of features. The upgraded S Health feature provides a personal fitness tracker, including pedometer, diet and exercise records, and a built-in heart rate monitor. There is also a fingerprint scanner for biometric screen locking and mobile payment. The device will be available globally through Samsung’s retail channels, e-commerce and carriers in April. 

Key-specifications:

  • Qualcomm Snapdragon S805 2.5GHz quad-core processor
  • 2GB RAM
  • 16/32GB internal memory, microSD slot up to 64GB
  • Android 4.4.2 (Kitkat)
  • 5.1-inch Super AMOLED screen (1920 x 1080)
  • 16MP rear camera
  • 4K video recording
  • 2MP front camera
  • Dust and water resistant (IP67) 
  • NFC
  • Finger scanner
  • Dimension: 142.0 x 72.5 x 8.1mm, 145g
  • 2800mAh Battery 

 

Comments

Total comments: 92
willem Rose
By willem Rose (3 weeks ago)

I got this one on Amazon. It doesn't work for heavy cameras, but for cameras about 2 lbs and under it does a nice job.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XCgkZjOMCxg

Comment edited 32 seconds after posting
1 upvote
willem Rose
By willem Rose (3 weeks ago)

Tried the Manfrotto 585-1 and found it to be a little filmy. It may be OK for super light cameras, but none of mine worked. Got this one on Amazon and so far no complaints.https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XCgkZjOMCxg

1 upvote
Kylie123
By Kylie123 (3 months ago)

pls can some1 reply

1 upvote
intsky
By intsky (3 months ago)

I was very surprised about the s5 camera, it's great to film - I was very surprised to see this video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oirz9wuMHI8

2 upvotes
sportyaccordy
By sportyaccordy (4 months ago)

Impressive stuff, but I am holding out for phones with a sensor array. They're coming soon and will really move cameraphones forward without the hassles or cost of 1 big sensor

1 upvote
oknahs
By oknahs (4 months ago)

Smartphones sensor sizes will improve with every introduction of a new model. Within two years premium smartphones will rival DSLRs in image quality. DSLR sales are loosing market share rapidly more than any other time in DSLR history. The handwriting is on the wall for the demise of big bulky shooting gear. 85% of phones are smartphones and growing. The only buyers of DSLR gear are gearheads and pros. A dwindling market for sure. The introduction of so many DLSR and Mirrorless Cameras is amazing. New models coming out within a few months. I bought a Nikon P500 bridge soon after the P510 came out and within in a year two more models debut. Give me a break. I got my Nikon for a mere $279 at a list price of $399. This camera is for our many travel trips but around town I bought a tiny Nikon S01 the size of a credit card. Fits in the pocket better than a smartphone. I still use a flip phone so I am giving away my age.

4 upvotes
RemixAngel
By RemixAngel (4 months ago)

>Ignore the post above this<
tl;dr:
This guy has no idea what he's talking about, and his post isn't worth reading.
Save yourself the brain damage, and read someone else's post.

11 upvotes
oldercameraman
By oldercameraman (4 months ago)

Totally agree with RemixAngel. oknahs is an idiot who has absolutely no understanding of technology. The basic point in which is is a blathering idiot is the question of the sensor size. Not megapixels. End of story.

5 upvotes
SamsungGalaxyS5Blog
By SamsungGalaxyS5Blog (4 months ago)

Nice..but after they release this new S series..feel sorry that samsung just add only a few features..

http://samsunggalaxys5mobile.blogspot.com

2 upvotes
nyer82
By nyer82 (5 months ago)

I'm confused about this: "There is no real innovation to be found in the camera department." But then the same paragraph mentions a few of those innovations.

Also unmentioned is the addition of phase detection AF. Isn't that usually only found in DSLRs? This seems like it would be a pretty big improvement to me, how it works in practice of course remains to be seen. And in another article there are also claims the sensor size is larger (by how much no clue).

Anyway,DP- you guys didn't do your best with this write up.

http://www.androidheadlines.com/2014/02/galaxy-s5-features-phase-detection-auto-focus-larger-16-megapixel-sensor.html

5 upvotes
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (5 months ago)

well, it would depend on your definition of innovation. I have so far not seen any trustworthy quantification of the sensor size but lets face it, it's going from very tiny to a tiny bit less tiny, which will make hardly any difference at all. A sensor like the Lumia 1020's that's what I call innovation. As far as the AF goes, that's really the least of the problems that smartphone cameras have. They are pretty fast and, in my experience, very reliable. In the last two years I have not used a single phone that would have given me out of focus images. Of course that's partly because those tiny sensors give you tons of depth of field. Overall, from a camera perspective the S5 is a slightly underwhelming upgrade to me, but I am happy to be convinced otherwise once I have a review unit in my hands :)

2 upvotes
duckofdeath
By duckofdeath (5 months ago)

I'm not sure I agree at all about all smartphones giving you in-focus pictures. Just look at your Facebook feed. Most photos you see on there by people you know will almost certainly be blurry or out of focus.

I think it would be in order to wait with the complaints until the camera has actually been tested. If those short marketing snippets they showed during the keynote are representative for what it actually can do, I'd say we'll see a lot more in-focus Facebook uploads in the future. And to be honest, that's what these kind of cameras are primarily used for.

3 upvotes
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (5 months ago)

there a lot of blurry pictures on Facebook, without a doubt, but 90% of them are motion blur and the another 8% or so the photographer focused on the wrong area...you see hardly any pictures that are blurry due to the device's AF system.

2 upvotes
kalahari
By kalahari (5 months ago)

I agree with you on the Phase detect faster auto-focus. This is a major update that should get a mention at DPreview if not at the other review sites. To me this is a very big deal.

3 upvotes
YiannisPP
By YiannisPP (5 months ago)

I agree. This is supposed to be a site looking at smartphones from the camera perspective. As such there should be a mention of the camera sensor size. That's the first thing I was looking for. If that information is not available then at least say what you think it is. If nothing is known, then in any case there is not great point in presenting this here now. Let other more specialized sites talk about its 256-core processor and 2TB of RAM and amazing Android features. Here people are interested mainly in photo/video IQ and since the glass is really small (we can see that!), the most important factor will be the sensor size. Will it be the usual 1/3 or less or something closer to the Nokia ones.

1 upvote
Mach Schnell
By Mach Schnell (5 months ago)

Wouldn't it be great if they stopped playing the megapixel game and switched to a high quality 4 megapixel sensor? Imagine the dynamic range improvement possible with 4 times as much light striking each photosite.

4 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (5 months ago)

A 4 Mpixel sensor would rule out 4K video recording. However, I agree with you if it had a 8 Mpixel sensor.

Nevertheless, the S4 / Note 3 have, IQ-wise, also had pretty good cameras so I do hope the S5 is at least as good.

3 upvotes
Sirandar
By Sirandar (5 months ago)

Even if Samsung just re-released the S3 in 2014 it would still be a far more usable phone than almost every newer smartphone except those made by Sony and a few others.

Why is simple ..... most new phones are deliberately crippled because they don't support microSD. HTC and Google want you to use the cloud so they can watch exactly what you do and mine that info. There is nothing inherently bad about this except it provides a very poor user experience compared to having your files local. No signal = no files Syncing sucks and is a waste of time.

The Samsung S5 will support at least 130GB of storage with a 128Gb microSD card. That means you can have all your music files local and never sync or wait for access again. And all local files are catalogged so you can search then quickly.

For those slagging the camera. You should probably wait to see the pictures .... then by all means slag away.

The S5 didn't really add much .... but at least they didn't take anything away.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
5 upvotes
Kinski
By Kinski (5 months ago)

good point.. I would never buy any other phone that have no access to battery and memory card.. I read that HTC glued the last smart phone so even at the factory you can't replace battery.. Total nonsense.. I think the Trend started with Windows IOS, the required the manufacturers to have no memory card and no battery access so I guess the followed because thought Windows will be the hit and need to have their phones ready for windows.. Sometimes those big companies do illogical decisions

2 upvotes
LensBeginner
By LensBeginner (4 months ago)

Those decision are very logical from their p.o.v., they simply aren't in the consumer's best interest.

1 upvote
peevee1
By peevee1 (5 months ago)

13mpix to 16mpix in the same tiny size, while still no stabilization... The ultimate moron-targeted "upgrade".

2 upvotes
AndreSJ
By AndreSJ (5 months ago)

the sensor is bigger

3 upvotes
alexpaynter
By alexpaynter (5 months ago)

I cannot find any mention of sensor size. Does anyone know what it is. The lens sticks out a bit so I am guessing it may be 1/2.3 inches like the Xperia Z2.

I don't really care about the looks as anything I buy will be put in a cover. The replaceable battery is a big plus for me.

I have a nexus 4 at the moment and it downloads youtube extremely slowly. Much more slowly than my old iPhone 4. Is there a reason a google product can not download another google product? I am concerned about buying another Android product.

0 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (5 months ago)

1/2.5"

1 upvote
TheProv
By TheProv (5 months ago)

Pixel size is 1.12 micron, so i did the math with the 16 mpx resolution and came out a sensor of 6x3.3mm. Less of 20mmq of area, it is actually nearer to a 1/2.7"type sensor.

0 upvotes
yousaf
By yousaf (5 months ago)

Is it Snapdragon 801 or Snapdragon 805 ?

0 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (5 months ago)

See below: in H1 2014, it'll stay with 801; later, it'll switch to 805.

0 upvotes
BelDDB
By BelDDB (5 months ago)

just wait 5 years to come and see how those at hand can last and still usable

0 upvotes
yabokkie
By yabokkie (5 months ago)

in 5 years makers may be announcing 8K phones.

0 upvotes
mwstebbins
By mwstebbins (5 months ago)

I'll wait till it's 64 bit and with a USB-3 port and a BIGGER battery. The 3200 mAmp battery on my Motorola XT910 (Razr MAXX) lasts me 3 days. What good is a fancy phone when the battery runs out of juice.

0 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (5 months ago)

FYI: the S5 has a USB3 port and a bigger battery. And the latter is even exchangeable.

7 upvotes
yousaf
By yousaf (5 months ago)

it even have a ultra low battery mode, which allow you to use it for upto 24hours with just 10% battery.

3 upvotes
duckofdeath
By duckofdeath (5 months ago)

It can stay alive for 24 hours on 10%, in standby. But I agree they are beginning to take more and more advantage of OLED abilities. Making the display B/W when you have 10% battery left is a trick an TFT/IPS display won't be able to replicate.

1 upvote
hip2
By hip2 (5 months ago)

So with this, samsung lost the only thing that set them apart... removable batteries.

0 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (5 months ago)

The S5 has a removable battery.

6 upvotes
Zeisschen
By Zeisschen (5 months ago)

is that still of inportance today? how do you charge the second battery? In the phone? Most people I know use a powerbank to recharge their phones, it's much more practical/flexible and you can charge the powerbank and internal battery at the same time. For 30-50$ you get a powerbank that can charge the phone (or any other USB device) 3-4 times.

3 upvotes
AndreSJ
By AndreSJ (5 months ago)

and the countless phones with none removable batteries that have to be returned and sent of for repair due to battery issues

2 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (5 months ago)

"For 30-50$ you get a powerbank that can charge the phone (or any other USB device) 3-4 times."

1. It's much more awkward to use a phone connected to a powerbank than just to pop a spare battery in the phone when needed. And the latter is also, in general, far smaller.

2. there are external chargers (for extra cost, of course) - no need to charge spare batteries in the phone if you don't want to.

2 upvotes
nyer82
By nyer82 (5 months ago)

Eventually all batteries lose their ability to hold a charge. When that eventually happens with a non-removable battery phone, it'll need to be refurbished or sent for repair. But who wants to do this in 5 years when you will only want this phone as a spare? It'll be so simple to resurrect this baby just by ordering a new spare battery online.

A new Removable battery can breathe new life into an old phone, and if it is kept in decent condition, it should be usable in the future.

Comment edited 2 times, last edit 7 minutes after posting
2 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (5 months ago)

"When that eventually happens with a non-removable battery phone, it'll need to be refurbished or sent for repair. But who wants to do this in 5 years when you will only want this phone as a spare?"

Exactly. Particularly now that iPhones have become both hard-to-service-manually and to show some major battery problems.

For example, iPhone 5's are infamous for their battery deaths. Also happened to me; fortunately, Apple exchanged the device.

Also, one can't say older iPhones had better batteries. For example, some of my shots I've taken of iPhone 3GS models and their awfully-swollen batteries after three years of operation:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/33448355@N07/sets/72157633931601917/

1 upvote
bloodycape
By bloodycape (5 months ago)

What is the sensor size on this?

0 upvotes
Infms
By Infms (5 months ago)

Innovation? Not really.

My 40 month old Nokia N8 has bigger sensor photosites (not to mention a hardware shutter and Xenon flash).

Why are other manufacturers taking so long?

2 upvotes
alphaumi
By alphaumi (5 months ago)

My 8 year old sony ericsson k800 has xenon flash. :D

0 upvotes
Infms
By Infms (5 months ago)

Awesome. Now Sony just needs to include that in their latest flagship.

0 upvotes
jintoku
By jintoku (5 months ago)

What I really care about is relative sensor size of the S5 compared to the Z2. I don't care about resolution as long as it's 8 Mpixels or more.

5 upvotes
Debankur Mukherjee
By Debankur Mukherjee (5 months ago)

All Samsung phones has the same physical appearance......8-))

0 upvotes
zodiacfml
By zodiacfml (5 months ago)

Hmm.....very subtle update. I was hoping better so that S4 and other phones would drop in price.

0 upvotes
LensBeginner
By LensBeginner (5 months ago)

Why the S4? Apparently it's highly unstable and suffers from various problems including overheating.
Many say it's been a botched phone.

Comment edited 15 seconds after posting
1 upvote
balios
By balios (5 months ago)

People say a lot of things. I have an S4, it doesn't crash, freeze, nor overheat. Its a fantastic phone as determined by the vast number of positive reviews. The only people who could possibly say this was a "botched" phone are brand trolls.

0 upvotes
Photato
By Photato (5 months ago)

4k on a phone! lolz
You gotta be kidding me.
Marketing BS reigns supreme!

5 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (5 months ago)

You haven't ever heard of the excellent 4K recording quality (also emphasized by the DPReview folks) of the Note 3, have you?

2 upvotes
raywes
By raywes (5 months ago)

Yup, I too, was a non believer until I saw the 4k video from the Note 3. I now have one sitting right here. The video must be seen to be appreciated and yes it is a noticeable improvement over 1080p HD video. The depth and detail is nothing short of stunning. Not a gimmick whatsoever. Get yourself a nice 64 GB card though the files I hear are pretty huge.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
3 upvotes
Daniel Bliss
By Daniel Bliss (5 months ago)

I cannot get my hands around a three inch-wide phone. Not. Going. To. Happen.

Pity. Seems like a nice design otherwise. But the obsession with ever-bigger displays has to stop. Try scalable UI instead.

3 upvotes
Michael Ma
By Michael Ma (5 months ago)

I consider Steve Jobs to be the greatest innovator of all time, far beyond someone like Thomas Edison, but he was wrong about one thing. A 3.5" screen is not the perfect size as he believed. Even Apple has come to realize this and their phones will continue to get bigger, although rather painfully slowly.

I've had screens 3.5 (iPhone 3G), 4.2 (S2), 4.5 (S2 Skyrocket), 4.8 (S2 LTE), 5.0 (S3), 5.5 (Note 2), and 5.7 (Note 3). Having used all these screens for at least a few months each, the bigger screen always has more advantages than disadvantages. That's unless you have small hands, then yes, there's no way around that.

Speaking of scalable UI, the Galaxy Note 3 can be enabled to be scaled to a screen smaller than an iPhone if necessary in one-handed mode. So there really is no reason for a phone that is the current size of the iPhone. Note 3 fits comfortably in the pocket. Technology and UI implementations has overcome the need for a such a small screen.

4 upvotes
yabokkie
By yabokkie (5 months ago)

maybe Samsung DS

0 upvotes
PatsyK
By PatsyK (5 months ago)

To say that Jobs was a bigger inventor than Edison just shows how you lack knowledge of the history. Edison was a true innivator. Jobs, yes I amit he has done great stuff, but it is more like put things that alredy exist together, and time the release and make a demand for i perfectly. He told people what they wanted, and they listened...

8 upvotes
bizi clop
By bizi clop (5 months ago)

The compulsory Oatmeal comic about Edison vs Tesla: http://theoatmeal.com/comics/tesla

1 upvote
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (5 months ago)

"To say that Jobs was a bigger inventor than Edison just shows how you lack knowledge of the history. Edison was a true innivator. Jobs, yes I amit he has done great stuff, but it is more like put things that alredy exist together, and time the release and make a demand for i perfectly. He told people what they wanted, and they listened..."

Exactly. The true innovator Edison just can't be compared to the "stylist" Jobs.

3 upvotes
Azurael
By Azurael (5 months ago)

4.5-ish inches is the ideal size for a smartphone IMHO. Any bigger than that and you can't use it one handed and may as well have a 7" tablet which is notably more pleasant to use for 'heavyweight' tasks than a 'phablet' and no inconvenience to carry in a large pocket or bag. Steve Jobs was perhaps the best salesman in recent living memory, but innovator? Hah.

0 upvotes
hydrospanner
By hydrospanner (5 months ago)

"To say that Jobs was a bigger inventor than Edison just shows how you lack knowledge of the history. Edison was a true innivator [sic]."

This is a great point. While Jobs was good at what he did, Edison pretty much wrote the book on Bogarting other people's hard work and inspiration for recognition.

1 upvote
nyer82
By nyer82 (5 months ago)

I've got small hands and was worried when I stepped up to the S4, but I got used to it. Swiftkey even updated their keyboard and now you can shift the keyboard to the right so I can still type things one-handed if I like. 5" is pushing it though, not sure about 5.1, I'll have to try it out.

0 upvotes
yabokkie
By yabokkie (5 months ago)

4K video is a must have, better than no 4K, ...
better to have a 4K display for 4K playback.

Comment edited 3 minutes after posting
2 upvotes
Zeisschen
By Zeisschen (5 months ago)

Optically it looks more like a 200$ phone to me. Design is not one of Samsungs strengths, more the marketing and corruption of the market.

5 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (5 months ago)

" Design is not one of Samsungs strengths"

Then, go the Apple way. For me, features like 4K recording, microSD slot etc. are far more important than styling / design.

5 upvotes
Zeisschen
By Zeisschen (5 months ago)

I already go the Apple way. That doesn't mean I'm not looking on the market and Android or windows phone offers. If I would go for Android I'd definitely go for a Sony or HTC, maybe Nokia. The design and quality is miles ahead of Samsungs offers. Samsung just tries to get the biggest number in all specs sheets which brings them on top of many reviews and rankings. Real life experience is a different thing though. The manipulated benchmark tests of former Galaxy phones was the creaming on the ice...

6 upvotes
Michael Ma
By Michael Ma (5 months ago)

From a camera perspective it's a definite upgrade.

Differences from the S4 & Note 3:
-Bigger sensor (higher resolution, good for well lit situations but unfortunately more megapixels which negates any low light performance gained)
-Phase detection focus (At first I thought it was unnecessary but this is a nice and crucial feature because of the bigger sensor and more potential for OOF shots)
-Selective focus (nice feature...but only good for closeup shots since everything in medium distance is in focus)
-HDR mode for video (this exists on the note 3, maybe even on the S4, but samsung seemed to emphasize this...maybe something more to this)

Probably no RAW or manual mode due to restrictions in Android OS. It would still be nice. Options are always good. The photography savvy can do a lot in manual mode.
No optical image stabilization (OIS). Not surprised. I hear it never worked too well on phones that got this feature a few months back.

3 upvotes
Kim Letkeman
By Kim Letkeman (5 months ago)

@Michael Ma "but unfortunately more megapixels which negates any low light performance gained"

Incorrect. See the article on DXOMark's site regarding pixel density and noise. Sensor size plays by far the largest role in total image noise. Adding pixels makes grain finer and can actually improve the image, assuming it is not pushed too far.

4 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (5 months ago)

"Probably no RAW or manual mode due to restrictions in Android OS."

Google is stated to work on adding RAW to stock Android.

"No optical image stabilization (OIS). Not surprised. I hear it never worked too well on phones that got this feature a few months back."

Absolutely wrong. Look at the 1020 or the G2 - both have excellent OIS.

0 upvotes
Michael Ma
By Michael Ma (5 months ago)

@Kim,

Nope. It's the pixel pitch (size of the sensor at the pixel level) that matters for each sensor for each pixel. When the sensor for that one individual pixel is smaller, it has less surface to capture light information which produces a weaker signal to noise, that makes it harder to filter noise from actual data.

The S5 has a 4:3 1/2.5" sensor. The highest resolution you can shoot at is 5312 x 2988 but that's in a 16:9 ratio. The sensor is capable of 5312 x 3984, but Samsung decided to not enable it in the firmware for a few reasons. This makes the pixel pitch near identical to the S4's 13 megapixel 1/3.04" sensor. That's what I meant by negating any low light performance gained.

If you don't understand that, well, I can't help ya.

1 upvote
binauralbeats
By binauralbeats (5 months ago)

Don't need 4k in a smart phone. I'd rather pay much less ($350) and get a nexus 5.

3 upvotes
Michael Ma
By Michael Ma (5 months ago)

1080p video on a consumer device is processed by subsampling subpixels usually 4:2:0. This is why 4K, when resampled to 1080p will yield in significant resolution increase close to 4:4:4. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chroma_subsampling

1 upvote
Photato
By Photato (5 months ago)

You cold have 4:2:2 at 1080P, more efficient.
But what a naive consumer knows about chroma sub-sampling.
4K is an insult to consumers. Well, maybe they deserve it.

1 upvote
LensBeginner
By LensBeginner (5 months ago)

@binauralbeats
What? a cellphone without an SD-card slot and a battery which can't be replaced? :-|

0 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (5 months ago)

"You cold have 4:2:2 at 1080P, more efficient."

Show me a consumer phone that records 1080p at 4:2:2 and not 4:2:0.

"4K is an insult to consumers. Well, maybe they deserve it."

Sorry, but this is utter BS. Again: read the Note 3 review here at DPR Connect.

0 upvotes
ZoranHR
By ZoranHR (5 months ago)

@Menneisyys
What is 4:2:2?

0 upvotes
imaginarycam
By imaginarycam (5 months ago)

How does that "perforated" design for the back make it look premium? I found it really cheap looking than the S4.

6 upvotes
Boissez
By Boissez (5 months ago)

No real innovation in the camera department? I was at the launch and there are several things that are worth noting about that new camera.

First of all the camera adopts PD-AF which is a first in cameraphones and a very welcome addition.

Secondly the sensor uses ISOCELL technology to have a larger light gathering area per pixel.

And lastly the sensor is larger by some 10 percent.

2 upvotes
JmaverickPro
By JmaverickPro (5 months ago)

Meanwhile over at apple...

1 upvote
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (5 months ago)

They won't even introduce 1080p60 or stereo audio recording to the iPhone 6, let alone 4K, I'm afraid.

Comment edited 11 seconds after posting
1 upvote
Peiasdf
By Peiasdf (5 months ago)

Meanwhile over at apple...... they are working on innovations GS6 and GS7 will copy a la the finger print scanner on home botton.

1 upvote
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (5 months ago)

"Meanwhile over at apple...... they are working on innovations GS6 and GS7 will copy a la the finger print scanner on home botton."

I wish they became as innovative as they used to be. I love my iPhone 5 now that it's jailbroken and I personally have been able to even develop some absolutely essential tweaks for it (camera bitrate / res / oversampling tweaker, call recorder muting etc.) These were the reasons I hadn't used it as my main phone before the jailbreak came, but used my 808 instead.

I'd very much like to stay with the iPhone, should it still be jailbreakable, but if Apple still don't bother adding OIS / 4K / stereo audio / an, in video mode, much wider lens, I may end up having to switch to Android.

0 upvotes
chrisnfolsom
By chrisnfolsom (5 months ago)

There is supposed to be a hybrid sensor with phase detection which should speed things up .3 seconds by their measure - pretty good - but yes - put image stabilization on it - and forget the finger print and heart rate monitors - what about more LED's for better flash capabilities? Although with the dismal camera sales I personally don't want phone cameras to get better or there will be no one to subsidize camera research...

0 upvotes
Mark B.
By Mark B. (5 months ago)

I don't care about video, but the dust & water resistance is very interesting to me.

7 upvotes
bloodycape
By bloodycape (5 months ago)

In this case it just means splash-proof. The Sony Z1 and Z2 can actually be dropped in water for at least 30 minutes at a time based on all reviews.

1 upvote
hip2
By hip2 (5 months ago)

if it is really IP67, it is actually better against dust than the Xperia Z line, even the latest Z2.

and it should be able to be dropped in water too, like the first Xperia Z, but only under 1 meter.
Z1 and Z2 allow deeper immersion as they are IP58

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IP_Code

1 upvote
Joe Ogiba
By Joe Ogiba (5 months ago)

No optical image stabilization in 4K is a showstopper IMHO.

3 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (5 months ago)

Indeed. I really hoped for it too, given that Samsung announced some months ago they'd start using OIS in their high-end phones. It seems the S5 isn't one of them.

Nevertheless, there's still hope there'll be at least IIS in 4K mode. After all, some IIS implementations (e.g., that of the iPhone 5s) are excellent.

0 upvotes
bizi clop
By bizi clop (5 months ago)

You only need a heavy enough rock and some duct tape for proper optical stabilization :)

0 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (5 months ago)

"The device is powered by the latest generation Qualcomm quad-core processor 2.5 GHz Snapdragon S805"

Are you sure it's already the S805, and not last year's S800? There are confronting data on this - and Samsung's own specs ( http://www.samsungmobilepress.com/2014/02/25/GALAXY-S5 ) doesn't specify this either.

I *do* hope it's indeed the S805 and not the old S800. Even the Z2 has an S801 (a somewhat faster version of the S800).

1 upvote
Boissez
By Boissez (5 months ago)

It's the snapdragon 801. The 805 won't launch before 2014H2.

1 upvote
thx1138
By thx1138 (5 months ago)

Indeed, it is NOT the 805, but the 801. It's still a nice little update, but only minor.

0 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (5 months ago)

"Samsung S users also still have to make do without an optical image stabilization system"

That's bad news.

Nevertheless, let's see how it fares against the 4K-capable competition. After all, some electronic stabilizators (e.g., that of the iPhone 5s) are pretty good. I can only hope the new S5 can use some kind of a stabilizator when shooting video, unlike the Note 3.

0 upvotes
Total comments: 92
About us
Sitemap
Connect