mobile photography technology, culture and community
www.dpreview.com

OnePlus launches high-end smartphone at bargain price

32

OnePlus is a new smartphone maker based in China founded by a former Oppo executive. Today the company has released its first high-end smartphone, which is simply called the One. With its 2.5 GHz quad-core Qualcomm Snapdragon 801 SoC, 5.5-inch 1080p screen, 3GB of RAM and a 13MP camera, the One's specifications are on a similar level as other flagship devices released this year, such as the Sony Xperia Z2, HTC One M8 or Samsung Galaxy S5

However, the One is quite unusual in two ways: its price and its operating system. At $299/€269 for the 16GB model and $349/€299 for the 64GB variant, the One is a significantly better deal than the competing devices mentioned above and even cheaper than Google's Nexus 5

In terms of operating system, the One comes with CyanogenMod 11S, an Android 4.4-based version of the community-based CyanogenMod ROM which is more customizable than the Android versions that most manufacturers pre-install on their devices. It comes with a very "less is more" user interface design but OnePlus says the stock CyanogenMod design will be available through its theme engine and store.

With a 13MP Sony sensor, F2.0 aperture, 4K video and 120 fps slow motion at 720p, the One offers very solid camera specs. With a price point that compares favorably to many mid-level devices the One could become the device of choice for many mobile photographers who prefer Google's Android over other mobile operating systems.  The new phone will initially be available in Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Taiwan, the UK and the US. No official release date has been given yet. 

Key Photographic/Video Specifications:

  • 13MP Sony Exmor CMOS sensor 
  • F2.0 aperture
  • 6 lens elements
  • Dual-LED flash
  • 5MP front camera
  • 4K video
  • 720p slow-motion video at 120 fps

Other Specifications:

  • 2.5 GHz quad-core Qualcomm Snapdragon 801 SoC
  • CyanogenMod 11S OS (based on android 4.4)
  • 5.5-inch 1080p display, 401 ppi
  • 3GB of RAM
  • 16 or 64Gb storage
  • 3,100 mAh battery

  

Comments

Total comments: 32
peevee1
By peevee1 (2 months ago)

Any Google apps installed on this? Play Store?

0 upvotes
Sirandar
By Sirandar (3 months ago)

Had a look at their website and they certainly know what is important to me as an end user.

I love the fact that they use CyanogenMOD as the OS, because I am so sick of being locked into my carrier for slow updates and bloated crapware installed that takes hours to disable. And no battles to root.

I am guessing CyanagenMOD plus the 3100Ah battery may give a very good battery life. I had to disable a huge amount of Google and non-Google crap to get decent battery life on my S3.

Now I know why HTC went all out on this years phone and defied Apple by putting microSD back on their phones. They are scared and they should be.

If this phone is reliable and stable (which is should be with Cyanogen if the hardware is good) I will not even consider buying a phone from a carrier again. But I am sure Bell Canada and the American carriers are lobbying as I write this to keep the phone out.

0 upvotes
Sirandar
By Sirandar (3 months ago)

The lack of MicroSD is discouraging but the 64GB flat memory space mitigates this issue. Doe anyone know what it is made of?

0 upvotes
SergioMO
By SergioMO (3 months ago)

Look at those links guys !

1) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WhQEondW3K4#t=58

2) http://www.androidauthority.com/oneplus-one-camera-vs-nikon-d3100-dslr-370966/

I´m a Sammy fan, but I´ve good expectations for this mobile, not just the camera !
;-)

0 upvotes
Mobile Photography
By Mobile Photography (3 months ago)

It is exciting, as a mobile photographer, to see the great innovations that have occurred in the mobile photography space within the last few years.

2 upvotes
whtchocla7e
By whtchocla7e (3 months ago)

High resolution does not imply high video quality.

But it sure looks great on the marketing materials.

0 upvotes
Peiasdf
By Peiasdf (3 months ago)

There are simple image out. Not bad. It has the same sensor as most of last year's 13mp camera.

0 upvotes
SergioMO
By SergioMO (3 months ago)

"As far as sensors go, the OnePlus smartphone features a 13 megapixel Sony Exmor IMX214 f/2.0 sensor" http://www.androidauthority.com/oneplus-one-camera-vs-nikon-d3100-dslr-370966/

0 upvotes
JKP
By JKP (3 months ago)

What a nice phone and great looking images it takes! If I didn't already have a Note3, I would seriously consider One 64GB version.

Competition is always welcome.

Comment edited 51 seconds after posting
1 upvote
xt1isdabomb
By xt1isdabomb (3 months ago)

Greatly complicating my photo/computer/device buying plan for the future. I'm awaiting a newly released 5.5" iPhone 6 and iPad in Sep - Nov 2014. Lots of distractions.

1 upvote
Peiasdf
By Peiasdf (3 months ago)

This is such a good deal I am thinking of getting this and get an used 5.5" iPhone 6 in a year. The big iPhone might come a few months after the 4.7"'s release so that's November/Demember.

0 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (3 months ago)

If my iPhone 5 + Retina iPad Mini + Nokia 808 didn't fullfill all my phone & tablet & cameraphone needs, I'd certainly took a closer look at this phone. Too bad, while it's indeed great value, it just doesn't do anything better than the combo of above-listed devices, apart from the 4K video, obviously.

2 upvotes
Juandante
By Juandante (3 months ago)

Why Nokia 808 ? If plenty devices is good for you, you could just get an RX100 or big sensor pocket camera with far better speed and image quality than this phone. Really hurting head your actual choice.

1 upvote
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (3 months ago)

it's little more than a 3rd of the price of the iPhone 5s which kind of makes it look interesting

1 upvote
Joe Ogiba
By Joe Ogiba (3 months ago)

And Apple charges $200 to go from 16GB to 64GB and here they only charge $50. $349 for a 64GB 4K no contract smartphone with 3,100 mAh battery and $99.95 for the 6000mAh powerstation PRO for a total of $448.95 would give you a high-end 4K smartphone with battery power to shoot 4K video and 13mp stills all day long.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n53JZu7D938

3 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (3 months ago)

"Why Nokia 808 ? If plenty devices is good for you, you could just get an RX100 or big sensor pocket camera with far better speed and image quality than this phone. Really hurting head your actual choice."

Because I've been spoilt by the 808's image quality in good light. While I do agree the RX100(MkII) is in many respects (except for detail level and wideangle) better, I typically shoot travel images and selfies with the wife in good light - nothing for sale or nothing "artistic". For that, the 808 is more than sufficient, particularly in its nonstandard 41 Mpixel mode - and definitely has the lead over the RX100(MkII) WRT detail level and FoV. (The latter is the wider, the better for travel images. In the 41 Mpixel mode, the 808 has about 25-26mm equiv. wideangle.)

Of course, as soon as new RX100Mk 3 / RX200 / whatever is released with 24mm equiv. wideangle, I may consider switching. Or, to the new Canon G1X MkII, which also starts at 24mm equiv, depending on DPReview's review.

Comment edited 1 minute after posting
0 upvotes
Mike Griffin
By Mike Griffin (3 months ago)

Apple might make premium smartphones but they also make premium profits, far more than anyone else on each phone.

0 upvotes
mrdancer
By mrdancer (3 months ago)

@ Joe Ogiba: Price sounds a little high for the powerstation. Market prices seem to be running about $20/5000mAh currently on Newegg/Amazon, so $60 for 15,000mAh powerbank (or you can wait for Black Friday and get it for half price). OTOH, if you step up to the $150 range, you can get a MicroStart XP1 that will also charge your laptop and jumpstart your car!

0 upvotes
Henrik Herranen
By Henrik Herranen (3 months ago)

Please, DPReview:

Of all web sites YOU should remember that a list that is called "Key Photographic/Video Specifications" but without sensor size is missing, well, for the lack of a better term, one of the MOST key specifications. (This goes just as well for mobile phones, P&S and mirrorless cameras, as DSLRs.)

To continue, the focal length (both real as well as equivalent) for a fixed lens would IMHO also fall under the umbrella of key specifications.

Then again, I've yet to see someone choose an optical system because of the number of lens elements. I don't think that is key to anything.

Comment edited 2 minutes after posting
4 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (3 months ago)

It surely isn't anything groundbreaking - for example, a sensor larger than 1/3" (otherwise, it'd be heavily advertised by the manufacturer). I don't think the FoV wouldn't be around 28mm equiv (the standard for current smartphones) either.

That is, one shouldn't expect anything drastically different from the mainstream.

0 upvotes
Lars Rehm
By Lars Rehm (3 months ago)

we can only report the information we receive from manufacturers and the sad reality is that apart from MP we hardly get any camera specs from smartphone manufacturers. This is almost certainly the usual 1/3-inch sensor but until I've got that confirmed by the manufacturer I can't report it. Let's face it though, if it was any bigger than 1/3-inch it would probably be mentioned in the press release.

0 upvotes
thx1138
By thx1138 (3 months ago)

Sorry Lars the sensor is a Sony 1/3.06" IMX214 unit. Information is widely available. Not that I really care about camera specs on a smartphone.

2 upvotes
Higuel
By Higuel (3 months ago)

EVEN if they didn´t mention it directly, does ppl in dpreview want to be real reporters or not???
:(

0 upvotes
riskinhos
By riskinhos (3 months ago)

not waterproof no microsd slot no irda no usb3.0 no wireless charging, no many other sensors. no tkx.

0 upvotes
vladimir vanek
By vladimir vanek (3 months ago)

no iphone, no sony, no htc, no thx, right? it's a very well equipped piece for the price, so please stop crying.

5 upvotes
Joe Ogiba
By Joe Ogiba (3 months ago)

Who needs a microsd slot when you have a 64GB 4K smartphone for $349 ? BTW what is "no many other sensors" ???

3 upvotes
Menneisyys
By Menneisyys (3 months ago)

"BTW what is "no many other sensors" ???"

He may have meant the new "gimmicks" of the S5; for example, the pulse meter. (Which is pretty much useless IMHO as it can't really be used while running / swimming.)

1 upvote
tompabes2
By tompabes2 (3 months ago)

would you pay twice the price for the things you mentioned? I wouldn't. ;)

1 upvote
riskinhos
By riskinhos (2 months ago)

vladimir, no it's not right.
Joe. some people like a thing called upgradability and flexibility that is only possible with memory cards. also more internal storage means more expensive.
menneisyys, light sensor, magnetometer, thermometer, barometer, gesture sensor, hygrometer etc
tompabes I would. I did it.

0 upvotes
raydream
By raydream (3 months ago)

nice! hope it can get tested on DxO

2 upvotes
joe6pack
By joe6pack (3 months ago)

I wonder if it is rooted to start with? $50 for extra 48GB seems reasonable too.

GSM: 850, 900, 1800, 1900MHz
WCDMA: Bands: 1/2/4/5/8
LTE: Bands: 1/3/4/7/17/38/40

Comment edited 6 minutes after posting
1 upvote
Impulses
By Impulses (3 months ago)

Band 4 support is right there under the specs, doubt it's rooted out of the box, big security risk and there's no point (they can just ship it like a Nexus, anyone that should be messing with root privileges can have it in under five minutes).

0 upvotes
Total comments: 32
About us
Sitemap
Connect